2000 Hyundai Sonata GLS from North America


I love the car. Just wish it would run!


Have had the battery replaced. Then, alternator has been replaced. Two days after the alternator had been replaced, the car started doing the same thing. It died. Could not even be jumped. Had to be towed. Again, they've ordered another alternator from dealership. Still waiting.

General Comments:

I think it's more than just another bad alternator. Something must be causing the alternator to short out. Any ideas?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2004

26th Jul 2004, 07:27

I have a 2000 Hyundai Sonata, GLS and I also had the same problem for a period of three months. They found out that the factory battery that the manufacturer put in the car was recalled. Maybe this is the problem. Just a suggestion.

15th Sep 2004, 15:25

I had the same problem with my 2002 Hyundai Sonata, the most unreliable car I have ever purchased.

The Alternator was over-charging the battery, so I started smelling this terrible chemical smell coming through the vents. The battery was replaced, however, the smell started occurring again. This time, the bright Hyundai mechanics figured out it was the Alternator, which they should have determined the first time. It was replaced under warranty.

2000 Hyundai Sonata GLS V6 from North America


Not worth the money


Both front window regulators went out. That was not cheap to fix. The bar in the trunk that connects the trunk lid fell off and made a horrible rattle/knocking sound (until I finally figured out what it was). Going down that highway, the car shakes horribly at about 65 mph and up. And also, you hit one bump and the car wants to jump in the other lane. The transmission gets confused between gears easily. The interior materials seem extremely cheap.

General Comments:

I do however like the overall engine. It is a 24 valve V6. It is rather quick and responsive, but the way this car was made, it wasn't built to handle this engine. The car looks like it was originally built in 1989 trying to look like a 2000. I had a 2000 Mercury Cougar before this and I wish I still had it. It was way more up to date and made so much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th March, 2004

2000 Hyundai Sonata 4 cyl Base 2.4 cylinder from North America


If your going to buy a Hyundai you had better make some friends at Midas service center


At approximately 15,000 miles brakes began pulsating and squeaking very bad, by 19,803 I had the brake rotors resurfaced by a Midas mechanic after the dealer told me this was normal maintenance and not covered under warranty. Again at 25,598 I had them resurfaced after pulsation developed for the second time. Then with 33,204 miles they had gotten so bad that I replaced front rotors and pads. Well this did work either by 44,688 they were pulsating again. I replaced pads under Advance Auto Parts manufactures warranty, but rotors not covered so I had them resurfaced. By this time the rear squeaking drum brakes had become unbearable so I replaced them as well. I could talk all day about what problems I have encountered with this car so I am going to list them by approximate mileage.


1. 16,500 miles some type of sensor caused the car not to idle when I put gas into the tank (when this problem happened I was 1,100 miles from home and on vacation)

2. 19,803 Front brake rotors resurfaced

3. 25,598 Front brake rotors resurfaced

4. 33,204 Front brake rotors replaced, pads replaced

5. 44,688 Front brake rotors resurfaced, pads replaced again

6. 44,688 Rear shoes replaced

7. 45,000 door speaker stopped working

8. 48,000 Driver widow cable came off track and stopped working (took door panel of and fixed it my self)

9. 53,000 Passenger widow stopped going up all the way (took door panel of and fixed it my self)

10. 55,00 Driver window now making popping noise when I role it up (this ones going back to the dealer)

11. 56,000 The hood has rusted from the inside out (dealer called Hyundai Representative to look at this problem and I still haven't resolved it)

General Comments:

Not a bad car for the money (Paid 15,600 with Tax and 0.9 finance option) but probably would not buy another Hyundai made product due to the brake problems I have experienced with It. I also know someone who has a 2002 Hyundai sonata and they have also experienced some brake problems as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2004

8th Jun 2004, 08:17

I have a Hyundai XG 350L and I'm under 30k miles. I too have felt the car shimmy under braking conditions due to uneven rotors. The dealership has told me that Hyundai will not cover this because it was caused by heat, however, the brake pads are fine. I have never had a rotor go bad in less than 30k miles, especially if the brake pad is still in great shape. Hyundai has a defect in their brake system and what gives them the right to drop this off of their warranty just because it has become a real problem. I'm very unhappy with this type of customer service.

29th Nov 2005, 09:20

This is an update on the car with now approximately 85,000 miles I have paid out a grand total of over $3,800 in parts, and labor with myself doing the majority of labor. Problem areas lately are major engine work, front-end work and a variety of electrical problems. Hyundai refused to repair the rust problem on the hood giving me no clear reason as to why they felt it was not a defect. I could have upgraded and bought a Toyota Camry with the money I have spent on repairs with this car. POOR QUALITY.

4th Jun 2006, 13:20

How did you take the passenger door panel off of the Sonata? I have the same problem you had.