2002 Jaguar X-Type Reviews - Page 15 of 16

2002 Jaguar X-Type Sport 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance8524 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A fast, compact, refined beauty

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is a very smooth and quiet car - passengers tend to start off shouting and then realise that they don't need to.

Thanks to the all-wheel drive, the cornering is superb and stability is excellent.

The SAT NAV is wonderful - Penny (as we call the lady living in the dashboard) has such smooth and restrained tones, you can't help, but love her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

13th Jan 2003, 11:30

My x type 2002 has so many small problems too numerous, much worse than my 156 alfa The jaguar has hesitation in shfting, a/c not cooling when first bought this,trunk pops open, battery cover cracked, chrome on windows "hazy".This was all in first 300 miles! Vince USA.

29th Jan 2003, 03:26

Prolly worth pointing out that all the folks who seem to have the hump with the X-Type are from USA.

Here in UK, any worker on the production line can halt the production process if a fault is spotted. This seems to result in better cars.

2nd Mar 2003, 10:11

Was wondering about this. Differet manufacturing site, yes? I assumed they were all shipped from the UK, but are the US ones made there?

30th Jan 2005, 22:37

"Prolly worth pointing out that all the folks who seem to have the hump with the X-Type are from USA"

Don't believe that for a second!! There are many "blue face" reviews here associated with the UK as well!

2002 Jaguar X-Type 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance14200 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

This car is expensive rubbish - avoid it!

Faults:

The driver-side door latch seized and had to be replaced.

The engine computer had to be updated.

The "gearbox fault" indicator comes on consistently and no resolve for the reason had been found.

The engine light has also come on.

The trunk latch malfunctions consistently requiring the trunk to be shut repeatedly up to 15 times before it closes properly.

The automatic headlights remain on after the car is shut off.

The "cruise not available" warning light accompanies the "gearbox fault" warning light each time that warning is displayed.

General Comments:

This car looks good on the lot, but is not a reliable vehicle. I've owned my car only six months and it has had to be towed twice. The service technicians at Alley's Jaguar in Kingsport, Tennessee - where the car was purchased - have been unable to resolve the issue.

The car goes into "limp home" mode each time the gearbox fault light illuminates. Did I pay $42,000 to limp home?

I've heard this car is the safest on the road - no doubt - how dangerous can a car be when it's hardly even on a road?

The interior and exterior are impressive, but looks are, as they say, "skin deep." The basic reliability and integrity of the car are seriously deficient.

This dream car is a nightmare and a total financial mistake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

23rd Jul 2003, 07:24

Automatic Headlights stay on for up to two minutes after you lock the car - that's the point of them. If the trunk does not close, press the trunk button again - the mechanism will open and then the trunk will shut properly...

5th Apr 2004, 21:36

I am considering the Jag X-Type. I have just come from the reviews on the audi A6 2.7T and I have to say that the comments on the Jag are a lot better. There were so many complaints on the audi, it was ridiculous. For as many X-Types that I've seen on the road, two complaints is not bad.

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8800 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Looks great, didn't get me home STAY AWAY FROM JAGUAR X-TYPE

Faults:

Tranny, Electrical, Trim.

Lets see, classic Jaguar looks come along with the 70s-80s reliability issues @factory AND @Dealer. Read on:

Day one, proudly showing off the new Jag to in-laws, pops pointed out the broken taillight. 10 minutes of ownership, back to the dealer the next morning.

2 weeks, kitty ornment on hood stolen (affixed by the factory with a cheap spring) $45 to replace it with a cheap looking plastic medallion. Had to return it as the medalion was on crooked, dealer only had 4.0 liter ones left.

Then we dented the "boot" trying to slam the trunk closed 20+ times to get it to stay put. See fact. TSB XT501-04 and fix it please...

10/13/02 at 4800 miles the tranny light went on, car would barely move. The shop-guy got stuck taking the "test-drive", needed a flatbed. Had to beg for a loaner (got Merc Sable). They replaced it in 72 hours, not bad except...

12/28/02 8400 miles, on our way home from Florida (to NY), tranny light and a dead stop on I95/beltway on a Sunday Eve after Xmas. Called service, Monday??? I got the car rolling again by somehow shifting violently anbd it snapped into 4th (only 4th), drove it home 300 miles.

General Comments:

Looks great, drives great (but only 16mpg). My first and certainly LAST Jag, I could have gotten a nice 1990 XJ-6 for $3500 and had fewer problems. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR, the BMW 325IX or Benz 4-Matic C-Class will get you there (and home!) far better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2002

27th Apr 2003, 00:50

I am having the same problem with my x-type.

21st Jan 2004, 18:28

I regret the day I bought this vehicle. Spent more days in workshop than on the road, within the first 8 months, numerous problems electrics interior rattles, computer failed, key had to be reprogrammed the list goes on. Traded in on a Lexus gs300. Don't buy Jaguar!

26th Jul 2004, 23:04

Seems to me like the first few problems, the light, the trunk and the hood ornament weren't defect. They were your own fault. The engine problems concern me... were your Jaguar manual or Auto??

21st Jan 2005, 07:57

Let's see. Picked up my Jaguar 3.0 X-type February, 2002. Before that winter was over I had to have it flat-bedded into dealer as thermostat broke and hot water hose blew. I've since had problems with the truck closing (not my problem - manufacturer's defect), gas tank lid stuck despite hitting the release button several times, brakes needed complete replacement after a year and a 1/2 (16,000 miles) and now I am told my transmission needs repairing, possibly replacing. All I can say is thank God that my lease is very near its end. I will NEVER lease, purchase, rent, etc. another Jaguar. The only positive thing I can share is that during my first incident, the service manager at the jaguar shop did predict all of my experienced troubles with this car.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews