1988 Isuzu Trooper LS 2.6L 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

One of the best cars ever built at the time

Faults:

Very few problems. Almost none.

After over 100,000 miles, a head gasket broke.

General Comments:

It's an all-around excellent car. GREAT fuel economy, about 24 MPG in bumper-to-bumper traffic, regular gas, and plenty of space.

The back has enough space to put lots of things, and the seats are spacious. The controls are well designed and ergonomic. Very reliable, good looking, and well built. Everything on it held up, and was very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2010

10th May 2010, 08:55

I agree with everything you wrote as we had two Troopers over the years... Everything except 24 mpg in traffic. We averaged well under 20 mpg around town and only managed maybe 20 mpg on trips with both our AT and standard models. These are big trucks and weigh a lot, so it is pretty improbable that you'd get that kind of mileage around town. We do get 24 mpg, now, with our Ascender on the highway, but that is a different truck entirely and based on the Chevy Trailblazer.

28th May 2014, 23:44

I agree with this review, I've had plenty of experience with Troopers and am amazed at their durability.

I recently acquired another 1988 Trooper, and it has been beat! But the A/C still works and it gets 23.3 MPG, holy cow! Great for what I need here in Belize, Central America.

23rd Sep 2014, 17:56

Hello! Where in Belize are you? I am on my way to Corozol to buy an '88 Trooper. Rusty but pretty well maintained. Do you know where I might find body parts? Rocker panel and rear quarter panels particularly. Thanks.

21st Dec 2014, 17:39

I found an 88 Isuzu Trooper. Very clean interior, very nice for the age. The owner wants 800. Has 135000 miles. Needs minor engine work. Just trying to check with previous owners if it's worth the money? Thank you for your time.

1988 Isuzu Trooper 2.6 from North America

Summary:

I love my Trooper and its look

Faults:

We just had the engine rebuilt so it's fine for now... but the car is noisy... the seals in the windows and doors might need to be updated...

General Comments:

Troopers are made to look very rigid, but the handling is actually very nice and safe feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

1988 Isuzu Trooper II 2.6 EFI from North America

Summary:

Best toy I've had ever!!!

Faults:

My gear box, that was my fault.

My A/C compressor just went out a week ago.

General Comments:

This truck does good on mud trails with just a 3 inche body lift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper S 2.6 Liter I-Tech MPFI from North America

Summary:

Great truck, but has flaws

Faults:

Thermal valve, piston rings, head gasket, harmonic balancer spun around is no longer correct for timing, exhaust is rusted, back up lights, and driver's seat springs shot.

General Comments:

I am just amending what I have said in an earlier review. I will be rebuilding the engine here shortly and that should take care of a lot of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper from North America

Summary:

This car is good for a few months, but its performance goes down as it's driven 2-3 times daily

Faults:

Seal for oil on engine came off.

Engine is leaking oil.

Hose and cap connecting anti-coolant/anti-freeze reserve to radiator pops off causing it to smoke.

Hose from radiator to engine seems frayed.

Radiator appears to be cracked.

General Comments:

This car handles well when turning.

Socket of cigarette lighter doesn't work.

Rear wiper doesn't work at proper times.

Inside light doesn't turn on/off when car door opens/shuts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2008

5th Dec 2014, 16:21

Check your wiring, and service the engine; I believe it's neglected.

1988 Isuzu Trooper 4.7 Itec from North America

Summary:

Super heavy duty little truck

Faults:

The fuel pump went out.

Master cylinder went bad.

Rear interior light doesn't work.

Rust on the exterior of the truck.

General Comments:

I had to replace the fuel pump, and taking down the tank is a breeze. I was very happy with the way it was mounted, and that it allowed me to hang the right side on a ledge, and the left just bolted right up. The master cylinder went out, which this truck is really hard to figure out if it's the slave or master cylinder, because of the kickback dampener.

The manual was very hard to find, but I got lucky after searching four days for it, and found it at my local library, on their online database. This manual is pretty general but works great.

Overall this truck is great; it is built like a tank. It gets good gas mileage and is easy to work on when you need to. Great for camping adventures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2008