2005 Hyundai Sonata V6 from North America


At this point I'm leery of the car and the service


Rear Brake Issues.

General Comments:

I bought my 2005 Sonata brand new in January '05. Just recently at just under 18,000 miles I had to have the rear brakes and rotors replaced. I had just had the car inspected at the dealer in January '06 (when the 1 year/ 18,000 mile warranty on the brakes was still good) and no mention of brake issues was made. In April '06 I took the car into the dealer after hearing the brakes squeaking and feeling some play in the brake pedal. The dealer informed me that the rear brakes needed replacing and that (surprise, surprise) they were no longer covered under warranty. The dealer wanted $400 to change the brakes. My fiance bought the parts and replaced them himself for less than half that price. I've been told it's very rare for rear brakes to go at such a low mileage and that it probably should have been seen two months ago during inspection. The general opinion I'm hearing is that the dealer didn't want to replace the brakes for free (per the warranty) so they didn't mention it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2006

12th Apr 2006, 16:33

That's a good theory except that the factory warranties the car not the dealer. The f actory pays the dealer to replace parts. The factory wanrranty on adjustments is not 18 months 18K miles rather 12/12K.

For what it's worth...

12th Apr 2006, 20:47

I once heard that dealers (dealers in general, not necessarily Hyundai) we rated higher by the factory for not having too many warranty repairs. This would be an incentive to not fix every single problem. Does anyone know about this?

2005 Hyundai Sonata GLS 2.7 V6 from North America


Great car


Flawless so far.

General Comments:

Runs very smoothly and quietly. Very well equipped for the price (16000 before tax).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

4th Aug 2005, 16:04

Not a very useful review. It really says nothing.

2005 Hyundai Sonata LX 3.3L V6 from North America


The best new car that I have bought in years


So far, the car has been flawless.

General Comments:

The initial build quality exceeds my prior Buick and Mercedes, and at least equals my prior Acura Legend. There are lots of thoughtful touches in the passenger cabin and the trunk. There is plenty of rear seat legroom and headroom.

With the 17" wheels and performance tires, handling is quite good although the steering is a bit lighter than I prefer. I would also like a bit more side bolster in the front bucket seats; it is easy to slide on the leather in hard turns.

I like the radio and the heater and air conditioner controls for the obvious way they operate and the absence of tiny buttons.

Under hood service items are well marked and color coded.

The car is much quicker than my supercharged Buick, which advertised more horsepower and torque. It is easy to kick off the traction control when taking off on a wet road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2005

21st Sep 2005, 07:45

The latest Sonata is certainly a nice looking car, and with the 3.3 litre engine, provides oodles of power. To date, motoring reviews on it appear very favourable. From your report, you clearly rate it highly. So why did they give your report a bland unsmiling face instead of a happy yellow face, I wonder?

29th Nov 2005, 07:22

Actually I think the people who look at our reviews give the smiley faces. I've seen people who've said they're cars suck, and they get a nice big smiley face, so I'm sure they didn't put it there.

2005 Hyundai Sonata Base 2.4-liter gas from Philippines


A cheap mid-size executive Sedan that has the quality of a Japanese Mid-size sedan


I'm jealous to the Hyundai Sonata in the Philippines. Us Americans have 2.4 and 2.7-liters, while they have the 3.3-liter V6 engine.

General Comments:

I really like the Sonata! It's a very affordable mid-size executive sedan!

I would have never been happier.

Um, actually, I would be happier if there's a variant of the Sonata with a 3.3-liter engine.

The seats are comfy and has lots of support, not to mentioned adequately bolstered.

Driving position is the same as my Old Camry- comfortable and just right.

Controls are logically placed and easy to get used to.

Automatic slush box, err... I mean gearbox is as almost as smooth as Toyota's ECT (Electronic Controlled Transmission) technology, doesn't induce shift shocks on an uphill climb, and is smooth and unobtrusive.

The engine, though is underpowered- The Sonata here have 2.4 and 2.7-liter engines, while the Sonata in the Philippines has the 3.3-liter engine.

But even though underpowered, it's slightly less refined than Toyota's VVT-I or Honda's I-VTEC, by around 2%.

The engine is also quiet. I could barely hear the rumbling as I rev, and even when I stick my head out, the engine has a pleasant tune, unlike my Old Camry. It maybe quiet, even to its redline, but open the window and stick your head out and you'll hear the engine sounds like it's cranky, grumbly and complaining.

Fuel mileage is also great- 30mpg mostly city driving, 35mpg mostly highway. Average is a good 32.5mpg.

Rear is really comfy and spacious, and can swallow 2 people comfortably, snug for 3 people, a squeeze for 4, and a sardine can for 5.

All in all, this is the best bang-for-buck car ever. Even though Korean, this car has the same quality, durability and reliability as a Japanese Mid-size sedan. But since they're Korean, they have a price advantage over its Japanese rivals.

If only there's a 3.3-liter V6 here, I would be even happier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2005

23rd Feb 2006, 12:31

There is no way that any Korean car matches the reliability of a Japanese car.

27th Feb 2006, 03:54

Supporting that last comment, Australia conducted tests on mid-size/large sedans and build quality was as follows: Mitsuibshi 380 (same as US Galant), Toyota Camry, Hyundai Sonata, Ford Falcon, Holden Commodore; in that order.

Holdens product is sub-standard in quality, while Ford's is above average that article stated that Hyundai's model had points in fit and finish even Toyota failed to attract. This article suprised me that Mitsubishi are no.1 for build quality, but I spose it is true as I have a fleet 380 and it appeals more solid then the current Camry (and has more guts to). I have also driven the new NF 3.3l V6 Sonata, while no it's not up to Mitsubishi's standards, it's not far off, in my opinion the Sonata is better built and better backed then the Camry (mind you the current Camry is a VERY dated car).

I also found that fuel consumption on the Sonata is very good, for punchy V6 I once attracted 10.3l/100km in the city which is around 35mpg I think.

27th Feb 2006, 09:51

I just bought a Hyundai Elantra and for comparison test drove Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla & Mazda 3. I wanted the Mazda, but couldn't afford even used. Civic and Corolla, I could get decent deals on, but I honestly felt that the Hyundai felt more solid and refined.

29th Apr 2006, 06:29

Previous Aussie poster:

'This article suprised me that Mitsubishi are no.1 for build quality'

Why? If you had read the numerous car reviews ever since the 1996 Magna/Verada was released, you would see that the Magna/Verada over the years and 380 were consistently ahead against the Commodore, Falcon and Camry in, amongst other fields:

- NVH;

- Engine refinement/performance; and

- Quality.

I'm not suprised whatsoever. The only thing that every came close/equal was the Camry. The Commo/Falcon would not even be considered competition, yet the sheep flocked to them.

2005 Hyundai Sonata N20 Luxury 2.0 Theta VVT from Korea


NF-The best ever 'Sonata'


I've purchased this car on January...

On 2th FEB2005, The clutch had a problem... (fixed it)

General Comments:

I'm very happy with this car... The car I had before (Daewoo Korando) was so sluggish with Diesel Automatic, but this Sonata is much more rapid with Manual transmission... And also It's got a very modern and stylish design.

You won't get dissapointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2005

11th Aug 2007, 09:23

Just back to the UK from Seoul and having used the taxis in that city and a large proportion of them being Auto Hyundai N20s I must agree with this review. The N20 is a very comfortable well made car. It is a very refined car with good performance. Hyundai should bring it to the UK. It is almost on a par with the new Mondeo and not unlike it in styling... or perhaps the Mondeo is like the Hyundai.

9th Feb 2011, 07:43

I have not used this Hyundai Sonata N20 before but I fell in love with this car. It is stylish and beautiful. It's my dream car. I love it.