1997 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1997 Hyundai Tiburon FX 2.0 L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

For quality buy a Honda!

Faults:

Front wheel bearings. In December 2000 replaced the right front bearing. Replaced the same in February 2001 with only 8000 km. Dealer replaced it and the left front bearing and right spindle under warrantee. June 2001 replaced left front bearing approximately 20,000 km. I am not impressed with the quality. Had a 1988 Honda Civic and put on 460,000 km and never replaced a wheel bearing.

Have replaced right rear wheel bearing in April 2001 and now need to do the left rear.

Was recently informed by the dealer that Hyundai has addressed the problem of the wheel bearings and will have a replacement out in the summer of 2001.

General Comments:

I like the performance. Another 20 horses would be great.

The ride is harsh on a long drive of several hundred km or miles, but then did you buy the car for the performance or for a soft comfortable ride?

Good gas mileage. 35 miles per gallon (imp) city and 40 - 43 miles per gallon (imp) highway (75+ MPH).

Do not like what they did to the 2000 and newer Tiburon with respect to the rear tail lights. The generic lights could be off of a Ford Taurus. The earlier fish eyed tail lights fitted the Shark image of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2001

1997 Hyundai Tiburon 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Reliable and stylish

Faults:

The car was delivered with a vibration due to unbalanced tires. It took 3 service calls to finally do it right. The car is very sensitive to wheel balance as I replace tires every year. A tire shop told me the stamped steel wheels aren't true, aluminum machined wheels are better.

Spark plugs and wires last about 25,000 miles.

Battery was getting weak at 140,000 miles.

Front brake pads replaced at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

I faithfully change the oil every 10,000 miles, whether it needs it or not.

New timing belt at 90,000 miles. Original rear brakes. Will need oxygen sensor to shutoff check engine light, these normally should be replaced at 100,000 miles, but I'm cheap and waiting for warm weather so I can do it myself.

I drive very hard for work and the only time it wouldn't start is when the battery got low due to age and from operating a laptop with the engine off.

100% reliable, quick and fun.

I bought this because it was cheaper deal than I could get at the Saturn dealer, after reading the Saturn postings here and on Edmunds, I'm glad I was cheap and bought the Hyundai!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th March, 2001

24th May 2001, 11:01

You're supposed to change the oil every 5-6 thousand miles.

30th Jun 2001, 12:03

An update on my car... I now have 176,000 miles... the timing belt stripped at 168,000, but there was no other engine damage. This is the best dollar value car I have owned and it still is fun to drive, the other cars I had felt tired and loose after 100,000 miles.

20th Dec 2002, 19:16

One of your comments was that you are cheap. This tells me you buy cheap parts and that is why you replace them so often, in fact a good set of plugs and wires should last at least 50,000 miles and good tires should last as long as the warranty states. Basically if you want to cure the frequent part changes, buy good parts.

21st Jan 2003, 13:37

IN ALL ACTUALITY, you are SUPPOSED to change the oil faithfully every 5,000 KILOMETERS! (whether it needs it or not)

Heather, Manitoba Canada.

25th Mar 2003, 18:19

In the STATES you need to change the oil every 3,000 miles!

Dale, Marion, Illinois U.S.A.

15th Jun 2003, 20:04

Yes Km's are conspiracy. lol. forced on us poor Canadians a couple of decades ago... along with celcius and litres.

Thinking of buying a used Tiburon. Test driving a 99 tomorrow. Worried about reliability and image.

Kim.

4th Mar 2010, 01:10

I just bought a 97 1.8 about a month ago...

Engine has 215xxx on it and it still runs like a champ... for now LOL..

I'm enjoying the car very much.. has enough room for me up front, and I'm 5'10..

Had a brand new black paint job when I bought it.. heard about the original paint problem..

I'm going to keep my eyes and ears open for any coming problems, and update later.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews