2006 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2006 Hyundai Sonata LX V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Impressive, but concerned about longevity and gas mileage

General Comments:

I rented this car over a two week vacation. I was very impressed with the interior room, smooth ride and exceptionally quiet interior. In fact, a couple of times when I started the car I couldn't tell whether the engine was running or not, it was that quiet. I own two older Toyota Camry's which have been great cars, but the 2006 Sonata seemed more solid and higher end then the 2002-06 Camry's. My only complaints are the gas mileage and the cup holders. The gas mileage was in the low 20's which might not be bad for a V6. I would be interested in anyone's experience with the 4 cylinder regarding both gas mileage and operation. Concerning the cup holders, they are in the center by the arm rest, but are too far back to easily use when driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2006

3rd Aug 2006, 08:45

I wouldn't be concerned about longevity. I have a 2001 Elantra that I've put over 150,000 on in 5 years. The only thing besides regular maintenence I've done is replaced a leaking water pump at 126,000.

3rd Aug 2006, 13:28

Just for everyone's knowledge, I have a 2006 Sonata V6, and I average about 30 mpg combined. I don't do very much highway driving, maybe only 50 miles per week. The rest is >40 mph or straight city driving. I think mileage really depends on your driving habits.

14th Aug 2006, 16:16

I just purchased a 2006 Sonata V6. I went for the V6 because it had a 5-speed transmission. I thought this would give me a nice overdrive on the highway. When cruising at 50-60 mph, it sounds like it is stuck in 3rd gear. I can feel the xmsn shift from 1-2 and 2-3, but then cruising at 50-60, it is very distracting because it sounds like it is dragging in 3rd gear. If one lets off the gas, the transmission will steadily slow the car down to 20 mph. I purchased this model because no one could find a 5 speed manual transmission vehicle.

I, too, do not like the cup holders where they are--they take away from a satisfactory center arm rest. Also, the door armrests are curved and sloped downward, which causes some discomfort on the road.

2006 Hyundai Sonata LX 3.3V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Hyundai's family favorite sedan that's the perfect alternative to the Honda Accord

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Oh my gosh, we love this car! Our 1997 Taurus Sedan was a great car that had 100,000 miles on it, but when we saw the Sonata for the first time, we ran over to the Hyundai dealer to trade the Taurus in for the Sonata LX Sedan. Our Sonata is silver, and believe me when we say this, but if you think that the old Sonata was nice, this one is awesome!

Everything about it is great! It's so roomy, comfy, very powerful, and even our 3 sons love the car.

So, if you're in the market for one of these, please go to your nearest Hyundai dealer and test drive one. Chances are that you'll fall in love with it like my husband and I did. Trust us, you'll be glad you got it. No wonder why it's getting rave reviews from the public.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

2006 Hyundai Sonata LX 3.3L V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance2895 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good car, but with reliability issues

Faults:

Windshield wiper went out at 700 miles.

Power sunroof stopped working at 1,475 miles.

Steering wheel cover came off at 1,975 miles, and it was never touched.

The power seats stopped reclining at 2,500 miles.

Engine vibration is getting worse, started appearing at about 2,725 miles.

General Comments:

This car is not pleasant. As you can see, lots of problems went wrong with it, some of it fixed, some of it still existent. The problems have been ongoing.

The interior is mainly comfortable, but feels a bit cheaper than the competitors.

The ride starts to get rough around highway speeds. It feels like it's floating or something. Otherwise, it's a comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th June, 2005

17th Jun 2005, 15:35

I suggest you check out your states lemon laws. I've never heard of a Sonata as bad as you are describing. Occasionally a bad one pops up I guess. With the problems you've had, I think Hyundai and the Lemon Laws can provide you with a different vehicle.

23rd Jun 2005, 16:55

Regarding the vibration of your car, I'm having the same problem and it is also getting worse. My 2005 has less than 1,000 miles and have been told this is a natural characteristic. I believe, like yours, it is getting worse. Have you been able to resolve this issue with manufacturer?

7th Jul 2005, 21:55

Just doing research. This is from the midsize sedan that ranked #1 in quality for 2004? I will continue my research elsewhere to ascertain the validity of your assertins.

12th Feb 2006, 03:58

However the engine vibration is a common malfunction in models 2005 that does not exist with 2006 models.

20th Oct 2006, 21:43

My 2005 Sonata also feels like it is "floating or something" but that is because it is the smoothest ride of any car I've owned. I love my Sonata (now at 20,000 miles and never needed service). It is definitely has the feel of a luxury vehicle. If you don't like the "cheap" cloth seats, spring for leather. It holds up nicely.

27th Oct 2006, 07:14

My GLS model: Sun roof lining has rotted out, antenna has been replace three times, the rear tail light was cracked on the inside which caused the trunk to fill up with water. The dealer had the car for five weeks to fix these problems!

I will never buy anything, but toyota again. Now, I owe 19,000 on a car that is only worth 10,000.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews