2005 Hyundai Tucson Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Hyundai Tucson CRDI 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Not as reliable as expected

Faults:

Stud loosened on side of engine block and resulted in water mixing with lubricating oil - 10 days to resolve.

Vacuum sensor failed on air input between air cooler and engine inlet - 7 days to resolve.

General Comments:

Nice car, except for above faults and inconvenience due to loss of car when under emergency repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th March, 2006

2005 Hyundai Tucson GL 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

I will continue to recommend the Tucson to anyone looking to purchase a small SUV at a great price

Faults:

Radio not connected to antenna when vehicle was delivered. (Repaired immediately by dealership)

Rear Defroster disconnected during repair of radio antenna (Repaired immediately by dealership)

General Comments:

The mileage has been acceptable - around 21 mpg city, which is where I am normally driving. The locations I am most often in are very "stop and go" type areas.

Highway mileage is great - around 25 mpg, when the car is not loaded down or traversing mountains.

Highway mileage when loaded down and traversing mountains is around 21 mpg, still acceptable.

I have no complaints so far with this vehicle. It is not as powerful as a V6, obviously, but I'm very happy with the model I chose. It suits my needs quite well.

We took the vehicle on a 2000 mile round trip about 2 months ago, with no problems.

The vehicle handles very well in the snow and ice that we have in New England.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

8th May 2006, 07:59

Just wanted to add an update to my original Tucson comments. I'm still very satisfied with the vehicle. Still no problems, and we're up to about 11,000 miles now. Have had a couple oil changes, and routine service. I still really enjoy the vehicle - and still recommend it!

20th Jun 2006, 09:53

I have owned my 2005 Tucson since May 2005. It is one of the best appointed, most useful vehicles I have ever owned. It's a bit underpowered (I bought the 4 cyl-manual 5 speed) but the vehicle rides great anyway.

2005 Hyundai Tucson 2.0L from Singapore

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Aerio

Summary:

Be most happy with what you get at the price

Faults:

Air con works fine in town driving, but very long distance drives sees it getting weak and inefficient.

General Comments:

This is a value for money car, with lots of space for a low price.

It looks good and comes with very good safety ratings.

The price you pay for getting a cheap SUV is a lack of engine refinement. The base 2.0L power plant is uncouth, and not particularly energetic on slopes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

2005 Hyundai Tucson GLS 2.7 GAS from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.7 GAS Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance18500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Bettle

Summary:

Feature-rich

Faults:

First day I had it, the brake discs needed to be turned... straight from the factory!

General Comments:

Other than the gas mileage, I love the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

2005 Hyundai Tucson GL 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance3200 kilometres
Previous carGMC Cutlas

Summary:

Great Value

Faults:

Nothing wrong yet.

General Comments:

Very smooth ride.

Comfy seats.

For a small SUV, really good fuel economy - only RAV4 and CR-V are better.

Could use more HP, but 140 HP is adequate.

4 cyl. lacks cruise control.

5 yr. bumper to bumper warranty is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

2005 Hyundai Tucson GL 2WD 2.00 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.00 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance700 kilometres
Previous carVolvo S60

Summary:

Comfortable car

Faults:

Fuel consumption is much higher than what Hyundai is advertising.

The car is not powerful enough.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride.

Excellent head and leg room for a tall guy like myself.

I only drove the car for 700 km, so this is my first impression on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2005

25th May 2006, 14:59

Just an update to my original post :

I drove the car for 4300 km so far, still no problems, but I reiterate the 2 points I mentioned above : not enough power and the lower km/litre than expected. And again, extremely comfortable cabin, I like the idea of MP3/CD player. Hyundai was the first car manufacturer to my knowledge that installed MP3 players in their cars.

26th Sep 2006, 17:27

I believe your gas mileage will get better as the vehicle breaks in, 5,000 to 15,000 miles. Also there are lots of tips on driving that might help you get an extra mile or two out of a gallon.

2005 Hyundai Tucson LX 3.7L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired89 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carHyundai Tiburon

Summary:

One of the best purchases I have ever made

Faults:

Had to reprogram the computer system in the car- (it was recalled)

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. I feel that, for a smaller SUV, this is a great, reliable car. Not great pick up, but very easy to drive and maneuver. It is very comfortable, and provides great storage and transporting option. Comes with a great warranty, and does not require a lot of maintenance. One of the best purchases, I have made.

Gas mileage is not bad comparatively speaking to other SUV's. It has been a great addition to my family. And will definitely be a car that I intend to keep for a long time. I would recommend to anyone looking for a smaller, more compact SUV with a lot of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2005

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews