2001 Infiniti I30 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Infiniti I30 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

This car is a serious driving machine.

Faults:

At about 50,000 miles, it needed a water pump replaced.

Last year I replaced the mass flow sensor at about 95,000. I also had some driver seat and passenger seat repairs due to tears and the hardened leather.

Every 4-5 years, I have needed to replace some interior light bulbs for the clock, stereo, and climate control.

General Comments:

Hello I30 owners!

I have owned a 2001 I30 for nearly 10 years since I bought it new, and it's still running pretty smoothly.

I have kept my car, and I have done the repairs all at my local dealers and repair shops. To get the best pricing, I usually call 2-3 Infiniti and Nissan dealers along with private repair shops, and I often use referrals from other owners of Nissan products. This has helped my keep costs down significantly.

Other than that, I enjoy my car, especially a lot more while driving it with my new shocks and struts from KYB. It is a better, sportier ride than the boat ride I used to have.

In conclusion, my car is a solid performer that few other cars can match. I plan on cruising in it for maybe another 10 years! Wish me luck and enjoy your ride!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2010

2001 Infiniti I30 LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Silhouette

Summary:

The car is fine, repairs are a nightmare

Faults:

Only one dealer in huge metropolitan area and both repairs they had to order parts and took about a week.

Went to a different repair shop and got wrong part based on year of car and VIN number, took weeks to get repaired as part was part from a 2000 model or something to that effect.

The law of supply and demand applies here and it is not in the consumers favor.

General Comments:

I would never buy an Infiniti again given these issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

29th Nov 2006, 10:33

Try taking your car to a Nissan dealer, they usually will work Infinitis, especially the I30, its nothing more than a slightly redesigned Maxima. They are mechanical twins. The Nissan dealers are usually cheaper as well.

Good Luck, don't give up on Infiniti because of a dealer.

2001 Infiniti I30 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance65200 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

Good Luxury for a Good price

Faults:

Nothing. I just brought it about three weeks ago.

General Comments:

This car is the epitome of luxury. It's fast and responsive. The ride is ultra smooth. I look forward to my long commutes in the mornings and he evenings. This is the second Infiniti I've had. I once owned a '93 Q45 so I know about the quality of Infiniti.

The system is incredible. The controls are easy to operate. The braking is excellent since I sometimes like to speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2006

2001 Infiniti I30 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Really nice car

Faults:

There is nothing really wrong with the car. The automatic temperature seems to make the car run really loud... So I usually use the heat on the economy setting. Also the car seems to be kind of loud when driving.

General Comments:

The car is very nice... It's the first luxury type car I have had.. It's very roomy and I love the automatic sun shade in the back window and the heated seats. Also the stereo system is the bomb... I wanted a Lexus, but this car is just as nice.. It's great to drive and to look at.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2005

2001 Infiniti I30 T 3.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance38200 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Nothing had gone wrong.

If the windows are not opened often, they make a terrible noise.

A little noisy inside at high speeds, as if the wind is coming through somewhere.

In my previous car, I got more street racing offers than on I30t, I have not figured why quite yet. I want my fun back!

General Comments:

I would say the exterior is a combination of elegance and sportiness (mainly due to the spoiler). It is roomy and relatively quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2004

2001 Infiniti I30 I30T from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles

Summary:

Good car bad service

Faults:

The motor mounts have gone out on both rear and front of car. Nissan will not cover them. I have done research and have found many Infiniti's and Maxima's with this problem.

General Comments:

This is a nice car, but the company will not honor their warrinties as they should. Motor Mounts should not go out on a car and too many are going out on infiniti's and Maxima's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

22nd Apr 2007, 19:37

Motor mounts in the rear of your car? what kind of special dual engine edition did you get?

2001 Infiniti I30 T 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired200 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Nothing in this price range offers equal value

Faults:

It has been entirely fault-free.

General Comments:

The acceleration is brisk rather than exhilarating.

Ergonomically, it is superior to anything I have previously owned.

It has a solid, well-put-together feel; no rattles or looseness so far.

I would have preferred an in-dash CD changer rather than the trunk-mounted unit I got.

The wind noise is a little greater than I would have expected.

I wouldn't call it frugal with gas, but it is definitely not a guzzler.

It's a pretty relaxed cruiser; neither the engine nor the seats add to the stress of long journeys. The cabin is quite commodious and is thoughtfully designed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

28th Oct 2004, 18:13

Hi, I own a 2001 I35. The car is a real champ so far, and service is great. One problem though, the passenger side window makes a very loud squealing noise upon descending. Has anyone else had this problem? If so, what was the solution. The service dept. has greased the blade runners of the window and it works for a while, but within a short time it goes back to squealing. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

10th Feb 2006, 15:23

I have the squealing noise coming from the passenger window of my 2000 i30t. Have you found a solution?

15th Feb 2006, 09:48

This problem is very common with this car, my driver's side window squeaks as well. The best fix I have found so far is a light coat of silicone spray along the bottom of the window seal. The silicone is light, colorless, and won't damage rubber or plastic. Good luck.

2001 Infiniti I30 Luxury from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance170 miles
Previous carMazda 1989 Turbo Sedan

Summary:

A lot of luxury for the money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

We really shopped and the I30 seemed the best low end luxury car for the money.

Dealer service fantastic, so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 11 reviews