2000 Jaguar XJR Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Jaguar XJR 4.0 Supercharged from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Zafira

Summary:

Utterly delightful in every respect

Faults:

This car was previously owned by a major PC manufacturer's finance director from nearly new, prior to that it was a Jaguar show car/demonstrator. It has therefore been looked after impeccably with no expense spared.

As far as faults are concerned, I have had a battery replacement (wear and tear, it was 7 years old) and a new wheel bearing. These go after about 80 - 100K and need to replaced right away if you hear a noise... and I mean right away, you risk a suspension rebuild if it is ignored (cost £180)

Apart from that the car drives and looks brand new.

General Comments:

I bought this, my 25th car (I have previously owned all sorts) as my business partner has one and I fell in love with his. I would love to own an XKR, but with a young family this cannot happen.

What can I say? For sublime comfort, every extra imaginable, leather heated seats, quality, reliablity, and sheer 'feel good' factor, I have never owned a car like it.

My car cost £8.5K. I bought it at just under 7 years old and have the original sales receipt for £51K. These are so well built that a hundred thousand miles is peanuts if they are serviced regularly and looked after, but depreciation is savage.

Performance is quite frankly astounding, and one of the most likable factors is that the vehicle is utterly innocuous. I am very surprised that they are not used more for getaway cars. 0-60 in 5.3 seconds is still quick, but that is not the issue with an XJR, it is the accelleration from 50, 60, 70 up to the limit that is amazing and totally fuss free.

As a point to point car on twisty roads, the XJR is not the beast to drive, it is too big and unwieldy, however it is in its element on long straghts and motorways. That is not to say they do not handle well because they do, it just feels a bit big.

Interior appointment is superb with quality oozing from every leather lined pore. Just sit back, look at the beautifully crafted dashboard and croon along to Beethoven (Motorhead in my case) whilst zapping the poor sod in their dull eurobox on the outside lane.

Need I say more. These cars are woefully underrated and will become future classics. If you have one, look after it. These are the last of the gorgeous classic Jag shape, as the new model has been subject to the usual Brussels standards and the shape has been diluted.

Hope you enjoyed my comments.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

2000 Jaguar XJR RHD 4.0 V8 SC from South Africa

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 SC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carJaguar Volvo C 70 Coup

Summary:

This car doesn't need to prove anything!

Faults:

Steering problem. - Fixed with new set of tires.

General Comments:

This is my first Cat. (Jag)

Will certainly buy some more. Different, Stunning!

Mind blowing performance, but discreet.

Sound system can be better. (I am used to Volvo sound systems{Pro-logic}

The CAT is as solid as can be!

Handles South African roads well.

It's a big car, but whilst driving it shrinks and do whatever I want with no hesitation.

My age? 27

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

26th Jan 2007, 01:24

You think the sound system could be better? and your used to volvo pro-logic?

I used to have a Volvo and the sound system was also pro-logic whilst it is OK it is nothing special and not particularly powerful.

My friend owns an xjr and the sound system is streets ahead in terms of quality and power.

2000 Jaguar XJR R 4.0 V8 supercharged petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 supercharged petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47500 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

The ultimate every-day transport

Faults:

Steering column electric adjuster became erratic.

No other faults.

General Comments:

The consummate all-rounder. Devastating, yet totally effortless acceleration, stunning handling, handsome looks, every toy imaginable, and subtle enough not to draw unwanted attention from the police or villains.

It's every bit as fun and involving to drive as my old M5, and maybe even a bit quicker with it, although I would prefer a manual gearbox on my Jag. In terms of interior quality and design though, the Jaguar walks it by a country mile. No matter how bad a day I've had, I slip into its cosseting seats, ease up the stereo a notch, and instantly feel good.

I have never driven anything that combines comfort, refinement, awesome performance and handling ablility like this.

This car is an example to luxury car makers everywhere. It has the engineering quality of a Mercedes, the dynamics of a BMW, the interior opulence and character of a Rolls Royce, and the acceleration of a supercar. Coupled with all this is character which German cars of all marques just cannot seem to offer.

And for those childish moments, I take great pleasure in bating (and obliterating) hot hatches off the lights. 0-60 in 5 seconds and torque which could pull down a fair sized building are novelties that don't wear off quickly.

This car is wonderful!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1st Mar 2007, 10:25

I just bought a 2000 XJR (x308) model, the ride is refined, but when you put your toe down then it turns into a supercar, the performance is nothing short of what people say. Take a look at youtube and see it for yourself. Without a doubt this is the finest car I have ever owned, capturing comfort and performance when needed, the XJR provides this magical balance which is challenging to find in any other car.

4th May 2007, 09:29

Buy one and catapult yourself into the realms of embarrassing porsche owners. My mate has one and he overtook a porsche at 130 ish with a family and dog on board.

2000 Jaguar XJR 4.0 supercharged from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carJaguar XJS

Summary:

Gentleman with rowdy edge

Faults:

Total addiction to power surges for the driver... :-)

General Comments:

It is an amazing car if you're willing to cough up this type of money for a car. It is individualistic and has more attitude than the very smooth classic (and excellent) XJ8. The normal XJ8 has all the power you'll ever need, but using the XJR brings a smile to your face. And I own a sports motorcycle, which means I am not easily impressed with cars' power.

The interior is absolutely sumptuous and warm. The normal XJ8 is a bit more comfortable - too comfortable for me, it made me feel a bit old. The XJR is just a fun car. A little gentleman with a very rowdy edge. :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

16th Jan 2005, 21:38

You just hve not owned this long enough, please hold your comments until the timing chain breaks or the steering rack fails. These are little issues that have changed my view of Jaguar... A nice car to look at and maybe drive, but never own.

23rd Aug 2006, 09:06

I feel I have waited long enough to comment on reliability. Bought at 6 years old, now 12 years old, parked out in the tropics, my XJR has been wonderful. Fast, discreet, relaxing, inspiring, comfortable.

It is expensive to run, and the wheelspin control system is sometimes a little over-enthusiastic, but apart from a leaky steering rack and duff stereo, it has been trouble free!

I'd recommend the Pirelli Pilot Sports which add a delightful combination of sharpness, stability and comfort to the package.

23rd May 2012, 18:16

Cobblers, mine has 175K on it and it's mint. My mate has 220K on his and so's his... just normal servicing works.

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 6 reviews