2006 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2006 Hyundai Sonata limited V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1900 miles
Most recent distance2900 miles

Summary:

Sweet car!!!

Faults:

This was a demo model. I purchased it as a "left over" and I love it! It has all the extras and rides smooth. The only problem I have is the gas mileage. I only get 15.9mpg and I've been very easy on it. Other than that, i installed a remote starter and tinted the windows. The car is beautiful!

General Comments:

This car is nice. Everyone that has been in it or drove it says "you wouldn't even think you were in a Hyundai" as compared to the "old" Hyundai that is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2007

15th Jan 2007, 16:48

How much did you payed for the demo?

20th May 2007, 16:16

Um well you have a limited edition, congrats, but they didn't make them until the 2007 model year. In 2006 they were labeled the LX!!!

2006 Hyundai Sonata 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired80 miles
Most recent distance22225 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This car is a lemon and I would never buy another Hyundai

Faults:

The fuel pump failed at 22,000 miles. Also had to replace float in gas tank per dealer. We had a full tank of gas at the time of service and got it back with an eighth of a tank.

The check service light is on now at 22,150. Dealer said it is OK to drive. Engine is sputtering. Service scheduled for Monday the 8th of January 2007. Service department suggested we make sure the gas cap is on. The car had two recalls within 3 months of our purchase (reclining lever and headliner).

General Comments:

Like so many people, I did a lot of research on the Hyundai Sonata and was impressed by the 10yr/100,000 mile warranty. I didn't think we would have it serviced every 20,000 miles of that 100,000 mile warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 14:22

...every 20,000 miles of a 100,000 mile warranty. Sign me up! I wish I owned a car that only needed to be serviced every 20,000 miles!

23rd Mar 2010, 12:10

Different problems, but similar story with my '06.5 Kia Optima (same as Sonata).

At around 32k miles, the tire pressure light came on. New tire pressure sensor needed.

At around 45k miles, check engine light came on. Oil flow control valve needed. Both sunvisors broke. Luckily, all was covered under warranty.

So far so good at 56k miles.

If Mercedes and BMW can have stupid issues so early in life, so can Kia/Hyundai. Just glad I don't have one of those other cars with 3x the repair cost OUT of their short warranty!

23rd Mar 2010, 19:06

The quality of BMW/Mercedes and Hyundai/Kia is a world apart.

The BMW/Mercedes cost far more, and so their owners are usually horrified if something goes wrong..

..whereas Hyundai/Kia cost next to nothing, so their owners come to expect something to go wrong..

24th Mar 2010, 15:06

Actually, newer Hyundai's are far more reliable than BMW/Mercedes. Like you said, the quality of BMW/Mercedes and Hyundai/Kia are a world apart... and yet Hyundai wins the reliability war. It's pretty funny when you think about it.

2006 Hyundai Sonata LX 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14300 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Good value for the dollar

Faults:

The passenger seat became loose after 12K and started to rattle. It was serviced by the dealer to my satisfaction. The car appears to be very durable with no visible wear after one year and 14K on the odometer.

General Comments:

Good ride, decent handling and very quiet. Gas mileage has averaged 22mpg with 80% road driving. The rear seats are roomy and comfortable. Trunk is enormous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2006

2006 Hyundai Sonata GLS 3.3 V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance1583 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

You get more than what you paid for

Faults:

Nothing, the car is brand new.

General Comments:

I believe people that buy Hyundai's want more features for less money and that is why I have been loyal to Hyundai since I have been driving.

One thing I say about this car is that is has a very powerful 3.3 V6 engine with 235 hp and the 5-speed automatic works very well together, the interior is very roomy plus it even has great headroom with optional sunroof, the Mp3 Cd Player sounds great considering it price tag.

My only improvments that Hyundai should have a engine immobilizer standard, folding mirrors, and a full size spare tire, other than that it is perfect.

Honda and Toyota may have better resale value, but it lacks the features that Hyundai offer as standard instead of optional, Hyundai offers great safety feature like active head restraints, Stability Program, Security System, Front and Rear curtain Airbags.

Honda Accords only offers Stability Control on V6 models,on the Toyota Camry it is optional on the 4 cylinder and V6 it adds about $650 to the price.

The Sonata has more value than Accord and Camry, I rather drive a Hyundai than to have those everybody mom's and dad's cars that cost too much to begin with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2006

15th Jan 2007, 14:04

Not to mention that Camrys and Accords are very bland. There is nothing bland about this car. To people who say Hyundai copied and pasted from the Accord, the Sonata looks 10 times better.

24th Mar 2007, 16:22

I have a Sonata and I love it. For the design, I do see a bit of the accord, but the sonata has far better styling. I love the look, the handle, and the styling. A great car.

1st Aug 2007, 20:54

I love my SONATA! I just purchased a K&N air filter. This will improve the gas mileage up to 2 MPG more. I'm getting around 17-18 MPG now. I'm hoping to get 20 MPG with the new air filter.

It's a 2006 3.3 V6 LX. It has every option. The heated seats are great in the winter. I also had a remote starter installed, so I can warm it up in the morning before work. My car is beautiful and I LOVE it!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 17 reviews