1986 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1986 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L gas from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired299000 kilometres
Most recent distance314000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome truck past its prime

Faults:

The Jeep was bought at auction in a deplorable state.

Engine seems to run fine, long cranking time, but never fails.

Seats have no support left what so ever.

Radiator had to be immediately replaced.

Clutch slave cylinder replaced due to massive leakage.

Bottom of vehicle nearly completely rusted out.

The vent system is stuck on defrost, but the a/c still works.

Lost rear wheel on highway due to a completely destroyed bearing (my fault, the jeep stayed straight even while skidding on the rear end). Had to replace the rear end.

The lift gate is now seized.

General Comments:

I would love to have a Cherokee with about 200000km on it.

Mine went to rust and shatters from the previous owner.

Very fun to fool around in, tons of power, (top speed of 170km/h in this junker still!) and even with a broken locker in the front, it still can get through the snow.

My Jeep has gone past its prime and it needs to find a parking spot in the bush.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2004

5th Jun 2004, 21:56

I have a 1989 Cherokee and at 160000 miles I lost the right rear wheel as well.

I also had to replace the slave cylinder due to major leaking.

The six cylinder in all older Jeeps have a long cranking time. It is just how they run.

6th Jul 2004, 12:23

You wrote "The vent system is stuck on defrost, but the a/c still works."

I had this problem, and I found that there is a black bottle hidden in the tip of the front bumper, on the passenger side.

If the small hose is not connected, or the bottle is damaged, the air will only come through defrost.

I fixed one jeep with duct tape, and another by reconnecting the hose.

21st Jul 2005, 23:07

Your info on the bottle and hose was right on the money. My 2001 Jeep Cherokee Sport was stuck on defrost, but the A/C still worked. There was a big crack in the hose in the engine compartment so I duct taped it closed and the vents work again...thanks!!!

16th Oct 2005, 17:38

I had the same problem with my 91 jeep stuck in defrost. The hose leading to the front right bumper runs directly past the battery and was eaten by battery acid. I taped it shut with foil tape and the problem was fixed. Thank you so much for taking time to write your advice, you really saved me a lot of troubleshooting. -Ross in Austin, Texas.

1986 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired192500 miles
Most recent distance192700 miles

Summary:

A Wonderful Vehicle to Keep

Faults:

There are minor things which have not worked. The driver's seat belt quit retracting; however, that is going to be replaced.

General Comments:

I've had this vehicle for a month now and nothing has gone wrong with it. The previous owner treated it with kid gloves and there isn't even any wear on the carpet. It rides good, changes gears smoothly and the the power steering is the best I've ever had. It is a great vehicle and I can't wait until summer to use it in the mountains.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

1986 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A good starter jeep or fixer upper

Faults:

The rear end went out around 170k miles.

The clutch has gone out about every 2 years since I got it.

The starter needed replaced due to a MAP sensor failure.

General Comments:

Overall, I was very pleased with my Jeep. It ran very well and I got a lot of miles out of it during my college years.

It managed to survive pizza delivery with very few issues, besides the clutch and rear-end.

I was in a rear-end accident a few years back and the Jeep held up very well. The guy who hit me totaled his car and the jeep only needed the rear bumper replaced.

The 2.5L engine is a little small, but does very well. It is still running strong and has pretty good pick-up with the manual transmission. You could easily get a good jump on one of the trendy Honda's or Nissan's that all the kids drive these days.

The transmission in this particular model is a little weak. It's built for light duty. Driving around in the snow and on the hills in the mountain town I live in eventually proved to be the death of it. I have met many people who swapped out the transmission with a heavier duty one and switch the gearbox to a 231 and have no problems with this model. The clutch problems that I had in this Jeep have been linked back to the failing transmission.

The 4x4 in the Jeep also did very well. It got around in the snow and ice with no problems and did very well off-road on the way to camping trips.

If you are looking for an older, cheaper jeep to fix up, this model would be a good bet. The chrome package on it is a nice touch. It also sits higher stock than any of the Jeep Cherokees built after 1989.

Overall, if you are looking for a first vehicle or a Jeep that is inexpensive to get you around, then this would be a pretty decent vehicle to start with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2003

1986 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113085 miles
Most recent distance118857 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Great all around car that holds it's value

Faults:

Neutral safety switch is not working right. Must shift in to neutral to start.

General Comments:

Seats are not very comfortable for long trips. Quick. Large enough to haul what you need to. But small enough to park in a compact car parking spot. This is the third Jeep Cherokee I have owned. There is enough after market parts for you make it a one of a kind car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

1986 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer 2.8 V6 (GM) from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 V6 (GM) Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired228000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C10

Summary:

A good, cheap 4x4

Faults:

The rear end was bad when I bought it. It cost about $700 dollars to replace.

The computer is bad and has been bypassed.

The front brake pads and rotors have gone out.

Some minor problems have occurred (window won't roll all the way down, broken latch on glove box, ect.)

General Comments:

Although I have put a lot of money in it, it is still a cheap 4x4.

It is by no means fast, but it has decent torque.

It is definitely a good looking SUV.

Four wheel drive is solid and extremely rugged. I would have no qualms taking this machine off the beaten path.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

30th Aug 2003, 22:56

I wrote this review and it is actually a five speed manual. I don't know why I put automatic. All other information is correct though.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews