1998 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 V6 from North America


Very fun SUV, hard to find parts for


Coil pack 1/6 went out, dealer item only. Repair manual is harder to find than the Holy Grail. Sunroof leaks. Backseat seatbelt broke. After market parts are rare.

General Comments:

It has more horsepower than other vehicles it's size. Corners well, accellerates better than most. Plenty of room for kids. Great for fishing, hunting, traveling. Great gas mileage, if you don't drive too fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

1998 Isuzu Rodeo LS 3.2 from North America


Even with its few quirks, I will miss this truck. It's been a lot of fun to drive


Front end clunks when creeping along with the wheel turned slightly to the left or right.

Burns excessive oil - 1 to 2 litres for every 2500 km.

ABS light on 98% of the time. According to Isuzu it's a loose wire.

Transmission is sealed so I can't have fluid changed anywhere I wish. I have to take it to Isuzu.

Pits on gas consumption. I think it's about 15 miles to the gallon.

Dealer I bought from installed ceramic brake pads and I have not had to replace them yet (40,000 km later). But without those pads it squalled like crazy.

General Comments:

I love this truck and have since I bought it used two years ago. But it's now time to find something more fuel efficient and better on insurance (I have a seven-star rating, but SUVs jack up the insurance rates like crazy in Ontario).

The cargo and seating space is fantastic, having changed from a Plymouth Colt.

I love the power and the handling is terrific. The truck looks great and everything works on it (except the ABS, see above). I have had no problems with any of the options and this truck has them all.

Interior is wearing very well and the seats are still comfortable.

I have found no blind spots.

I love that it's not too big and not too small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2004

2nd Nov 2004, 00:26

There is a check and fill plug for the transmission on the transmission pan itself and a drain plug close to it. You can do a drain and fill of the transmission pan every 15,000 miles / 1 year.. or so on your own or at almost any preventative maintenance location. It is always a good idea to have knowledgeable people working on your vehicle. Every 30,000-45,000 miles / 2-3 years it would be a good idea to drop the pan replace the filter or screen, install a new gasket and refill with an acceptable fluid preferably a low or no ash Dexron III or a multi-vehicle automatic transmission fluid to be on the safe side.

9th Feb 2006, 10:27

I have found that if you run some Seafoam additive in your oil per the recommended use. I put in a 1/4 container and ran it about 50 miles or so and changed my oil. I did that twice and it stopped the oil burning problem. I did that about a year ago and I haven't had a problem since. I continue to do one cycle every 6-10 oil changes and it does great!! No more burning.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo s 2wd V6 from North America


This was my favorite purchase... no regrets!


The only problem I have was a sound coming from under the car when I pressed the accelerator. I think this noise is due to the fact that I suddenly changed to a higher octane of gasoline and disturbed the computer. I know that some vehicles are suggested to have a certain octane to reduce occurance of problems.

General Comments:

This SUV is very quick and reliable.

It has excellent handling and steering.

I find it very comfortable and attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2004

1998 Isuzu Rodeo 3.2 Liter V6 from North America


For the price paid, the quality is not there, and the company does not seem to back their product


The first problem we experienced was a blemish in the paint after we had owned the car for about a year. The clear coat appeared to have worn through in a spot on the hood about the size of a quarter. The dealer refused any responsibility.

Around that same time we began to hear a rattling noise from under the dash behind the passenger air bag. This time the dealer was willing to perform the necessary maintenance, but after returning the car several times the source of trouble was never found. This continued until the warranty ran out, and again they refused any further responsibility.

At about 80,000 miles the intake manifold gasket had to be replaced. Inspection of the old gasket revealed it had been damaged upon installation at the factory. How it lasted 80,000 miles is beyond me.

Finally, in 2003 we noticed that the entire paint job was covered with tiny little checks in the clear coat. Repainting is the only option.

General Comments:

The car runs good despite all the rumors I have heard about valve train problems.

The automatic transmission is a bit clunky, but seems to work well. I was surprised to find that the cost of a fluid change was over $400.

The drivers seat is the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced.

When it runs it runs well, but maintenance is very expensive.

The paint is terrible! It looks awful after only five years. It's a shame you can't buy one bare metal and have a quality paint job done on your own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

13th Feb 2004, 20:02

I have a 99 rodeo with 59000 miles on it. It uses a quart of oil every 700 miles. My friend has a 98 trooper with same motor with 30000 miles on it, it uses a quart of oil every 800 miles. My rodeo just blew the intake gasket. I have a 76 chevrolet pick-up with a million miles on it and it runs great.

7th Apr 2005, 18:10

My 98 Rodeo intake gaskets cracked at 70K and I had them changed. My Rodeo now has 92K and the intake gaskets are cracked again and need changing. I believe the problem is in the design of the gaskets.

29th May 2006, 13:32

I have a 98. It currently has 140K plus miles. I have replaced my intake gaskets 3 times. Once on the dealer and twice I have paid. My cost has been $200 - $300 each time. Wish I knew of a fix.

1998 Isuzu Rodeo Best SUV 3.2L V6 from North America


Fun to drive and best performance!


There is nothing wrong with Rodeo, but it's really lot of fun to drive. The Rodeo doesn't have any problem until 2003 and it says: Check Engine. That is my first problem on Rodeo.

General Comments:

The best SUV in USA and it's RODEO, fun to drive, got everything in Rodeo such as Power Drive, Winter Drive, 4x4 and much more!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2003