2001 Jaguar S-Type Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2001 Jaguar S-Type 4.0 Litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance7920 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

The best value for a luxury car with performance

Faults:

Not one thing to complain about, other than Jag should have built this car sooner.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I've ever owned! My previous car was a 1998 BMW 540 and it doesn't compare with the Jag.

The BMW was nice for racing, but how often do you dothat?

The S-Type is fast, comfortable and well designed for everyday use. Not to mention the reasonable price.

After owning an 1988 XJ6, with all the normal frustrating problems I thought I would never own another Jaguar. They (and Ford) proved me wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

28th Oct 2005, 10:37

I own a 2000 Jaguar S Type. It's probably the worst investment I have ever made. The dealer could not repair the coolant sensor so Jag Corporation instructed the technician to disengage it. Does a company have the right to disengage a feature of an automobile under warranty without asking the owner or without some compensation? The justification for doing so was, "the 6-cyliner vehicles don't have one." Every window regulator in this vehicle has been replaced, one at a time. Instead of recalling these vehicles with obviously defective regulators--the technician said hundreds had been replaced--Jag corp repaired them one at a time, hoping, I think, that at least one of them would outlast the warranty, and the owner of the vehicle would have to pick up the tab or at least part of it. That's exactly what happened to me.

The car is in the shop now with a rattling in the front of the engine. For the reasons above--and the fact that the last time I had it at the dealer the technician failed to sufficiently tighten the oil filter--I have my car at a local shop, not the dealer.

There have been other problems.

Ford (Jag Division) has not acted responsibly in these cases.

2001 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired534 miles
Most recent distance3014 miles
Previous carJaguar XK8

Summary:

A mediocre Ford product wrapped in a pretty Jaguar package with an inflated price

Faults:

The brakes make very audible air pressure sound inside the car.

There is a serious grinding sound coming from the passenger air bag area of the dash when starting the car.

Dash lights have gone out nine times when turnng on the head lights.

General Comments:

This car has a beautiful skin (exterior) but is disappointingly cheap in fit and finish on the interior.

The mechanical problems are inexcusable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

27th Jun 2001, 07:26

You have to take care a little bit of your car and you'll never have problem! Jaguar is the best car company in the world for reliability!!!

I have a Jag S-type and I never had a problem, I did 120,000 miles with the car!!!

4th Jul 2001, 09:23

Cars will always have trouble. If you're experiencing persistent, nagging faults, do take it back to your dealer. I see no reason why they shouldn't iron them out and hand you back the car you think you should be driving!

7th Jul 2001, 16:42

I have owned mine for 6 months, and have loved mine! I never thought I would be able to say "Jaguar" and "reliability" in the same sentence, but Ford's quality lessons have been terrific!

Also, those are JAGUAR parts, not Ford parts. The Fit & Finish is Jaguar, NOT Ford.

14th Aug 2001, 09:15

I have 23K miles on mine and have not experienced such problems.

1st Apr 2006, 09:12

Um...no.

No matter how well you take care of your cars, if a car is shoddily built it will break down.

S Types are notoriously unreliable and just because you had minor postive encounters with them doesn't great reliability make.

5th Aug 2007, 23:25

Ford Taurus and Jag shouldn't be in the same sentence...sorry, just had to say it!

26th Aug 2009, 10:33

My 2001 S Type has done 15000 miles with no real problems. It still pulls well.

2001 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance3800 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

This car may be the best value in its class

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a beautiful car inside and out with a very stable ride. I'm glad I took a "chance" on purchasing it as it has been a pleasure to drive and totally reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

2001 Jaguar S-Type 3.0 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous carBMW 325is

Summary:

Nimble performance with stately beauty

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. After a long trip the catalytic converter makes a loud "ping" when it shuts down. Otherwise car has been perfect.

General Comments:

Heads turn when I drive this car. It is clearly one of the most beautiful, elegant cars around. It's a conversation stopper. Even my friends who drive BMWs, Mercedes, Audis, Porsches, Corvettes, and other exotic cars just love the looks of the S-Type.

The car's performance is an excellent compromise between sports-type handling and comfort/luxury. Steering is responsive, suspension is taut, acceleration is decent, yet the ride is very comfortable, quiet, and soothing.

The cabin is first-rate; best leather and wood around. "Sports sedan", with a big hunk of British elegance, best describes this cat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

26th Jan 2001, 09:35

These cars are seriously good, ENJOY!

12th Apr 2001, 08:03

The styling on this S-Type makes my heart leap. It is a beautiful blend of the excitement of the classic Jaguar cat quality and the classic sedan side styling of the Rolls. We have ordered the Titanium color because it speaks of the rich heritage embodied in both.

19th Sep 2001, 15:25

I like this reliable masterpiece, the best car in the world.

12th Sep 2003, 06:47

I have had my 3-liter sports manual for one year and I absolutely love it! I had a Mercedes before, but to be honest I found the whole after sales experience too painful. Jag service is excellent, and the car is excellent.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews