2000 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 from North America


A nice looking lemon that nickles and dimes you.


We have had numerous problems with the check engine light coming on since we first bought the car in November 2001.

We had to replace the oxygen sensors shortly after purchasing car, April 2002.

The rear wheel bearings went bad at about 87000 miles and had to be replaced.

We have had to recently replace the catalytic convert at about 88000 miles.

Now the front driver side window needs a new regulator.

The rear struts and mounts need to be replaced.

And we are stating to have problems with car not wanting to excelorate then excelorating to fast.

We are also still having problems with the rear breaks or bearing squealing/grinding.

General Comments:

The car rides very smooth and is comfortable.

It has a lot of room for all of our things, since we spend more time in it than at home.

We really like the design, but wish things would stop going wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2004

24th Oct 2006, 06:39

Nickles and dimes you??? You have 88K miles on it! Of course things are going to start going bad!

2000 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 from North America


A piece of junk


We needed a new transmission at 19,000 miles. This was covered under warranty, however, was very inconvenient.

After we fixed that problem, our alternator went out. We took this in to be fixed at 20,000 miles.

After the alternator was fixed, the car continued to have the same problem. It wouldn't stay charged.

It took awhile, but the dealership found out that our battery had been recalled.

After the starting issues were fixed, our car began to stall all of the time. We took it in to be fixed, still under warranty, and were without our car for about two weeks.

After all of these problems were fixed, it ran fine for about three months. Then the check engine light came on. We found out that our oxygen sensors were out. They fixed this problem, however, the check engine light stayed on.

We took the car back to the dealer and were told that our car was misfiring. They told us we needed new spark plugs. We got the plugs changed, however this did not fix the problem. After about a month of experimenting, the dealership said we needed new wires. This fixed the problem for about another three months.

We then needed to get part of the engine replaced.

Last month, no longer under warranty, the check engine light came on again. The main relay went out.

The radiator assembly fan went out.

Two main amp fuses also went out at this same time.

My air conditioner also stopped working. I took it in to be serviced, and found out that my compressor is bad.

Throughout the time owning this car, we have had to replace the spark plugs about a dozen times a year. Our car will still give off the code of multiple misfires.

General Comments:

I believe that I was robbed when purchasing this vehicle, and am still being robbed, seeing as I am still paying for it.

I would not recommend Hyundai, due to the many problems that I have had.

We are a military family, and move quite often, so we needed a reliable car. We did not get one!

Unfortunately, due to us moving quite a bit, we have been to several dealerships. None of which have been able to fix my car totally.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2004

25th Jan 2005, 23:52

We own a 2000 GLS also and it has 55k miles on it now. Only once did a sensor go out which was replaced the same day at the dealership under warranty. We had no other problems whatsoever.

15th Jun 2007, 16:50

I totally agree with you. I have had Sonata 2000 for just over a year now, and I already had tons of problems. My Engine light was the main culprit that bothered me every three months. The worst of all is the parts, I have to wait to order very basic parts like the brake calipers. This car is a masterpiece of JUNK.

20th Feb 2008, 13:25

Similar experience with my 2000 GLS, though not as drastic as a transmission or alternator at low miles.

Before 100,000 had the front hubs replaced twice. Multiple sensors died, headlight and radio switches died, Hyundai batteries a constant source of trouble (I only used them after the original battery because Hyundai would give them to me free). Even better batteries corrode more and faster than on any other car I've owned. Engine mounts broke.

And spark plugs! Misfires, stumbling, and gas smell will tell me that, yet again, I need to replace the plugs and wires. Hyundai charges $450 for plugs/wires replacement. Me, being a shade tree mechanic, do it myself. I've got it down to a 2 hour job. I never thought a wire set would start arcing at under 25,000 miles on it, but I guess the V6 cooks the wires. I have concluded that Hyundai sources its parts from the absolute lowest bidder, with price being their only criteria.

I recently felt that owning my Hyundai was somewhat like the experience I had owning several Alfa Romeos - except the similarity was only with the maintenance aspect, with none of the fun!