1999 Hyundai Tiburon Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1999 Hyundai Tiburon SE from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Excellent affordable sports car

General Comments:

I have been happy overall with my Tiburon. I have had it now for 7 years, and really didn't have to do much apart from wear and tear like brakes and tires. I also had to replace the sensor, which is apparently a weakness on this vehicle.

I go to a Hyundai dealer and get excellent service.

I love the way it feels, and would recommend this car to anyone who wants an affordable sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2008

1999 Hyundai Tiburon SE 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

My wife and I love it and plan to replace it (eventually) with a newer used Tiburon

Faults:

-replaced all shocks and suspension at 280000 kms

-replaced all brakes and rotors every other year due to rust and seized components (the car does sit in the driveway a lot)

-tranny is starting to slip at 290000 kms, but seal sweller seems to be delaying the inevitable

-some heavy rust around wheel wells (I never rustproofed it)

General Comments:

-engine (Mitsubishi I was told) runs great and doesn't lose oil

-stylish car

-maintenance costing me about $2000 per year (I feel that's perfectly acceptable for a 9 year old car with close to 300000 kms on it!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2008

1999 Hyundai Tiburon SE 2.0 DOHC 16v from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good reliable car

Faults:

Front oxygen sensor damaged and back oxygen sensor reading poorly. Had them replaced for less than 600 dollars. Also had to replace the front catalytic converter (recall), which was still under warranty.

General Comments:

Overall I think the 1999 Tiburon is a good car. Lacks power compared to other sports cars, but it is still fast. Manual transmission seems to stick when put in reverse. Engine works well (love hearing that little rev). It is a very reliable car, even tough it needed work on it (every car needs work on it, right?). I love this car and I would definitely buy another Hyundai Tiburon in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

1999 Hyundai Tiburon FX from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A real stress addition to your life

Faults:

I just recently bought a 99' Tiburon and since then things couldn't be worse. The engine keeps making awful noises, it sounds like the engine is about to fall out. I haven't even owned this car for two full months yet and the stress that it's causing me is incredible.

My alarm system is off the wall and no one knows how to fix it, and all the service center's guys did was put really thick oil into my engine when I brought it in because the engine was making a god awful ticking noise. That problem has been solved, but now the engine sounds like a rock tumbler when I accelerate and I have no idea what it could be.

General Comments:

The Tiburon is a cute car and all, but it's truly not worth the money to repair it. Unfortunately if it's not one thing it's something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

28th Jun 2012, 08:48

That sounds like you have a serious engine problems, loose rocker or timing could be off.

Is there a turbo on the car?

And who owned it before you, sounds like it was rotted out by a kid, not driving properly.

The Tiburon engine DOHC 2.0 is one of the most dependable motors around.

I would take it back if you can, and test drive the next car you plan on buying.

28th Mar 2013, 08:07

Your motor is going out. I had one that did the same thing to me.

1999 Hyundai Tiburon from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50600 miles
Most recent distance51500 miles

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

Not very much is wrong with the car except that the hatchback rattles when I go over bumps, but everything else is working great.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I love it. It's fun to drive and it looks very sporty although it only has a 4 cylinder engine. I didn't expect it to be good in the snow, but while it was snowing I took it out a few times and it drove pretty well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

1999 Hyundai Tiburon Coupe 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder. Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 kilometres
Most recent distance83000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Fast Car, Bad RESALE VALUE!!!

Faults:

My Manual Transmission has a problem getting itself into Reverse... I am constantly having to fiddle with the shifter to pop it into reverse... very aggravating.

I have put maybe 20,000 kilometers on the vehicle since I purchased it, and have also had the rear wheel bearings go, which is a very expensive repair, and is a very normal thing to have go on a Tiburon.

After approximately 75,000 kilometers on my vehicle, I had the power window motor break, which was also relatively expensive to fix.

General Comments:

If you want a quick, easy handling sports car with a low price tag, and great gas mileage, the Tiburon is a great car. It has its flaws like all cars, but mechanically does not seem to out of the ordinary. The seats are quite comfortable, and the fold down back seats come in really handy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2003

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 20 reviews