2003 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2003 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.0 16v from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired106 kilometres
Most recent distance9850 kilometres
Previous carHonda City

Summary:

A bargain luxurious sedan in town

Faults:

QC is not very detailed as they have missed out the CD-Changer, tire pressures are not properly checked and many loose parts.

General Comments:

This car is above my expectation. The comfortable level is comparable too many others luxurious sedan and it is presentable as well. Fuel consumption is at acceptable level, but the whole car is solid, handling is in control, and very quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2003

2003 Hyundai Sonata LX V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93 miles
Most recent distance2600 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Love it and would buy the same again!!!

Faults:

This is not a vehicle I would have initially thought of to buy, however due available funds, I took a look at it and fell in love.

I love my New Sonota. It is one of the best handling cars I have ever had. I would completely recommend it to anybody in the market looking for a new vehicle.

Takes curves like a sports car and cruises the highway like a luxury vehicle!!

General Comments:

Nice look on the manufacturing details interior-wise (woodgrain).

Passenger airbags are a plus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

14th Dec 2003, 15:50

Sespinoza50@yahoo.com.

I presently have a 2003 Sonata LX V6. I've had it since 9-28-03. It has anti-lock braking system with traction control. Since the 2nd or 3rd week of having the car it started making a growling noise. Techs at dealership service have guessed several things. The final one was that the sound is coming from the anti-lock braking system. It's very loud and it does this every time the car is started. The service dept. at the dealership is telling us that Hyundai says this is the way it should be. While at the dealership service dept. The manager asked the tech to hook up another Sonata to see if it did the same think. Well, they had to use a XG350 L. We could barely hear it, but of course it was a different car. My question is does anyone else that owns a 2003 Sonata LX have this growling problem? I have included my email address. Please respond. We are seriously considering contacting Hyundai.

Thank you.

2003 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance219 miles

Summary:

Great value for the money

Faults:

We have had no problems as of yet.

General Comments:

The Sonata is a wonderful car. The design of the exterior is tremendous. The interior of the GLS has a wonderful feel to it. It is as nice as any Honda I have been in. All the controls are within the drivers reach and easy to use. I did not want to like the car at first and tried to get my wife to look at the Saturn L series as we have owned two Saturns previously. I had, but to dive the car once to fall in love. Provided nothing major breaks I am going to buy another one for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2003

13th May 2007, 01:09

I just traded in my 05 Escape for this one.. man what a difference. It rides smoother, so quiet.

The xm is hot. Gas mileage much much better.. and to top it all off, lots of room and comfort.. you can lay back in this thing and still be on your way without drinking up the gas.

I was a truck guy - steered into SUVs, but this car was the turning point.

2003 Hyundai Sonata 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance986 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

The best family-car buy available

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my fourth Hyundai. I still have a 2001 Accent and a 1994 Excel. This is my eleventh year owning a Hyundai. I would never consider getting anything else. I paid $12900 for cruise, power windows, power locks, power side mirrors, air, CD stereo, 6 speakers, remote entry, alarm, remote trunk, adjustable driver seat, side air bags, fog lights, auto headlight off just to name a few. By the way, I got the base model and this is all standard equipment; not to mention the great warranties.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

2003 Hyundai Sonata LX 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

A Jag without the badge

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

The car drives better then most cars costing $15,000 more.

The seats are comfortable and the ride is smooth and quiet.

The standard Michelin tires are top quality.

Attention to detail such as hydraulic assisted hood and trunk opening, hardware mounted with bolts rather than plastic clips, shows affinity for build quality rather than cost savings.

The V6 is smooth and provides more seat of the pants torque than other V6's we drove that have similar ratings.

We chose this car over the Volvo S60, Saab 93 and Saturn L300.

Dealer experience was the best I've ever encountered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 26 reviews