1987 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 kilometres
Most recent distance258000 kilometres

Summary:

Tough, reliable truck... and damn sexy too

Faults:

U joint failed, $100 CAD to fix.

Exhaust system replaced (my fault.. I destroyed it while 4x4ing with my friends. $500 CAD to fix.

General Comments:

I got this for free from a friend who thought it would only last a couple of months... that was 4 years ago. This thing is very reliable, the whole time I've owned it the only thing to go wrong was a U joint failing on me. Didn't leave me stranded though as I just removed the rear Drive shaft and stuck in 4wd to get home.

I abuse this thing all the time and it keeps on going. I would buy another for sure.

Downside is fuel cost. its not terrible, but these days it can get pricey using it as a daily driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2006

1987 Jeep Cherokee Wagoneer 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A Requiem For a Great Jeep

Faults:

For it's age, very little went wrong with this vehicle. It was getting harder to get it in and out of 4WD, so I had the transfer-case rebuilt at about 124,000 miles. I replaced a transmission cooling line at about 150,000 miles. Other than that, it was just routine stuff; brakes, tires. etc.

General Comments:

This is sort of a requiem for this Jeep. Someone stole it about a month ago.

This was my third Cherokee. I had an '84 about 15 years ago, but didn't like the GM V6 it came with. I bought a 1990 in 1997, but was convinced to trade it in on a Blazer a few years later. I never liked the Blazer, so I got rid of it and bought this one. Cherokees handle better than most SUV's of their generation, and with some normal maintenance, they run forever.

I just put a deposit on a 1991 with 237,000 miles. Unless this one gets stolen too, I'll probably get another 60,000 - 70,000 miles out of it.

For the money, a Cherokee is hard to beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2006

6th Feb 2008, 11:43

I've had my Jeep for about a year and a half. It had about 190,000 miles on it, now it has 274,000 miles on it. It just seems to keep going. It has a few problems, but nothing that can't be fixed.

1987 Jeep Cherokee Wagoneer 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A Requiem

Faults:

I had the transfer case rebuilt around 114,000 miles. It was still working, but getting harder to shift in and out of 4WD.

Other than that, all repairs were routine (brakes, tires, etc).

General Comments:

This is sort of a requiem for this car. It was stolen a few weeks ago.

This was my third Cherokee. They've all been comfortable, long wearing vehicles. I actually traded a newer, lower mileage, S10 Blazer for this (I hated the Blazer) one.

I'll be buying another old Cherokee this weekend. For the money they're hard to beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2006

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2 miles
Previous carAMC S15 Jimmy (Lemon)

Summary:

Nothing like it, best car I have ever owned

Faults:

Engine replaced 178,000. One cylinder shot, very low pressure and severe blow by.

Trouble with exhaust manifold gaskets (replaced 3). Taken care of by dealer.

Replaced driver side seat twice.

Minor transmission problem new, fixed, no further problems.

Vibration Dampener failed prior to engine replacement. Very hard to detect problem.

No other major problems.

General Comments:

I have over 230,000 miles on this car (I am the original owner). This car is all that one can expect from a mid-size SUV 4x4. My sixteen year old daughter is now driving this car, the same one we brought her home in in 1989. Transmission still going strong. Interior is the original and still in good shape. I have gone everywhere one can go within reason with this car. We survived a collision with a cow in 1990 (New Years Day) no frame damage, some major front and side body damage. No one except for the cow injured. Believe it not the car was not totaled was easy to repair and still looks relatively good given the years and high mileage. All of the bells and whistles that came with the car, except for the power antenna, are still working. The best car I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2006

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews