2002 Hyundai Sonata LX Six Cylinder from North America


One of the best autos I have ever purchased


Battery was dead at 30,000 miles.

Headlight covers covering scaled off at 32,000 miles.

Paint peeled on Door Handles at 70,000.

General Comments:

This car is comfortable to take on long trips and is very economical to drive. It averages 26 mpg on the highway and 20 mpg in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2005

2002 Hyundai Sonata from North America


I would not buy another!


Paint started peeling on all doors handles and bumpers plus on some trim.

General Comments:

I could not get the maker or dealer to rectify. This is obviously not the only car with that problem, but still they won't owe up to the fact and rectify the paint problem. The paint has "peeled" only on the areas mentioned. Now, after almost 4 years nothing has been done and therefore I would not buy a Hyundai again. Also, service costs are extremely high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th September, 2005

1st Jun 2006, 18:05

If I had any vehicle that went 152,000 miles and the only issue was peeling paint, I'd be doing the happy dance. I have had several cars, and had nothing but trouble before they hit 75,000 miles.

28th Aug 2007, 22:44

I totally agree. If the only trouble you've had with the car in 152,000 miles is defective, peeling paint, you should count your blessings. Especially for a Hyundai!

2002 Hyundai Sonata from North America


Good Car. Bad Company


Engine stopped running at 83000miles.

General Comments:

Sonata is very impressive car when it's new. It seems like it gets old twice faster than others.

Warranty is not to be trusted. 10year 100000Mile power train warranty is only valid if you have every service record.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

25th Aug 2005, 03:27

I agree with the Comment made I can't see any problem with Hyundai wanting all the service history??.

15th Feb 2006, 04:18

I have worked for other manufacturers and they are the same way with their extended warranties. The only thing that I can say is that where else did you find a 100,000 mile warranty in 2002 when you bought the car.

16th May 2007, 02:03

I understand perfectly what the reviewer is talking about.

These extended warranties are a double edged sword. You think you are getting something for free, but you are not.

You have to follow their service programme whatever happens. If they say they have to replace a service part outside of warranty you have to do that as well. Following this service programme is really expensive.

I think the Hyundai dealers are making a lot of money on these deals.

When you buy this car new not all this is apparent and there is a lot of costs involved.

Too many it could be a vise decision to jump off these programmes if you car seem to be stable, you know, not a car made on a Monday.

Then you could get your car serviced at half the price at a independent auto place. Or you could do the minor services yourself. All they basically do is to change the oil and charge you $400 to do so.

2002 Hyundai Sonata GLS 1.7 V6 from North America


Best car on the market in its price range.


I had no problems with the Sonata.

General Comments:

I loved this car!

It had enough power to safely merge with traffic and even take a car off the line every now and then.

Very comfortable, smooth ride.

A lot of very nice features for the price, like fog lamps, sun roof, power windows, heated mirrors etc.

Very heavy on safety features! 4 wheel anti lock disk breaks, traction control, side air bags.

My wife was in a very bad car wreck in this car, the other car disintegrated. The Sonata was totaled but held up incredibly well. The side airbags and integrity of the Sonata allowed my wife to be able to walk away from the wreck. The other driver was not so lucky. We were so impressed with how well the Sonata held up that we bought another one to replace it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2005