1999 Jaguar XK8 Reviews

1999 Jaguar XK8 Convertible 4.0L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance65333 miles

Summary:

I love it, but am tired of these mechanical problems

Faults:

Bad relay for oxygen sensor.

I've had to replace the battery every 2 to 3 years.

I had to replace the alternator and battery.

General Comments:

I have been told by a mechanic that the battery problem is caused by a crimp in the hood frame seals at the top of the windows.

A second mechanic said once the engine is turned off, there is no drain on the battery from the windows not reaching the top of the seal.

I wonder if anyone else has ever had this problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2011

1999 Jaguar XK8 Convertible 4.0 litre injection from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre injection Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

The best Jaguar I have owned

Faults:

Nothing yet, but I am aware of the problems that go with this car.

General Comments:

I have owned several Jaguars over the last 40 years, starting with a 3.4 mk1, then a 3.8 mk2, a 1966 S type, and the last one was a 4.2 mk2 XJ6; all had their problems, but as you get used to them, they become more and more fun.

After 20 years of kids and mortgage, I have managed to get back to my favourite marque, I now own a Jaguar XK8, wow! What a car!! Of all the Jags I've owned, this one seems to turn heads like no other, and I really don't care if it goes wrong, it's another challenge that I will enjoy putting right.

I just can't stop driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2010

30th Apr 2010, 16:06

I also have a Jaguar XK8 convertible. It's my first Jag. Have had no problems with my baby. Love it.

1999 Jaguar XK8 V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance148000 miles

Summary:

People will envy you

Faults:

Battery problems being that no other battery fits except an interstate.

Restricted performance costs a whole lot to fix. It means the car is in safe mode and horsepower and speed are hindered.

Very small in the cab.

Anything you need for the car will leave a huge hole in your pocket. If you want it done right.

General Comments:

Great chick magnet.

Amazingly smooth ride. Fast and a lot of power.

Great sound system and safety.

Overall I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2009

26th Jan 2011, 19:25

Motorcraft BXT 49 battery fits the '99 XK8 convertible. It has 850 cold cranking amps and has a 36 month warranty.

21st Nov 2011, 22:53

The only way to economically own a car like this, or most German or Italian marques, is to work on them yourself.

1999 Jaguar XK8 Convertible 4.0 V8 5-speed ZF from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 5-speed ZF Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

It's a keeper!

Faults:

One seal was replaced where the top meets the window ($90).

The car came with only one remote and one key. A new remote and key from the dealer was about $400.

The power antenna must had to be repaired (<$200).

After over a year of trouble-free motoring, one of the timing chain guide rails failed causing one or more of the tensioners to fail, so the engine had to be replaced at 65,000 miles. The new engine has updated timing components that are not supposed to fail. This job would have been $12,000 if it weren't for the Select Edition warranty.

General Comments:

This is my grandmother's car. The car has been great with the exception of the timing chain failure. Fortunately, this was covered under the Select Edition warranty. She was aware when she got the car that this problem exists with Jaguars of this generation. There are usually some indicators before engine failure such as clicking noises or rough startups. She experienced none of these warning signs.

If buying one of these cars, I would strongly recommend having the "third generation" timing parts installed as a preventive measure if it has not already been done. The preventive work costs $2,800 at a Jaguar dealer versus $12,000 for engine replacement.

The interior of this car is cozy and has a lot of nice features. The materials are top-shelf and the controls are well-designed. The Jag is very fun to drive and looks most dashing in British Racing Green with the Camel top.

I feel that this car is much safer for my grandmother than the Mustang convertible that she had before. The Jaguar has been a very reliable car with the one exception and is still her favorite car that she has ever had. The dealer, Jaguar Hilton Head, has been wonderful in helping her with the car and provided an S-Type 4.2 loaner without delay when the car had to stay overnight unexpectedly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2006

17th Aug 2006, 14:48

During which model year did the "3rd Generation timing components" become a running production change?

21st Aug 2006, 21:50

According to our research, it was 2005. The "2nd generation" components came out in 2000 and are supposed to last longer than the 1st gen., but they're still not as good as the 3rd gen. components.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 5 reviews