2005 Hyundai Sonata from North America


Great vehicle


Car bucking as though shifting, sensor replaced twice.

Clock working sporadic, then air conditioner quit. Diagnosis not correct until mechanic discovered the engine computer needed replacements. Now runs like a dream. Mechanics should learn to look closer for this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2011

2005 Hyundai Sonata GL 2.4 from North America


Could not ask for a better car for the price


Every now and then engines shuts off in the city when stopped. The dashboard lights are the same as when you start the car. It restarts OK.

On the highway the RPM drops for a second but it restarts on its own.

No code is stored when it is diagnostic checked.

General Comments:

The car is excellent with no problems until now.

It has its original front brakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2010

2005 Hyundai Sonata LX 3.3L from North America


I've owned this car over 5 years now, and I'm still happy with it


Remote passenger side mirror quit working.

General Comments:

We bought this car new in April 2005. It was our third stop after looking at Toyota and Honda sedans. We just were not happy with the interior space or design in either of them. The Sonata's interior is not what I'd call roomy, but it is comfortable and well thought out.

We average 25 - 26 mpg city, 28 - 31 mpg highway.

So far we have found this car to be totally, utterly reliable. We have had zero problems with this car besides the mirror, but still had the peace of mind provided by the free 5 year road hazard program.

Acceleration is good, handling is great, and the auto transmission with the manual shift feature is a LOT of fun. The car also handles winter weather very well.

It is not a fancy, luxurious or super sporty car. It has found a happy medium. I could honestly tell anyone, (already have) that as far as good, sound, and economical transportation goes, you really can't go wrong for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2010

2005 Hyundai Sonata GL 4 cylinder from North America


Great value for the money


Wire came loose on dome light, dealer fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

I truly love the Sonata. I think it is a great value for the price, and after nearly 3 years it really still looks like new.

Compared to our POS Buick it has been a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2008

2005 Hyundai Sonata GL 4 cy from North America


Not the best car, but its still good


Engine vibration bad, but only when car is in park or is at a stop light.

The car start over heat around 20,000 miles and over heats every now and then.

The arm rests make a crack sound when pressure is put on them.

30,000 miles it need its tune up, but every car need a tune up every now and then it cost $350.

Sometimes the door doesn't want to open.

The CD player skips on new cd's.

But other than that it's a good car.

General Comments:

The car is a good car cheap on gas, but not a lot of room in the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2007

2005 Hyundai Sonata GLS 4 cylinder from North America


The car is crap never get one


20,000 while I has driving on the highway the radiator hose had a big hole in it that's too fast for a hose to go bad, when the a/c is on the car vibrates badly.

General Comments:

The car is OK, but need work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2007

9th Mar 2007, 15:09

I'm confused.

Your heading says "CRAP", yet then you say the car is OK???

At 20,000 miles the hose is still under warranty. All cars have some issues at some time.

19th Jun 2007, 21:20

You have a leaking hose? and the a/c may need some attention. Hardly enough problems to constitute a crap car. You could have paid a lot more for another make and still get problems, from what I read. Your critisism seems a bit harsh.

2005 Hyundai Sonata GL 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America


Good deal so far



General Comments:

Overall, my wife and I have no complaints. The interior is a bit smaller than we would like, but we can't afford a bigger car at this time. Don't like the fact that the doors don't lock automatically after you get in. I was a little nervous about buying a Hyundai, but since our previous Buick was a piece of crap I was ready to try just about anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2006

7th Jul 2006, 14:26

I also went from American to a Hyundai Sonata. My father works for GM so there were troubled times when I bought the car. However, after about 2 months he drove the car and commented on how quiet and nice it is. "better than a Malibu" He said (and less expensive). After 54,000 miles on my 04 LX, We have had 0 problems. I will look to Hyundai first for my next car.

29th Jul 2007, 21:48

I just purchased an 04 Sonata GLS. I love it. It's a very quiet ride, easy to handle, sharp looking too. I get a lot of comments of people thinking it's a Mercedes or a new Lincoln.

My car only had 30,000 miles on it and had never been scratched, dented, smoked in. Tip top shape.

Theres nothing more I could want from a car that this one doesn't have. The trunk is roomy, the seats accommodate individual drinks, the cd player and tape player are easy to use. The gas mileage?? well, for a 6 cyl its not too shabby. The car has some real get up and go to it. I would definitely buy another Hyundai product. I too have GM family members that gave me some problems about my purchase, but in the end, I'm the most satisfied customer of this quality made car.

8th Nov 2008, 21:35

I BOUGHT A 2004 SONATA brand new. I just love it. I have over 70 k miles on it now and it still rides like a dream. Smooth, quite and good pick up. I have regular oil changes. Had to have the brakes replaced, but other than that, besides tires of course. 0 problems, and plan to keep this one a long time. Every one I let drive it says it is such a great ride.

9th Nov 2008, 07:54

I bought my Sonata LX new and in 5 years and 55,000 miles have had zero problems. The car is as tight and solid as the day we bought it.