1988 Isuzu Trooper Reviews

1988 Isuzu Trooper LS 2.6L 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1989
Engine and transmission 2.6L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Fox

Summary:

One of the best cars ever built at the time

Faults:

Very few problems. Almost none.

After over 100,000 miles, a head gasket broke.

General Comments:

It's an all-around excellent car. GREAT fuel economy, about 24 MPG in bumper-to-bumper traffic, regular gas, and plenty of space.

The back has enough space to put lots of things, and the seats are spacious. The controls are well designed and ergonomic. Very reliable, good looking, and well built. Everything on it held up, and was very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2010

10th May 2010, 08:55

I agree with everything you wrote as we had two Troopers over the years... Everything except 24 mpg in traffic. We averaged well under 20 mpg around town and only managed maybe 20 mpg on trips with both our AT and standard models. These are big trucks and weigh a lot, so it is pretty improbable that you'd get that kind of mileage around town. We do get 24 mpg, now, with our Ascender on the highway, but that is a different truck entirely and based on the Chevy Trailblazer.

1988 Isuzu Trooper 2.6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired176000 miles
Most recent distance177000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

I love my Trooper and its look

Faults:

We just had the engine rebuilt so it's fine for now... but the car is noisy... the seals in the windows and doors might need to be updated...

General Comments:

Troopers are made to look very rigid, but the handling is actually very nice and safe feeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

1988 Isuzu Trooper II 2.6 EFI from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Best toy I've had ever!!!

Faults:

My gear box, that was my fault.

My A/C compressor just went out a week ago.

General Comments:

This truck does good on mud trails with just a 3 inche body lift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper S 2.6 Liter I-Tech MPFI from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6 Liter I-Tech MPFI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180320 miles
Most recent distance182085 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Great truck, but has flaws

Faults:

Thermal valve, piston rings, head gasket, harmonic balancer spun around is no longer correct for timing, exhaust is rusted, back up lights, and driver's seat springs shot.

General Comments:

I am just amending what I have said in an earlier review. I will be rebuilding the engine here shortly and that should take care of a lot of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

This car is good for a few months, but its performance goes down as it's driven 2-3 times daily

Faults:

Seal for oil on engine came off.

Engine is leaking oil.

Hose and cap connecting anti-coolant/anti-freeze reserve to radiator pops off causing it to smoke.

Hose from radiator to engine seems frayed.

Radiator appears to be cracked.

General Comments:

This car handles well when turning.

Socket of cigarette lighter doesn't work.

Rear wiper doesn't work at proper times.

Inside light doesn't turn on/off when car door opens/shuts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th May, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper 4.7 Itec from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.7 Itec Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Super heavy duty little truck

Faults:

The fuel pump went out.

Master cylinder went bad.

Rear interior light doesn't work.

Rust on the exterior of the truck.

General Comments:

I had to replace the fuel pump, and taking down the tank is a breeze. I was very happy with the way it was mounted, and that it allowed me to hang the right side on a ledge, and the left just bolted right up. The master cylinder went out, which this truck is really hard to figure out if it's the slave or master cylinder, because of the kickback dampener.

The manual was very hard to find, but I got lucky after searching four days for it, and found it at my local library, on their online database. This manual is pretty general but works great.

Overall this truck is great; it is built like a tank. It gets good gas mileage and is easy to work on when you need to. Great for camping adventures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper 2.6 L4 I-TECH from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6 L4 I-TECH Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired180320 miles
Most recent distance180865 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

One tough vehicle that can go the distance!

Faults:

I had to replace the thermal valve on the thermostat housing and the heater hoses.

General Comments:

I am currently (April 08) changing out the carpet and seats. Not the best power wise going up hills but on flat ground, has excelent power. Shifts nicely. I have manual locking hubs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2008

1988 Isuzu Trooper from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired94640 miles
Most recent distance105111 miles

Summary:

It may not be dependable, but it's a very fun car to drive

Faults:

The exhaust and muffler rusted easily.

Various parts under the hood and exterior parts were constantly having to be replaced.

General Comments:

A very fun vehicle to drive around town in.

However its very boxy and when reaching speeds over 50 miles an hour, it feels as if it will tip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th November, 2007

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews