1989 Jaguar XJ6 Sovereign 3.6 liter gasoline from North America

Summary:

A experience that you will not regret

Faults:

No specific problems; message centre sends occasional messages, which disappear when the car is switched off and do not reappear on restart.

A minor power steering leak was easily fixed.

General Comments:

The car is in almost "new" condition, even though it is 21 years old. The Sovereign is the upper end model of the XJ6, and carries the luxuries that have made Jaguar famous. In Alpine Green and creamy leather interior, one travels in surroundings rarely duplicated. When one considers the purchase price paid for a vehicle like this, and the intangible personal feelings that come from driving such a beautiful machine, most other cars become quite ordinary.

We have a 2005 X Type, which in itself is a great car, but a completely different drive. After owning 3 "Jags" I can only say, go get one, but read up on the "Car Survey" reports before you go looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2010

1989 Jaguar XJ6 Sovereign 3.6 AJ6 from North America

Summary:

This is what motoring is all about

Faults:

Heater does not work, no blower motor, no A/C - just dead.

Drivers side window is sluggish.

Sporadic warning lights, OK once underway.

Rear windows don't work.

Roof lining unglued in places.

General Comments:

I had just inexplicably sold my 1955 Bentley and was deeply sad that it had gone.

I decided to buy another large British car, and came across this low mileage Gold colored Jaguar with a full service history for $1500. It is in mint condition on the exterior, although the interior is slightly showing its age.

I have had two previous Jaguars, and had a very charged love/hate relationship with them, but this one I absolutely adore. Interesting mix of quality on the interior with a curious blend of leather/walnut and cheap plastic, but it does have a sunroof and picnic trays. It drives beautifully and rides impeccably. Performance is good once the motor is stirred into life, and it makes all the right noises.

It did take me an hour to get the oil filter off though, badly placed and horribly tight. The previous owner, an Austin Powers fan had named the Jag Goldmember, a name that is appropriate and has stuck. My advice to all jaded motorists is to go out and buy an older Jaguar - incredible value and enormous fun. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2009

2nd Aug 2009, 15:07

Hi.

I have recently bought a 1989 XJ6. She needs a bit of work, but she is my ENGLISH Classic; the wife's English as well.

If I made some small enhancements, will that get me shot by any purists? I really hope not.

Thanks for loving Jaguars.

Derick.

8th Sep 2014, 02:35

Hi, my name is Cliff. I own a 1989 Jaguar XJ6. It wasn't really in great shape. I bought it from a towing service. I work on my own automobiles, mostly shade tree General Motors all my life, but this car interested me, and I built on it and learned it, and can fix any problem I have with it.

I love the way this car handles. I'm even considering buying another one. I'd just like to say I love the car, and just go out and buy one.

1989 Jaguar XJ6 2.9 6 cylinder 2.9 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A future classic? Take out a 2nd mortgage though

Faults:

LED dash display flickered on and off.

Vehicle status monitor kept giving warnings that wern't true.

Rear electric windows only worked off driver's control panel.

Rear passenger's reading lights inop.

Poor starting.

Interior heating fan inop.

Clonking noise from rear suspension.

General Comments:

You'd think from the above list that this car was a complete disaster, but I actually quite liked it.

I had caught the Jag bug and decided to buy one and this came along for a grand and looked like it was in good nick-indeed the interior and body were fine, it was in British Racing Green with cream leather.

It was only run as a 3rd car so most of the problems wern't too annoying, apart from having no interior fan what so ever!

Performance was best described as 'you'll get there in the end', it had the longest gear lever action of any car I've ever owned, and handling whilst I'm sure was good in it's day, required a degree of praying if you came to a sharp bend.

I think these things were too complicated for their own good electrics wise as well, as things were always flashing on and off at random, and various things worked very intermittently. And I understand they were like this when new as well!

But, I still liked it, the ride was Rolls Royce like (you didn't even notice speed bumps), I think they have a timeless look and it's the only car I've owned which made me feel patriotic and wanting to play 'God Save the Queen' on the stereo!

However I run a BMW 735i Auto on an A-reg now as a 3rd car, and this has no electrical problems, corners better, and every single thing works on it.

Still love Jags though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

15th Mar 2009, 20:17

Hi. I'm 22 and I love Jags, although they are criminal on fuel consumption and unreliablity too, at times. But what else could you say, besides British Leyland? Chances are the same workers made this, who, would also make and send batches of minis to dealers with electrical wiring unfinished or none existent. I suppose they were complacent like a lot of them, but they learnt in the end, that goes for the managers and designers of the cars more than the workers.

11th Mar 2010, 09:53

If it isn't handling well, you should try changing the shocks.

Then again, it could be the Rear Level-Ride System (Also a shock problem.)

1989 Jaguar XJ6 2.9 straight 6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Can't help but like it

Faults:

Several instrument failures.

Erratic lighting.

Countless switch failures.

Misfire when cold.

Intermittent wipe packed up.

Drivers door dropping.

Rattling timing chain.

Uses a bit of oil these days (expected).

General Comments:

I bought this off a mate for £750 two years ago. Infuriating as it can be, I love this car.

It's drastically underpowered and it's criminally unreliable like a BMW just wouldn't be, but when you sink into the cosseting leather seats, select "D" on the J-gate transmission and waft effortlessly away, the sheer class, refinement and magic carpet ride just blow you away.

The handling is incredible for such a big car with no floatiness or wallowing when pressing on, even with 165k on the clock. The 2.9 engine is very sweet and refined, but overwhelmed by the sheer bulk of the car. Prodding the throttle sees the autobox working overtime to provide remotely decent acceleration. Once rolling though, the performance is effortless, and the car will cruise all day at anything up to 100 mph.

Fuel economy averages about 25 mpg which is okay for the size of car and considering that the engine has to be thrashed constantly to make it go anywhere.

Service costs are very low outside the dealer network, and mechanical reliability seems to be good. I just hope the people responsible for the electrics were fired a long time ago!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2001

1989 Jaguar XJ6 3.6 petrol from North America

Summary:

Style without price

Faults:

Head gasket.

Brakes.

VCM.

General Comments:

It's a very nice car, handling is good and the engine sounds good after all these years!

Except common problems, I don't see any problems with the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2001