1997 Isuzu Trooper Reviews

1997 Isuzu Trooper 3.2 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

This is a great SUV

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car has an awesome 4X4 system. I have not had anything at all go wrong. I change the oil every 3000 miles and never a drop low. The a/c blows cold and strong. When switching from the durango this gets great gas mileage. About 16 mpg on average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

1997 Isuzu Trooper LS 3.2 V6 from Hong Kong

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Reliable Pal

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

The only problem I think it recently has is starting problem.

The dealer said it is the starter motor.

Otherwise an excellent car both to own and to drive.

General Comments:

The V6 engine purrs very nicely, quicker than most 4x4's.

Except the engine was rather noisy, and the sound proof is not a top job.

Brakes is excellent, much better than my Range Rover.

When hit corner quickly, it will result in "squills".

It seats 5 in comfort, but the last row (the sixth and seventh passengers' seats) is very tight.

Boot is big and spacious for bicycles.

Have own the car since new, and still likes it.

It is extremely reliable, had no problem with it, never needed to be tow away.

Fuel consumption can be a problem (reflected by the second hand price, I bought mine for $330000 plus about $60000 extras). I sold it for $50000 last month. Ouch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st August, 2005

26th Jul 2007, 23:37

Thanks for the comment, it is indeed a very reliable car - apart from the starter?

1997 Isuzu Trooper Duty 3.1 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Strong robust workhorse built to last

Faults:

Electric ariel doesn't always fully retract, paint chipping from radiator grill,

General Comments:

This car feels very robust & well put together (in direct comparison with my previously owned Land Rover Discovery)

Cabin is quite dull & bland. Duty models are quite basic inside

Fuel economy averages 22-26 mpg

Comfortable ride for a 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

1997 Isuzu Trooper 3.2 LS 3.2 V6 petrol from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfetta GTV

Summary:

The most expensive SUV to run from new

Faults:

Extremely reliable except for a few normal, but irritating glitches:

1. The battery died in 1.5 years

2. The front headlight bulbs gone at 52000 miles

3. threads of aluminium transfer case plug cross-threaded when new, resulting in horrible repair afterwards

4. On low grade fuel, the notorious Isuzu gasping engine symptoms appear (engine rev unstable, tends to die on light throttle, and on heavy throttle tends to die down and never reaches higher revs)

General Comments:

1. original front brake pads lasted very shortly and needed replacement before 15k miles

2. engine very noisy except when idling

3. a few friend of mine complained about engine noise and vibration even at idle

4. bad fuel economy (310-350 miles per refill of 80 litres of petrol)

5. image not very much on par with those in its class eg Pajero/Shogun, Prado 3.4, and the Disco 3.9

6. resale value very poor (13% value retention after 6 yrs.), and after then you still have to beg for potential buyers! Alas! So few connoisseurs of Isuzu cars!!!

7. heavy steering and wide turning circles compared to Prado 3.4,

8. the leather steering wheel wrap makes things worse in city traffic

9. cornering feel is at at best uncomfortable and normal terrifying, calling for lower speeds at corners

10. aircon insufficient in summer times of +32deg C.

I like this one, but I would want better drive and economy in my daily commuter before its value drops to zilch in 2 or 3 yrs to come. And I hate to be commented by a Toyota salesman as a miser or niggard who puts little money to see nothing expected in a 4X4. Man I paid how much for this brand new one? Just to be called a niggard?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2003

10th Jun 2006, 14:31

I totally agree with you, I bought mine new and can't believe the resale value (330000 + 60000extras = 50000) absolutely ridiculous. I now own a range rover, I strongly recommend it.

3rd Jan 2008, 22:46

In my parts of the world, people prefer Japanese vehicles. To buy a Range Rover is to be taken to the cleaners when it comes to resale. Literally.

26th Mar 2010, 13:54

This is a great used truck. It is my second one. Mine cost me 1400.00 USD. If you are looking for an off road vehicle cheap, this is the one to get. The engine I have makes a nice rattling sound, and has so for about 100,000 miles. It currently has 210,000 miles, getting horrible gas mileage. If the engine dies, I will put a V8 in for about 2000.00. Keeping in mind the vehicle sold for 27,000 new.

13th Feb 2012, 15:20

I agree with this comment.

In the summer of 2010, in the US, my girlfriend traded her 98 Ranger Rover Discovery for a 97 Geo Metro LSi. Straight trade. The Geo Metro has been ultra-reliable.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews