2002 Jaguar X-Type from North America - Comments

3rd Jan 2009, 06:40

I have a 2001 X-Type which cost me a bomb then. Now it has developed the dreaded "Gearbox fault" and cost US$6,000 to fix. The dealer does not care. I was told it's occuring at the rate of 3 cars per year! Look for other brands if you want a more reliable car guys...

19th Jan 2009, 17:19

I own a 2002 2.5 X-Type.

At first it drove like a dream, but I soon had a engine light, took to a local mechanic, and they gave me the run a round, just taking guesses at what the problem was.

Then I said I will bite the bullet and take to a Jaguar dealership; thinking they're pros at fixing my car, cause that's all they do. Nope, that dealership did not have any better answers and even worse than the local mech.

I ask them to look into where's my anti/freeze going, because I'm always low and have to refill it, which causes my Jaguar to shake when accelerating or hesitate when pressing the gas (anybody else have the same problem, please tell me there's a fix) so the dealership tell me I have a slight oil leak?? But I said what about my coolant? They said it's fine. I said, it's fine, did you notice my broken radiator cap? That's when his face turned red; needless to say I let them have it.

Can help answer my dilemma; my car is losing coolant (don't know where it's going, don't see a leak) and hesitates when I drive it and shakes like it has a fuel filter clogged, but I smell coolent and my heat does not work, just blowing cold air and smells like coolant.

If you have any answers or thoughts on resolving my issues, please e-mail me lokeytech@yahoo.com

22nd Oct 2009, 13:34

Looking to buy a 2.0SE 2002 X type from a dealer. Only done 25k, 1 owner, FSH. After reviews, should I still buy one, I don't know... Love the look of the car, looks well looked after, what do I do? It's £7500.

25th Apr 2010, 16:14

This 2002X type Jag is lurching and goes into limp mode with the gear box fault light on. Limped home on the back roads.

I did read something about J-cable service recall. Why does this only happen during a deluge/huge rain fall?

I heard about the software issues with this cars gearbox and now this thing is dangerous! Suddenly going into limp mode on a freeway almost caused an accident.

63,000 miles and this care has been the worse headache we have ever encountered. Throttle body repair 1000 dollars and on and on. It's a silk purse with a sows gearbox. It really sucks. Not a car I would ever recommend, lots of issues.

9th May 2010, 22:59

2002 Jaguar X-Type. Wow - same as all the rest. What a nightmare. Great for the first year of owning this used car. Now a non stop money pit.

Just got the dreaded gearbox fault. Can't wait to see how much that one costs me. I can add it to one headlight not working, sticking passenger door, one power door lock not working, bad water pump, cruise not available intermittently and headlights not staying in place. You can't even change a headlight bulb on this car without either removing the battery or the bumper cover.

I have never seen a more rotten piece of engineering in my entire life. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR!

3rd Nov 2010, 17:51

I did some research on my used 2002 Jaguar X Type three years ago before my purchase, and regretfully ignored all complaints about this car regarding the gear box fault problem. A month ago, while driving to work, I accelerated up to 60mph, and the gear box fault light came on. At this point, my car would not allow me to accelerate at all, and I was forced to drive very cautiously to the shoulder while fast heavy traffic drove behind and around me. I take responsibility for purchasing this piece of crap car, considering I was aware of the issues. At the same time, I am very upset and concerned about the safety threats this car poses to drivers and passengers.

6th Dec 2010, 09:19

I have had a Jaguar X Type 2002 2.0 for 4 years and it has been the best car I have ever owned, never given me any problems what so ever. I bought it with FSH and 110,000 on the clock. Never let me down. Will buy another.

9th Dec 2010, 14:37

My first Jag is the 2005 X-Type, 3.0L engine. It's what I've always wanted, black on black, and gorgeous. It's also my first foray into the world of "luxury" automobiles. I purchased this vehicle six months ago, and actually never really drive it as I live in a major city and use public transportation to and from work. So, it's basically a weekend car.

However, after my first trip to the dealership for a check-up, oil/lube/filter change, the ominous amber 'engine malfunction' light lit up like a firework the DAY AFTER service. So, I drove home and made an appointment at another dealership for diagnosis this coming Saturday. There were no obvious signs of trouble coming from the car, it drove home just like it always had. I'm quite impatient to know what the deal is, because I really love this car.

Will keep you posted after Saturday...

28th Dec 2010, 13:54

I just purchased a 2002 Jaguar X-Type with 100K on it. It was previously owned by an older woman in her mid 60's. The car is in mint condition, and even has the new leather smell.

Since I've had the car these last 3 weeks, I have spent a total of 3 days driving it. First it went to the dealer with a leak in the water pump, and then the radiator had a leak.

Yesterday, the engine light came on and informed me the cruise is not available. I'm afraid to bring it to the dealer, as they charge $180 just to look at the car, and I've already put in $1,500. What a drag.

I love the look of it, and it drives so beautifully when all is good, but I feel it's going to be a money pit.

I hope I'm not wrong, but feel I'm being naive. I'll keep you posted.

5th Jan 2011, 13:03

My 2002 Jaguar X-Type.

I have decided today that it is time to trade my Jag. I have had this car for over 3 years. It had the dreaded gear box error a year ago, and no trouble since then.

Headlight not working; I have been trying to get it fixed.

I have dumped 2K in this car in the last 2 months.

I noticed a comment above about the cruise control problem. Mine has that problem. You must make sure the cruise is actually on. I would push the button, but it did not say cruise on if I set it. I would have to pull it over as it's dying while I drive it. I just can't handle the expense of all the problems this car has. I love my Jag, but it's killing my bank account.

9th Jan 2011, 12:04

I own a 2005 X-Type and had a 'gearbox fault' appear with a yellow warning light. I was testing out the manual shift option of the automatic when it occurred. I could not shift out of second, so I pulled off and stopped the engine, waited about a minute and re-started. Warning went out, warning light did not reappear, and drove home normally in automatic mode (usual mode)... Was this event just a fluke?