2002 Hyundai Sonata gls V6 from North America


Love this car. Would definitely buy another!


Paint has begun to chip and peal on side mirrors, hub caps, and door handles.

Fog lights burned out after 3 years and are expensive to have replaced.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. I have only replaced tires (at 55,00) and front brakes (60,000).

Only set back is leg room in the back seat if front seats are all the way back...BUT, back seats do go back quite a ways to fit taller drivers. I could not fit into an d accord or a Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2007

2002 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.0 petrol from Egypt


Absolutely fab!!!

General Comments:

Hi, I live in Egypt, and I own a Hyundai Sonata 2002.

This car is great in all aspects. It performs under any situation.

When you've got to really push it, there is plenty of power, and there is a power reserve, which means that it's hard to get to the car's max power; only if you're very crazy!!!

On the note of comfort, it's among the best on space storage, and it absorbs the very harsh Egyptian roads.

I would recommend it to anyone. I even got the 2007 model, but I'm still on the waiting list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2007

2002 Hyundai Sonata LX 2.7L V6 from North America


Overall it has been a good car, but the warranty was not honored


The Front Brake Rotors haved failed three times.

The car was recalled for check engine light problems.

The car was recalled for wrong spare size.

General Comments:

I purchased the Sonata new in mid-2002 and overall it has been very reliable for 66,000 miles except for one annoying problem. The car vibrates due to warped rotors. The dealer has turned the rotors twice and replaced the rotors once, all under warranty. Now the vibration has returned and the dealer refuses to repair them under the 6 year 72,000 mile bumper-to bumper warranty, which I have because of the special offer made by Hyundai for listing the engine horsepower incorrectly. I actually fault the dealer more than Hyundai, but still it must have been a problem with this model since it is recurring.

In my opinion, Sonata is a pretty good car, but next time I will go back to Honda for a new car. Based on experience I think Honda is manufactured and designed to a higher quality level than Hyundai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2007

2002 Hyundai Sonata 2.4 from North America


A good deal as a used car


Nothing so far.

General Comments:

How can you be unhappy with a used car which only needs oil change? I have used the car with a heavy trailer attached for a 1100Km move to the new city; so smooth and reliable. I really enjoy driving this car and normally I'm not so kind with my cars!

The only drawback could be the painting quality as feathered by some others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2007

25th Feb 2008, 23:58

This is from the OP.

Another year passed with just oil change :)

I am not using the car so much, and it's now 126000 Km with not a single problem. I'll seriously consider another Sonata when I decided to upgrade.

2002 Hyundai Sonata GLX 2.7 from North America


Great value in a very comfortable, trouble free car


The battery has been replaced twice.

General Comments:

This car is a very comfortable car, even for my husband who is 6ft 4in and drives it often.

The 170 hp engine is not over powering, but is adequate for every day driving. The heated leather seats are very comfortable and the overall fit and finish is excellent. There are no rattles and I have had no major repairs, except for the 2 batteries which is probably due to the short 2km I drive to work. The trunk, with the rear seats folded down, has enormous storage capacity for a sedan. This car has been trouble free and I am very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

2002 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.0 from Malaysia


A good car - I would recommend it


Changed the front dampers at 100k.

Changes the front suspension bushing at 110k.

General Comments:

I've had the car for 3 years now (bought used) - no major problems. I love the large interior space (I'm 6"2').

Interior fit and finish is acceptable for a car of this price. The engine can be pretty asthmatic at times, but it's sweet sounding.

Shiftronic gear change is really very smooth.

Road holding is fair, but it has a fair bit of front end diving motion on uneven roads.

Overall I'm pretty happy with this car, but I'm not sure I'd buy the new model because they cost the same as Honda Accord, which I think is a better buy - all things being equal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

26th Aug 2006, 17:12

The Sonata is still significantly less cost over hear in the UK and also in the USA. I have ordered the Sonata having test driven both the Sonata and the Accord. I thought the Sonata was more luxurious. The ride in the Accord seemed harsh and this tended to make the car seem smaller than it actually was.