2000 Hyundai XG300 from North America


Solid car for the asking price.


Transmission replaced at 80,000 miles due to "shudder" when shifting from 4th to 5th gear.

General Comments:

I have been very pleased with the quality, ride and handling of the XG.

When carrying four adult persons, the car will tend to "bottom out" on rough roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

4th Jul 2004, 07:40

I too had (and continue to have) a tranny problem. Mine is from 3 up to 4. I have had one tranny replaced (I am sure it is a computer problem.) I also have a near-death experience with hard acceleration from a stop within the first 5 minutes after starting the car.

2000 Hyundai XG300 XG25 2.5 petrol from Singapore


First class on the road at economy price


Wind noise from right window at 96,000 kilometres

Oxygen sensor replaced at 97,000 kilometres.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car.

Superb built and rigid body.

Smooth tiptronic transmission that responds quickly according to road conditions and when overtaking.

Generous equipment and accessories.

Comparable in size and reliability to well-known marques of similar capacity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

2000 Hyundai XG300 XG 3.0 from Australia and New Zealand


A marvelous first attempt at a mid-size luxury car


Two primary issues have caused the most problems: Transmission, and the "check engine" light.

The Transmission will sometimes shift harshly between gears while in Automatic mode- I have taken the car in three times for this issue, and have been told this is only a computer code problem. The Transmission computer is cleared, reprogrammed, and the transmission runs smoothly again.

The "Check Engine" light (CEL) has been more insidious. About ten months ago the light started coming on- I took the car into the Hyundai dealership, as I didn't want to continue driving the car under warranty. No cause of the light was ever detected. Since then, I have taken the car to three dealerships in two countries (for a total of ten visits) and the problem still has not been rectified. On the other hand, there have been no technical problems with the car, other than the light coming on. The local dealership has informed me that if the car starts demonstrating physical problems to bring it in- otherwise, ignore the CEL.

General Comments:

It is a lovely car, though it does suffer from "First year-itis". It is quite comfortable to drive, yet the engine is a bit underpowered for its size. I had the car lowered and suspension tightened a bit, adding wide mag wheels and tires. It looks marvelous, and the car doesn't suffer from the year 2000 suspension worries I have read about.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2003

7th Oct 2003, 05:34

The check engine light will come on if the fuel cap is not tightly screwed on after refueling. Easy fix, make sure you tighten the cap or replace it if needed to get a tight fit.

2001 Hyundai XG300 3.0 from North America


A big piece of worthless junk


I have a problem almost from day one with this car in poor transmission shifting and hesitations. The dealers has put in two transmissions and it still doesn't run right.

The way they get around their warranty is to try and tell the owner that, "That's the way it's supposed to run". So in doing that they get rid of you for awhile.

My windshield wipers had to have the linkage replaced after complaining and almost getting killed 3 times. Finally they got it right.

My leather seats are horrible. The drivers seat had to have the complete frame replaced. The seat adjustments are terrible.

The aluminum wheels have been replaced once because they were peeling and should be done again.

General Comments:

Hyundai should train their dealer mechanics in how to fix their cars.

The worst driving experience that I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

4th Sep 2003, 23:00

What means "aluminum wheels were peeling"?!

16th Feb 2004, 00:11

I'm sure it means the clear coat. Cosmetic, not a safety issue.

22nd Aug 2008, 21:35

I own a 2001 XG300 with about 95k miles. and I have been very unhappy with the car! The car has never shifted very well and I had problems with my ABS light coming on for no reason. I was driving one day and the next thing I know, my car jerked really hard and my check engine light came on. Well, it turned out to be nothing and once the computer was cleared, the check engine light disappeared and it's running fine. All 6 spark plugs were just replaced last weekend. All 3 timing belts, transmission fluid, air filter, power stirring, were replaced 4 months ago. My car still has problems.