1998 Isuzu Rodeo LS V6 from North America




Transmission hard shift. Dealer tore down the transmission, rear end and replaced the computer.

After the dealer replaced the computer, I lost my fuel gauge. Never cleared the problem.

The car overheats intermittently; thermostat replaced and has gone through 2 blown radiators.

Head gasket now blown.

General Comments:

Car spends more time broken down than on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

1998 Isuzu Rodeo LX 6 L from North America


Wish it were better :(


Check engine light and check trans light were flashing, but the dealer said no problem. Months later, the alternator went out. The day I got the new alternator, the transmission started slipping. Coincidence? Rear wiper worked once after the new alternator was put in, and now nothing. A wheezing sound is now coming from the rear of the car when I accelerate. UGH!

For the life of me, I can't get this car to quit pulling to the right!!

General Comments:

I do like the room; it is great for hauling, but not too big.

I wish I could put the seats down and still have access to my arm rest storage!

Overall, a nice looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th June, 2007

1998 Isuzu Rodeo V6 from North America


Not a dependable vehicle


I bought a used 1998 Isuzu Rodeo (LEMON) in 2002, and have had trouble with it ever since. There is something really messed up with the electrical system, and no mechanics can figure it out.

Since I have made this unwise purchase I have had it in the shop an the average 3 or 4 times a year.

Several times it would not start and it was due to the electrical problems. My mechanic some how had to end up adding wires and grounding the lemon, and that only seemed to help for a few months.

Went in to get new brakes, and $2,600.00 later got the LEMON back. I guess the front end decided to go out also the same time I needed ne brakes.

The LEMON shakes, drives rough, is noisy inside the cabin area, and you need Arnold arms to hold the steering wheel steady as you drive. I have had the tires rotated, balanced, and alignment, but this does not help the shaking.

Going to a wedding and the alternater goes out and strands me and my 2 children on the side of the road for several hours. Had to have the grooms dad drive 100 miles to pick me up since I was the best man in the wedding.

Transmission slips all the time.

Just arrived at work today and the alternater that I had replaced 8 months ago is dead again and need a new one.

Purchased and extended warranty for $1800.00 and went to use it a few months later and found out the warranty company went bankrupt. I did not use one penny of the warranty and basically gave someone $1800.00.

I will never purchase another Isuzu product, because they do not even know what is wrong with the vehicles that they are building. It is a bad feeling to have to pray every time you get into the RODEO (AKA LEMON) just to make it to the store or a few miles to work.

I am on a limited income like most everyone else, and cannot afford to by a new vehicle at the moment, but I also cannot afford to continue putting money into this junk that Isuzu calls a vehicle.

Warn your relatives and friends and tell them to stay away from the Isuzu vehicles or they will join the rest of us on this forum.

Not very happy with Isuzu.

I could go on and on about this worthless vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2007

29th Oct 2007, 13:01

I also have a 1998 Passport (Isuzu). Had many problems over the years, but it's still muddling along - but like you say, everyday is an adventure. One thing to consider about the alternator - we had to replace 3. On the last replacement, I was told that the alternator was not bolted in completely (one of the bolts is almost impossible to use without practically taking the car apart, or doing some other fancy improvising. Anyway, the guy said that an alternator will go bad if it shakes around too much (due to not being bolted in correctly). I suspect that once an alternator goes bad, most repair place will put it back in "half way" rather than spend the HOURS it takes to do the job right - therefore you'll lose an alternator almost every year!

Anyway - other problems - catalytic converters had to be replaced, head gasket, fuel injector o-rings... oh and let me say this about the 0-rings. If I remember right, there are two of these rings on each injector. Again, one of the injectors (far rear one on the right, facing car - if I recall correctly) is also virtually impossible to get removed - and when we finally did, voila! The o-ring was practically disintegrated, where the other ones had clearly been replaced by the dealer (an earlier visit)... but this difficult one was left untouched - too much trouble again I suppose. this probably contributed to our catalytic converter problems, gas mileage, etc. Nutshell - poor mech. design, NO support from Isuzu or HOnda. Honda dealer pretty much said they hated working on the junk.

13th Aug 2008, 06:21

You couldn't give me one. I ended up losing about $11,000 on that one after the engine and tranny went out within weeks of each other.

6th Sep 2008, 23:59

Pray for your vehicles. Try it on your next vehicle. We have a 98 Isuzu rodeo 4 cy, 5 speed, bought new, 10 years later with 203,??? plus miles still going strong! Just this summer we took it to the mountains of Colorado, performed just great. Sure the fuel gage does not work, engine light stays on, we can live with a few inconveniences. At 60k the timing belt broke, it was covered by the warranty. At 80k a alternator and battery. At about 120k we replaced timing belt, water pump just to be safe, soon after a starter. Replaced timing belt again at 180k to be safe and a new battery. Most of the work I believe is normal tear and wear. Oh yeah, Somewhere in between there new set of spark plugs and wires.

13th Oct 2009, 11:29

I too owned a 98 Rodeo... I learned a lot from that vehicle:

- How to remove an engine and replace a crankshaft

- How to remove an engine and transmission to replace a transmission

- How to deal with salvage yards (never ever let them tell you they will do something without having them put it in writing)

Also, the Rodeo starts to slip out of gear while in four.

4th Feb 2011, 12:08

I've had mine for about 2 years, purchased used... Cannot complain. Yes, as with many other used cars, I have had to drop money into it, but at 248 thousand miles... I'm pleased.