Hyundai XG300 Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2001 Hyundai XG300 L 3.0 DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance22596 miles
Previous carChrysler LHS

Summary:

A Wonderful Luxury Car

Faults:

No Problems with the car, except for recalls.

General Comments:

The best car that I have driven in, very comfortable and quick. The XG300 is one of the best cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

2000 Hyundai XG300 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance39900 miles
Previous carPorsche 944

Faults:

I like the car for the most part, but this horsepower thing is wrong. It is not the car that I bought or was advertised. I sent Hyundai a letter and have gotten no response. False advertising??? If there is a class action suit count me in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

2000 Hyundai XG300 L 2.6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance46000 kilometres
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Unbeatable value for money

Faults:

1. The Automatic Transmission computer had to be reset after 40,000K.

2. The Check Engine light (CEL) has been coming on over the past 2 months. The suspected malady is the Air Flow sensor, which has now been replaced 3 times by Hyundai. The Dealership is now checking to see if the problem is repeated elsewhere.

General Comments:

In general, the car has been wonderful. Easily the best automobile I have ever owned.

While the Check Engine light has been coming on frequently, there have been no problems with the engine.

When I purchased the car (gun metal gray) I had the windows tinted; lowered and tuned the suspension; and put new tires on (235/45 ZR17). It looks gorgeous, and drives magnificently.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

2001 Hyundai XG300 L 192 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 192 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance13331 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Hopeful that Hyundai will continue to build a value added priced vehicle that people can trust

Faults:

The sheet metal dents with less pressure applied, compared to any of the 42 previous vehicles that I have owned.

I am angered that they lied and stated horsepower rating was 192, when in fact it is only 182.

General Comments:

I am not pleased with the options Hyundai is offering owners of missed rated horsepower vehicles.

Based on my knowledge as a recruiter staffing Engineers in the development of power train systems. I feel this error was willful and wanton.

I think over all Hyundai has come along way.

I highly recommend that you follow the service schedule to the letter. Failure to do so could void their Warranty.

I hope Hyundai resolves this error of horsepower rating without the need of a class action lawsuit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

11th Nov 2002, 13:04

Did you live in a high place?

Because performance is different at the sea level than in high places. A car loses like 10hp for each 1000 mts. So don't use a Daewoo Tico (40hp) in the Peruvian mountains (over 3000 mts)

9th Dec 2002, 17:32

I just got off the phone with Hyundai. They offered me $300 for the HP problem. I denied this offer. An extended warranty will do me no good, I don't think my car will make it through the warranty it already has.

After speaking with the representative, I firmly believe Hyundai thinks they did no wrong and don't care about their consumers.

T Murphy.

2001 Hyundai XG300 Base from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

High performance bargain

Faults:

Everything works great.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned, however will not buy another one due to the low resale value according to Kelly Blue Book. Who is this Mr. Kelley and what makes him such the car expert?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th June, 2002

19th Apr 2004, 13:22

Kelly Blue Book is just meant to be used as a reference to gage how much your car is worth. The best way to know what your car is worth is to find out what other similar ones are selling for from private party sellers. You'll be surprised to discover vehicles sometimes sell for much more that what Kelly Blue Book suggests the value is. I have been able to get far more for my vehicles in the past then what Kelly suggests they're worth.

2002 Hyundai XG300 L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A luxurious sporty car

Faults:

Broke the climate control system after 7 year old son kicked the controls during a temper-tantrum. He also broke right dash vent.

General Comments:

This car is a true luxury car. It is a better car than a BMW, Lexus, or Toyota. Just drive it, and you'll agree!

I'm rather old (62), and I need something that's comfortable to ride in, yet sporty. This Hyundai is exactly what I need.

The SHIFTMATIC shift system is a joy to use! It's like driving a sporty-car, with the luxury of my old Buick!

I love zooming past other slow drivers in their other cars with the Hyundai! It's both sporty yet luxurious... I thought that was an oxymoron too!

The quality stitching on the leather is the best I've ever seen! I've owned some pretty ritzy cars myself in the past (A 1992 BMW 7 Series, Mercedes S Class, etc), and the uphostry in this car is actually BETTER than those!

Did I mention the warranty? It's the best warranty at any price! Your car is covered for 10 years! That means in 2008, I will STILL have plenty of coverage, as long as I don't go over the milege!

I love to show off this car! I'll often drive around for the fun of seeing people's envious stares! Sometimes I'll even get questions from younger people, asking me if it is a Rolls-Royce or an upscale Lexus or Mercedes! This is a Hyundai!??

Of course, the climate control system is next to useless, because my son was throwing a temper-tantrum in the front seat, and kicked the climate control unit. Now I can only adjust the temperature (and have to guess), and it will only blow on the floor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

22nd Jan 2004, 18:46

You have a great car. Loose the son.

29th Feb 2004, 21:05

Go to the dealership and... get the climate control fixed!!! Duh!!!

29th Feb 2004, 21:08

It is definitely NOT better than BMW, LEXUS, TOYOTA, or MERCEDES!!!

29th Feb 2004, 22:37

Saying this car is definitly not better than a BMW, Lexus, and Mercedes is being a little bold and presumptuous. This car has received great rewiews from sources such as Car and Driver and MotorTrend, it has received kudos on fit and finish, comfort, and overall luxury, and at half the price and with a better warranty than its competitors it's a tighter race than you think, not to mention it's a beautiful car Hyundai or not.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 36 reviews