2008 Hyundai Sonata Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2008 Hyundai Sonata SE 2.4 gasoline from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance9070 miles
Previous carMazda 3

Summary:

Economical, spacious, but not at all sporty

Faults:

This car is ugly inside. The design of the dashboard sucks.

The handling is not superb.

The seating position is too high and the car has too much body roll.

The seats are not stitched properly, and the stability controls switches off whenever it feels like.

Also the car is too long and it's hard to park.

I will never buy another Hyundai.

General Comments:

On the good side, the Sonata accelerates pretty quick and braking is awesome. It has a lot of standard features for the price, and it's very good on gas. I get 26.7 average miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th December, 2008

15th Dec 2008, 13:23

What did you expect out of a family sedan, a sports car?

20th Dec 2008, 21:33

You should've noticed all this during the test drive. Sounds to me you just don't like the car. Should have done your homework.

28th Jan 2009, 12:05

Sounds like you just don't like the car. Did you even test drive it first? By your criticism, it sounds like you didn't. Your expectations seem quite unreasonable. You are alone on this one.

29th Jan 2009, 16:08

If you dislike the Sonata you must HATE the Camry.

20th Feb 2011, 19:25

The car is too long and hard to park? How old are you?

2008 Hyundai Sonata 3.3 V6 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Love it - would recommend it! Great value

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I have only had this car for 1 week and I love it. It is such a smooth quiet ride you can't even tell if the motor is running. Having previously owned a Grand Prix 3.8 V6 I like the power of the V6 3.3. Sonata and its quite comparable.

The sounds system is great and I absolutely love the moonroof/sunroof. All in all I think this is a well built vehicle and I am very happy with it so far.

I have recommended it to all my friends.

Will review again once I have had it a bit longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st October, 2008

2008 Hyundai Sonata SE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Very nice car - great value for the money

Faults:

At this point in time nothing... also had a 2004 Sonata and it was trouble free.

General Comments:

Car is a good value, and can compete with the best of the Japanese imports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

2008 Hyundai Sonata V6 Limited 3.3 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance5300 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Underpowered and has a "boxy" feel

Faults:

Plastic floor board screw cap broke at 2500 miles.

General Comments:

I purchased this 2008 Sonata limited because the car looked sporty and comfortable. Unfortunately, after driving the car for 5,000 miles, I'm in the market for a different car already.

The engine is definitely underpowered for the weight of this vehicle. Even though it's a V6, the torque is horrifically slow and sometimes you have to press the gas pedal to the floor in order to get some power. The seats are not that comfortable even though they are leather. There is no cushioning in the seats.

The sound system is very good with XM radio and the Infinity Speakers. The ESC (Electronic Stability Control) seems to be active because sometimes in wed conditions, the light will blink on and off to let you know that it's working.

I average about 18mpg for city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th May, 2008

11th Jun 2008, 14:12

I hate to break this news to you, but the V6 Sonata is actually a fast car by today's standards. 0-60mph in I think 6.5sec. That's quick! Why it might feel slow is that the transmission shifts very lethargically, making it feel unresponsive. It definitely needs a quicker, more abrupt shifting transmission. That would increase the feel of performance a great deal, more like the European cars I've driven. The Sonata transmission shifts more like American cars of 10yrs ago.

Nonetheless, it's a lot of car for the money by today's standards, and is proving to be better built and more dependable that most comparable American cars, and even some Japanese cars.

2nd Feb 2011, 12:48

Agree with previous comments: You must have owned a Porsche 911 previously, because this car hauls ass. Top speed is 140 MPH, and is faster than Police Interceptors...

One thing with many injected cars - you have to step into the throttle pretty deep to open up the intake fully - if you have short legs, or are used to having the seat way back, you may not be applying full throttle.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews