1999 Jaguar XJR Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1999 Jaguar XJR 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz CLK

Summary:

I love it except for the troubled engine

Faults:

Engine entered into engine safe mode while in a cruise. Throttle body replaced.

Engine failed to respond while in a cruise. Throttle body replaced again.

Engine on restricted performance, engine replaced.

General Comments:

A genuine sport sedan with quiet stunning speed. If you are climbing steep roads, you can easily leave everybody behind once you step on the gas. But you have to watch out for traffic in front, because you will be approaching them real quick, quicker than you would think. Would suggest to order the Brembo brake package, so that you can decelerate the car faster.

Very responsive steering while on high speed cruise. The low body, reinforced suspension plus the 255/40/18 tires all add up to the stability of the car as it glues onto the road on high speed cruise. I've driven the BMW 540 sport, Mercedes CLK 430 and 500SL, they do not even come close to the Jag for performance in term of speed and roadholding. With the cars that I owned, the Boxster was the only car that gave me more handling confidence, however, the Boxster lacks torque and power. If you look for performance and quiet comfortable cruise, you should consider the Jag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2002

1999 Jaguar XJR V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance42200 miles
Previous carFord SHO

Summary:

Sleazy dealers, and very few of them. Superb automobile

Faults:

Wiper motor (warranty).

Front suspension bushings (warranty).

General Comments:

Superb acceleration, perfect stability/handling.

Not enough headroom, thanks to the unfortunately mandatory sunroof, which I loathe.

Parking brake handle placed so as to incessantly impinge on my thigh. Otherwise, a faultless, amazing car.

Have dealt with six different Jaguar dealers - all avaricious, uncaring, arrogant swine, with the single exception of the dealer in Denver, Colorado (which, alas, is 800 miles away).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2002

23rd Jan 2012, 13:19

I have an 1999 XJR over in the UK. I have had it for 7 years, and have done 104,000 miles in it.

After around 80,000 miles, the piston ring on the 1st cylinder has gone and there is low compression on the 3rd. The engine works fine when warmed up, but runs lumpy for the first 10 minutes, but when warmed up it runs very well. But for the first 10 minutes, the ECU cuts in to stop damage and limits the throttle significantly.

Overall however, it runs very well.

1999 Jaguar XJR V8 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance44700 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Faults:

After two years nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This car has been excellent. We purchased our car in 1999 and were a little skeptical about buying a Jaguar because of previous models we had owned and had problems with. Our first was a 1979 Jaguar Sovereign which was an absolute nightmare! We sold it in 1981. After numerous other cars we returned to Jaguar again in 1990 with a Jaguar XJ12 Vanden Plas. This car proved to be much more reliable, but modern conveniences, fit and finish, as well as the technology were still in the seventies. In 1996 we bought a BMW 535. Initially we loved the car but began having lots of problems, I think we were just unlucky and had bought a lemon.

So it was back to Jaguar. It is amazing how this car company has come so far in such a short time. I give Ford a thumbs up for investing the much needed money into a automobile manufacturer that desperately needed help.

The results are amazing. This car not only competes on an even keel with other automobiles in this segment, I personally believe it has out-done the other luxury car manufacturers. Friends of ours have a Lexus GS400, although it is a very nice car, after being in the Jaguars cabin the Lexus seems very cold. The high use of plastic in this market segment, and in vehicles of this calibre, somewhat shocks me. (No intended offense to Lexus owners, they are very nice cars.)

The Jaguars interior is very nicely appointed, and fit and finish quality is outstanding. The use of plastic is almost obselete unlike many other vehicles in this price range. The birds-eye maple treatment on the dashboard is beautiful. The ergonomics are very nice although the instrument cluster is set a little too deep into the dash, it can be difficult to see in direct sunlight sometimes.

The engine is an absolute dream. The transmission (which is actually built by Mercedes-Benz) purrs and shifts gear like silk. The super charged V8 engine is magnificent. By depressing the "sport" button this car feels as though it could literally become airborne. Even when pushed hard, the car changes gear with ease, quickly working its way up to mind boggling speeds in mere seconds.

One disadvantage to having so much power can be the shock of the acceleration to the non-assuming driver. This car moves so fast, it takes some concentration when passing on highways because if one weren't careful, when the gas pedal is pressed the car could launch into the car in front. What a wonderful "problem" to have in a luxury sports sedan!

The legroom in the rear is somewhat sparse. (this problem can be remedied by purchasing the Vanden Plas V8 with the super charged engine). Our kids our grown so we don't mind, the legroom in the front is more than ample.

The car is appointed with simple niceities such as a heated windshield, heated trunk, heated front and rear seats, sun shades/blinds, rain sensing wiper (which is one large wiper, not two), traction control, voice activated telephone system, 6CD changer etc... Finally Jaguar has caught up with the times and has a legitimate contender to its European and Japanese counter-parts.

Jaguar has built a magnificent machine here. From it's graceful and elegant lines, to its ready to scream super charged V8 engine, this car is a dream come true. It would be the perfect answer for the couple with kids who'd really rather drive a Porsche 911. Jaguar has built the perfect no-compromise sedan.

It's really nice to own a vehicle that doesn't demand everyones attention as you drive by, but the real automobile enthusiasts out there know what "XJR" really means.

Now that Jaguar appears to have rid itself of it's reliability plagued history of the past, not only would I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone who has the means to buy one, I think they'd be almost foolish to even consider anything else.

The only advice I could give to prospective buyers is: If you can't really afford one, don't look at them, and God forbid, never test drive one. Keep saving until you know you have the correct change, if you don't, your going to walk away very broke, but hey, at least you'll have a smile on your face on the drive home!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

6th Jan 2005, 06:08

I was stunned to hear that the repair cost for the XJR's transmission was so expensive. I couldn't believe that a vehicle part would cost so much. I called my local Jaguar dealership and they confirmed that it could cost up to $15,000.00.

25th Feb 2006, 17:53

Curious to know why you moved to the E55 - the XJR and the E55 share the same transmission. So you have bought your same transmission with a different engine / body. now that doesn't make sense.

1999 Jaguar XJR from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24200 miles

Summary:

A car with incomparable performance and elegance, sold by uppity churls

Faults:

Suspension bushings replaced (warranty).

Wiper motor replaced (warranty).

General Comments:

Car is amazingly capable of traversing huge daily distances without incurring driver fatigue. Recently went 1050 miles in 10-hour drive (including gas and lunch stops), arrived refreshed.

Wish the dealers were not such arrogant, avaricious swine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

4th May 2007, 04:01

Come to England, you are treated like royalty when you take one of these for a service.

I get called 'sir'

Free courtesy car

Mine is washed and valeted

Coffee and biscuits served while you chat

I'm sure that if I asked, the receptionist would perform various sex acts to enhance my 'customer relationship'

This is unheard of in the UK!

5th Sep 2007, 11:53

I guess, now I have to fly my Jaguar XJR to England to have that excellent service hahaha. I love my Jaguar XJR! It is an awesome car and as long as the car is maintained and taken care of, it is going to run smoothly as it is. Things do get old though.Anyway, that comment about Jaguar dealership in England really cracks me up. The dealer service departments in Maryland, USA are kind of snobbish, and I wish they learn more people and communication skills.

1999 Jaguar XJR from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The fastest, smoothest, quietest, most seductive car I've driven in 25 years of owning "supercars." Makes Mercedes and BMW models with which it "competes" seem like oafs in comparison.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews