2003 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2003 Hyundai Sonata 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carChrysler Vision

Summary:

Not very good

Faults:

I have replaced the brakes several times and this is considered a wear item and is not under warranty. But are Sonata brakes only supposed to last one year of driving? I've never had a car that wears brakes this fast, both rotors and pads.

I've had starting problems in the winters. It barely starts, but the engine runs rough. No problems found even if this is a problem every winter/when it is raining.

The car is starting to form corrosion in some places even I wash it regularly and polish it twice a year. Even less than four years this car is starting to look less than perfect.

Drivers seat looks worn.

General Comments:

Main concern has been the brakes and that this car does not perform very well in rainy weather if it has been parked for a long time. Almost impossible to start.

But the car is comfortable and I initially thought this car was a lot of car for my money, but I'm not sure now since I have covered several repairs myself. Dealer is very absolute about what Hyundai covers and what they do not cover and I'm not very satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2007

10th Jul 2007, 14:34

Regarding the brakes...I'm not sure why they are wearing. I'm at 53,000 and I still haven't replaced the brakes. Go easy on em!!

19th Nov 2007, 14:45

Also regarding the brakes. I bought an '03 Sonata LX for my wife back in '03. Put 100k miles on it in 3 years. Traded it in for a GMC Envoy because wife wanted more room, and I get a GM discount. First set of brakes on mine lasted until 80k miles. The brakes sounded horrible, so I figured it was time to replace them. When I get in there, found plenty of pad material left, just the pad was separating from the backing, thus making the noise I was hearing. Are you replacing with Hyundai pads? I've worked for a Hyundai dealership for 5 years, and never seen anyone go through brakes that much.

2003 Hyundai Sonata LX from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired25450 miles
Most recent distance25450 miles
Previous carIsuzu isuzu oasis

Summary:

Good image

Faults:

Nothing so far. I just got the car and it feels really smooth.

General Comments:

This car feels really fancy. It looks like a jag and has alll the extra features. The seats are smooth and the wheel is is really smooth when turning. so far so good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2007

2003 Hyundai Sonata base 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance45280 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

It was the best of cars, it was the worst of cars

Faults:

Rear seat seam stitching came apart.

Interior door handle faux chrome started peeling off.

Clutch has needed replacing once at 30,000 miles and again at 45,000 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent leg room up front.

Good interior quality finish and fit.

Looks good, people used to mistake it for a Jag.

Smooth ride.

Little hard to swallow $2,000 per clutch replacement cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

2003 Hyundai Sonata LX 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance1550 miles
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Great quality and value

General Comments:

I just bought a Sonata LX in aquamarine. Very nice car and I am very happy with my purchase. This is my second Hyundai and I believe I will stick with this brand. I test drove the Camry, Accord, and Ford Fusion. I was impressed with the Accord, but not enough to pay the premium price over the Sonata. I preferred the Hyundai styling and the latest crash test results sealed the deal. It got 5 star ratings (highest ratings possible) in front, side and rear collisions. You can’t argue with those results. I have seen some of the comments posted and can only say that I had my Santa Fe for 3 years and 89K with no problems. Absolutely nothing went wrong with that vehicle. The dealer experience has also been top notch. I believe that Hyundai has designed a great vehicle and has been making significant improvements with every new model. Buyers looking for a good family sedan should certainly consider the Sonata.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

3rd May 2006, 06:50

I totally agree with your comment. I love mine (see the other comment). Hyundai is making better cars these days, and the Sonata is the ideal example of showing that Korea can make better cars like the Japanese do. I plan on keeping mine for a long time.

30th May 2006, 00:52

Hyundai's are cool cars, and I definitely like them. BUT, my only gripe with Hyundai's is the gas mileage. It's horrible, for any of them. 05 Elantra was always 23-25 MPG. Nowhere near the sticker at 34 Highway. And our 06' Sonata gets way less than the sticker too. The sticker says 20-30, but I have yet to get over 20 MPG on it. 19.7 is the best with 16 being the average. If anyone has info on this, please let me know because I'm tired of paying so much for such a small car. (Our Elantra). If I'm only getting 23 on this little thing, then I'm going back to that big Mercury I used to have.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 26 reviews