2002 Jaguar X-Type Reviews - Page 13 of 16

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carGMC Yukon

Summary:

Fun to test drive, a nightmare to own

Faults:

First off, I experienced difficulty with the trunk latch. Although I discovered later that this was a well-known issue with Jaguar, the dealership's service representative treated me as if I were nuts, then told me that there was probably nothing wrong with the car, but he'd go out of his way to check it anyway. After 3 trips to the dealer, the trunk latch was finally replaced with a working version.

About 8,000 miles later, the electrical system started going haywire. The vehicle was in the dealership for a week waiting for a part before they took a new central electrical unit from another car to repair mine. Availability of parts was a constant problem.

The grab handle inside the vehicle's rear passenger side inexplicably fell off at one point.

The most dangerous issue I experienced had to do with the transmission. At about 19,000 miles, the car stopped downshifting when accelerating up a hill. I called the dealership to schedule service the following business day. I asked if it was safe to drive the car, they said Yes. They were wrong. The automatic transmission failed almost completely. Thank goodness I could manually shift with the j-shift. At 18 months old, the entire transmission was replaced.

I just got rid of the vehicle and I could not be happier. The workmanship was so poor I had legitimate concerns about my safety and my family's safety.

General Comments:

This car was a blast to drive. Great acceleration and handling.

The ventilation in the backseat was poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2004

21st Jan 2004, 18:33

I've had similar problems, I also traded mine in and took a hammering on the trade price. Replaced with a Lexus GS300, have done 37,000km without a single incident.

2002 Jaguar X-Type Sport 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ40

Summary:

Overpriced for what you actually get

Faults:

Steering rack rubbing.

Door locks failing.

Boot lock problems.

Drive rough and erratic (especially auto g/box)

Both front seats rocked.

Rattles/poorly fitting interior.

Noisy shocks/suspension.

General Comments:

The car looks great, especially the Sport version and drives reasonably well, but it is seriously overpriced for the build quality.

Don't believe the mpg figures, you get nothing like those quoted by Jaguar, even on long journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2003

2002 Jaguar X-Type from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Great looking car, but I hope you don't need to drive it..

Faults:

At 6000 miles, the thermostat stuck on the freeway, it over-heated and blew the hoses.

At 11000 miles, the car would not go into reverse. Transmission had to be replaced.

At 16000 miles, the transmission is leaking and I'm bringing it back to the dealership for service.

This car has had many problems that have not been fixed since the day I purchased it, such as the gear shift clicking and moving when the brake is applied. Go figure that.

Also, the trunk never closes the properly. Too top this awful car off, The transmission slips at least once, every time you drive the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

28th Mar 2008, 20:07

I purchased my 2002 X-type two years ago. It's been to the Jaguar repair place, lets see, tomorrow will be 4 times. This time I have to have it towed from Staten Island.

Six months after purchase, the transmission was replaced and the trunk wouldn't close. This time as I'm driving, the red oil indicator light flashed and the car conks out. Towed to local repair station to get it off the street, now to Jersey.

Local mechanic suspects big engine trouble.

From your fellow Jaguar driver.

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance34500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A mechanical nightmare, will not buy another Jaguar, never again!

Faults:

Had to replace the gas tank after just 5000 miles.

Engine computer chip failed at 12000 miles.

Moon roof control has never functioned properly.

Excessive brake dust and had them replaced at 20000 miles.

Transmission started leaking at about 18000 miles and had to be replaced.

Clutch began sticking at 31000 miles and the car is now in the shop with a bad clutch and transmission. All gears failed while driving and had only neutral to coast safely to the shoulder of the freeway.

More excessive brake dust and another brake job planned.

General Comments:

The handling and performance are top notch. The comfort and style superb. The mechanical problems with the transmission, clutch and brakes have made the car an undesirable experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th July, 2003

23rd Dec 2003, 13:42

I agree! I also own a Jaguar X-Type and get bent tire rims if I hit a pothole! It costs about 2,000 to replace. I wonder what this vehicle was made for, perhaps to drive on polished glass?

10th Mar 2004, 11:22

2000 Jaguar XKR - Severe front tire wear, inside tread, resulting in one blow out and five sets of tires in 42,000 miles. Dealer's comment is "the car is out of alignment". Seems to be a lot more that this.

Computer does not remember presets and frequently gives problem warnings and messages which are not correct.

Why am I upset? The car was only $90K new. What would I expect from such a car? Anyone have similar problems?

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews