1998 Isuzu Amigo Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1998 Isuzu Amigo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Amigo

Summary:

Disposable

Faults:

Bought it new and from the moment I got in, dome light didn't turn on. That should have been an ominous sign, but I ignored it. Next, tried to take the top off, went to put top back on and it had seemingly shrunk overnight, never got it back on right again. Car is big and rattly, doesn't corner well or handle well.

Timing belt snapped at 60,000. Tons of other more minor repairs that I can't recall now because I traded the car in - unfortunately for an even BIGGER piece of crap - the Ford Windstar.

General Comments:

It was cute when new, but quickly gurgled downhill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st October, 2004

28th Dec 2004, 04:01

Why did you buy it if like you said, your previous car was an Isuzu amigo too?? Foolish person.

Everyone knows cambelts are weak on these, that's why you change them and have it serviced by someone every so often...

1998 Isuzu Amigo Gator Series 4 x 4 3.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.6L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

It is the best truck I've owned

Faults:

The sunroof cover mounts kept coming unglued so I have never been able to use it even though its been to the dealer via a recall twice.

I have an annoying rattle behind the glove box that drives me crazy if the radio isn't turned up.

General Comments:

I really like the vehicle. Really powerful and the 4 x 4 low gears are excellent.

Purchased and aftermarket hardtop that I like a lot better than the original soft top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

30th Aug 2005, 15:32

I also am wondering where you got your aftermarket hardtop? let me know please.

1st Jul 2006, 08:15

I know it's been a while, but do you happen to have a phone number for this company? I tried to find it online, but didn't have any luck. I live in Delaware, but will be visiting TN in mid-August, so it might be worthwhile to check them out. Thanks for the help :)

29th Apr 2007, 15:08

I am in the process of purchasing a used 1998 Amigo, 5 speed soft top. It will be my first purchase and though the car is 9 years old, it only has 27,000 miles and is in excellent condition. I need something that is reliable and good in snow as I live in Buffalo and our winters can be snowy.

Any input would be great as I have not confirmed the deal yet.

Thanks.

1998 Isuzu Amigo 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

A great vehicle!!!

Faults:

Dome lamp doesn't come on when the door is opened.

General Comments:

Best handling SUV I've ever driven.

Great mileage from an SUV (25 to 26 MPG highway).

Very fun to drive (good power from a 4 cyl., convertible, sun-roof).

Serious off-road ability (snow and mud).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

8th Aug 2002, 17:15

For my sixteenth birthday, my parents bought me a 1998 Isuzu Amigo 4X4. I absolutely LOVE it! It is a very fun and enjoyable truck. It's fun to take out cruising around town in, and a lot of fun to take off-road. I highly recommend this vehicle! It's perfect! I still have it today, and don't plan on getting rid of it!

26th Jul 2005, 20:27

I just turned sixteen and got an Amigo for my birthday. It is my first car and what a great car it is. Mine is a five speed and I am just learning to drive a stick shift, and the amigo made it so much easier. I do not plan on getting rid of this great car anytime soon. the convertable top is one of the best features.

4th Sep 2006, 17:20

It's a great vehicle. I've had it for six years; I've had no problems. It's been extremely reliable.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 8 reviews