2006 Hyundai Tucson from North America


Check for Honda's or Toyota's


The clutch doesn't catch when you accelerate too fast.

The car broke down at 15000 miles and had to be towed. That's when the problems really exponentiated.

General Comments:

I don't recommend Hyundai. This is my last, and I'm hoping to trade this in asap. The service policy that came along with this car sounded excellent at the time of purchase, but just don't expect what you hear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2006

12th Aug 2007, 15:45

Very low quality in every thing!

I have automatic transmission, but I am suffering from poor pick up.

Low engine power with the low fuel consumption.

Even the floor mat worn out after 4 months.

11th Oct 2007, 20:21

I, m interested in buying a Tucson from a, "Rosado Group Dealership" in Dickson City, PA. I've heard some horror stories. Any input out there? Thanks, Leroy.

18th May 2008, 19:34

How does a floor mat wear out in four months?

6th Aug 2008, 21:22

I don't agree. Had my Hyundai Tucson for 1 year and 8000 miles - been perfect, no defects, zero. Better auto and fewer problems then the Volvo V40 I had and $7000 less costly. No comparison on comfort or room. No sign of wear anywhere, still looks brand new inside and out.

11th Mar 2009, 23:02

Actually I was thinking of trading my 2.0 diesel for a 2.4 Cherokee 4x4, but I checked out the reviews over there...

That's too bad, I really wanted the low-range gears.

I'm at 64000 klm right now, no problems (knock on wood).

Only thing is, I'm going to try to look for a heavy duty clutch, which I'm going to need soon. That's about it.

Oh, yes. Only thing is the steering wheel cracked/dried-up on the top part, and fell apart... That's my only problem. And maybe prematurely wearing brake discs. I'd say they have about 10-15000 km more life. But hey, it's a 1800kgr SUV, right?

30th May 2009, 18:39

Tighten your clutch cable to keep it from slipping.

4th Sep 2010, 18:41

Toyota, as you commented, has motor sludge problems costing consumer's engines, and the Honda CRVs are having a lot of air compressor replacements (big $) as well.

Hyundai seems to have a lot more good reviews than bad.