1993 Isuzu Pickup Spacecab! 2.6L I4, fuel injection from North America

Summary:

I have owned 9 vehicles over the years and this is by far the most dependable and reliable.

Faults:

I'm on my 3rd fuel pump. I believe that the first pump went bad due to the fact that the truck had ~160,000 miles on it and the pump finally wore out. Second fuel pump was installed by an idiot who screwed the install up. Third pump is operating just fine.

Have replaced the factory starter and radiator recently at ~180,000 miles.

The front end (steering and suspension components) could use some attention.

Overall, has been a very reliable and dependable pickup despite the fact that I never seem to perform maintenance on time.

General Comments:

A great, dependable, affordable truck that I will continue to drive until the wheels fall off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2007

27th Jun 2014, 01:19

Do you know how a 1994 Isuzu transmission is cooled? The stick shift 5 speed.

1993 Isuzu Pickup 2.3L Carburetor from North America

Summary:

This pickup truck is fantastic!

Faults:

I have a wrist pin in the motor that has gone bad.

When I first bought the truck it would stall out or hesitate when you stopped. I replaced the very clogged fuel filter & added moisture removal agent to the fuel. Also sprayed the carburetor with carburetor cleaner.

Had to replace the oxygen sensor at 180,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this little pickup. It has 193,000 miles on it & I still drive it every day.

The truck is still fuel efficient & drives very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2006

29th Oct 2008, 14:19

How do you replace the O2 sensor?

1993 Isuzu Pickup 2.3 from North America

Summary:

I'm going to keep it forever.

Faults:

I replaced the starter at 190,000 miles.

It seems to eat rotors a bit too fast.

I replaced the timing belt at 200,000 as a preventative measure. The biggest problem is an oil leak that I cannot trace.

General Comments:

It has been an efficient truck, although not overly comfortable and it seems to strain at fast speeds especially with the air conditioning on. Otherwise it has been a good primary vehicle for me since 1995. With no power steering or cruise control the truck is very utilitarian and most passengers do not like the extra tight seat belt. It continues to run fine, but mileage is never better than about 21-22mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

17th Oct 2005, 08:29

Your oil leak is probably coming from the oil sending unit. It happened to my 1994 Isuzu pickup.

28th Mar 2006, 18:37

My 93 pickup is 126,000 miles and still has the original rear brakes!

8th Jul 2010, 08:31

Oh, I wanted to add that my 94 Pup's A/C has never been serviced and still blows cold after 220,000 miles, most of them in Mobile Alabama. (A/C used almost daily, year round)

1993 Isuzu Pickup 2.3 2.3 from North America

Summary:

A nice, fuel-efficient, reliable Pick-up Truck

Faults:

I had to replace the entire pick-up bed and chassis at 79,000 miles because I bought the car from a swimming pool man and he had spilt so many chemicals in the back that it rusted everything out. cost me $800 total. I bought the car originally for $3200. Didn't notice any rust when I bought it.

Also had to adjust the idle screw at 81,000 because the car kept turning off every time I got to a Stop sign. The mechanic did this for free.

Also had the factory belts and hoses all this time and I finally changed them today. THe belts where cracked. The timing belt was still in good shape. Changed fuel filter and sparkplugs as well as a complete tune-up. Starter needed to be replaced as well.

But other than that the car is the most reliable pick-up I ever owned. Very good on gas and drives well. Kind of a bumpy ride, but I don't mind it too much.

The seats get hard to sit on more than 3 hours at a time. The power-assisted steering is a joke. It takes some muscle to make sharp turns at low speeds. I'm already used to it. A/C compressor pump got a leak so it just blows hot air now. I never got around to fixing it which will cost $300. I live in Miami, FL with the unbearable heat all year round, but I just sweat it out. I'm used to it. I have owned many cars with no A/C and I'm a smoker so windows are always rolled down anyway.

General Comments:

Over all I am very happy with the Pickup. I have owned this car longer than any other and it is very cool looking. Much more attractive than the Mazda B2100 or Nissan pickup.

I will continue to repair it if it needs it and hope to keep it past 125,000 at least. I have really fallen in love with this cute little pickup truck. It is so handy for moving furniture and can seat 8 people in the pickup bed if necessary. I highly recommend it for someone who needs a fuel efficent pickup truck and doesn't plan on towing a boat around or anything really heavy because I don't know if it could handle that. Seems to have an engine like a little Honda Civic and the body of a pickup.

Gear shifts are quite comfortable and compared to the other light pick-up trucks in the price range I like this one the best. Keep in mind It was a commercial vehicle before I bought it... so it has probably taken a lot of abuse and that's probably why the things that have gone wrong with it have gone wrong. I'ts my favorite car I have ever owned and never left me stranded on the side of the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2003