2002 Jaguar X-Type Reviews - Page 11 of 16

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance42250 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

Never this car again!

Faults:

The transmission abruptly went up on the highway at 42,500 miles, without warning. A dealer quoted me $6800 to replace it (it was supposedly 8 months after the 4-yr warranty was up).

I towed the car to an independent transmission repair shop and got a quote for $3575. The day after I left the car, I returned to the lot to get some personal effects, started the car and the transmission was working.

I don't know at this point if the transmission is truly bad, or if there is some computer or electrical problem with the 'gearbox fault' system. Any ideas???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Caveat emptor

Faults:

The transmission went out at 60,000 miles. The service department manager told me that though Jaguar does not recommend changing the transmission fluid because the transmission is "sealed," the fluid breaks down like any other car. Replacing the transmission is a common occurrence. Please speak with a certified service person about this before you have to deal with it.

General Comments:

I love the car. It's gorgeous, handles great, it's a joy to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

2002 Jaguar X-Type x type 2.5 2.5 liter gas from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance68587 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The X Type was a very good car

Faults:

The only problem we had was with the stereo and it was taken care of immediatly.

General Comments:

I am very happy with the car. There are a lot of lies here because Jaguar has a bumber to bumber warranty and there is no way anyone spent $20000 in three months for any car. I know a lot of people with this car and none of them had problems like those on this page.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2006

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A ripoff

Faults:

The transmission went out at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car started out as a childhood dream. Now it's a nightmare. My sun-roof has stopped working. A few of the lights in the car have shorts. It also makes a clicking sound when you press on the brake in park. And now my transmission has failed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

17th Feb 2007, 06:07

The clicking sound is what allows you to change the gear, a safety feature.

2002 Jaguar X-Type Sport 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Better than a 3/5 series or A4 3.0 sport I know I have owned them all

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Oustanding grip and cornering even after you run out of grip (which normally happens after your underwear needs changing)

Firm ride not how you expect a Jaguar, but not a complaint.

Good in straight lines as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2005

2002 Jaguar X-Type from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The X-Type is a superb car, especially compared to the 3 series BMW;

The road-holding is simply phenomenal;

The 2.5 with manual transmission is FAST;

Wood, leather, and the Jaguar elegance.

It cannot be confused for anything else on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

17th Dec 2005, 16:38

I totally agree with you!!!

27th Feb 2007, 08:37

You are lucky you have a had good luck with your car, you should read the comments from the rest of us... they are not good cars, especially with regards to the transmissions!! I hope you don't ever find out how bad they realy are!!

5th Aug 2007, 23:29

I have to agree with you about the Jag being fast, smooth, and nimble... handling is very sturdy and can't be compared to a car that isn't luxury. The 5 speed stick is the way to go!

2002 Jaguar X-Type 3.0 Sport 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36500 miles
Most recent distance38950 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Quick and fun little luxury car... a lot of bang for the buck... and great looks too!

Faults:

No problems at this point.

I have obtained the complete service record from the dealership and see a couple recurring issues I'll be watching for including driver seat frame "loosening" and some minor trim issues. The dealership did all the service on the car as it was a lease return and there is nothing indicating huge issues in the record.

General Comments:

My car is a 2002 Jaguar 3.0 Sport with some Arden extras (Arden is an aftermarket parts manufacturer from Germany). The car has full monochromatic paint and trim which really 100% improves the chrome look of the base model.

I've wanted a Jaguar since I was 12 and saw my neighbors E-Type. I'm now 40 and finally took the dive.

Purchased this car a month ago from a Jaguar dealership here in Phoenix. Car is a "Certified Preowned Jaguar" meaning its covered by a 6yr 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty. Best used car warranty available anywhere. That was a big selling point with me.

This car is a daily driver covering 44 miles one way each day (88 miles round trip).

Very comfortable to drive, the sport seats offer good support, but I'm having them fixed by a coachbuilder as I'm a big person and the side bolsters are a tad uncomfortable.

The wood and leather are hypnotizing. I've owned a Lexus and a Mercedes before and there is just no comparing the cars with the Jaguar. Short of a Bentley or Maybach I can't think of a more luxurious interior then the Jag.

Fuel mileage is 26mpg freeway commuting and 21mpg in city driving.

Standard stereo is a bit weak on sound. I'll be upgrading the speakers and adding a CD Changer. How can any car made in 2002 only have a cassette player???

Climate control system is excellent. I've noticed the fan varies in speed as I start out. At first I thought it was a problem, but another Jag owner told me it doesn't blow heavily until the air is at the temperature you set on the digital readout. A nice feature if you ask me especially here in the Arizona heat!

A lot of work to keep clean. Its British Racing Green, but the big issue is black brake dust on the nice 17" sport rims.

It'll be interesting to see how the reliability holds up. I've read both good and bad about the X-Type and hope I've gotten one of the "good ones". If not I'll know quick! At least with the 100k warranty I'm covered.

While a "baby" it's still a Jaguar. I've had people come up to me and say "can I please look inside your car... I love these cars...". The wood and leather just do something no other car can. When people hear I paid $19k for it they about faint!!!

Like I said I paid $19k for this car. The depreciation is huge so I'm planning on keeping it 5 years until its paid off (and out of warranty) then trading it in. Hopefully on another Jag if this one stays reliable.

I'm planning to buy an early 90's XJ-S next for fun and weekends. I'm still in love with Jaguars and one isn't enough!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

11th Jan 2007, 04:27

If you want to do away with the brake dust on your wheels, change them to ceramic pads like I did. Ceramic pads are wonderful and you only have to wipe your wheels about every 7-10 days depending on how you drive.

11th Jan 2007, 13:56

What is the cost of these, since ceramic brakes (obviously more than just pads) are a $7 - $10K option on Ferraris, Porsches, and the like.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews