1987 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1987 Jeep Cherokee Limited AMC 4.0L I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission AMC 4.0L I6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles

Summary:

If you can find an original AMC XJ with decent miles buy it you'll love it

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with the car that wasn't my fault. I took it mudding one time and broke the transmission coolant lines off of it which ultimately burnt up the transmission. It cost me $1600 to have it rebuilt. Much to my surprise the transmissions in all Cherokee XJ's it built by Toyota!!!

At 230,000 miles I ran it too hard and the valves began to float at 3,000 RPM and now it has rod knock. I never rebuilt it I just bough another Jeep.

General Comments:

Wonderfully reliable in its day. Towed, hauled, and plowed snow without a waver. It still plows a foot of snow in low range with a knock and floating valves. Leather seats were to die for, but all the motors in the power windows and locks and what not bit the dust as it gained age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2004

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance280000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Solid as a ROCK!

Faults:

Most recently, a problem with the EGR system and possibly the computer. Finally failed an emissions test! (just the NOx part of the test)

The alternator failed about 2,000km ago.

The A/C stopped working long ago and original radio never worked. Replaced with CD player, never bothered getting A/C fixed.

Had to have the wheel bearing done due to not using my 4x4 often enough.

Other than that normal wear and tear only. Serpentine belt broke, plugs, wires, distributor cap, shocks (twice!) brakes, emergency brake, rear brake lines.

Oh yes! Transmission mount!! That rubber thing the transmission sits on. Try finding that for a Peugeot transmission very tough to find.

I have never had to replace the clutch yet!

General Comments:

It's been an excellent overall vehicle. Very solid, great for rough roads and I feel very safe in it.

Rust is starting to get a hold on it, but the mechanically it is solid! I had a Dodge Caravan before the Jeep and what a money pit it was!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2004

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance214000 miles

Summary:

An outstanding vehicle

Faults:

Rear differential gears replaced.

Oil leaks became significant after about 195000 miles.

General Comments:

This jeep has been a joy to own.

Still, after 214000 miles, the factory clutch has never been replaced!

Finding a good cup holder that dosen't interfere with the parking brake is a challenge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

9th Jan 2006, 04:47

Where did you get your cup holder? I have been looking for one.

1987 Jeep Cherokee Learado 4.0 inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 inline six Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired169000 miles
Most recent distance171000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

If you don't get a lemon you'll get your bang for your buck!

Faults:

After I purchased the vehicle I had to replace upper and lower ball joints.

I had to replace both front axle joints.

The header gasket blew at 170,000 miles.

The brake lines were junk.

The transmission and transfer case mounts had to be replaced.

The power steering had a severe leak on the steering box.

And last, but not least the coil and leaf spring were junk.

General Comments:

The Cherokee seemed to still have plenty of life left in it even though it had such high miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L Inline Six from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Inline Six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired177430 kilometres
Most recent distance272000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

A very reliable and durable vehicle although it has the gas mileage of a small V8

Faults:

Exhaust manifold cracked at 180,000 kilometres.

Replaced alternator at 220,000.

General Comments:

Very reliable and easy to work on vehicle.

Not the most cabin room, but very functional.

Handles excellently and has plenty of torque.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

1987 Jeep Cherokee Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

In for the long haul

Faults:

Rear differential seal replaced 3 times.

Clutch replaced at 200k.

Paint / clearcoat is flaking terribly on front and top - looks bad.

Sensor malfunctioned - replaced. (car would start and idle extremely high)

Interior is excellent.

Left / Right windows - if fully rolled down they do not come up (never replaced mechanism).

Same engine, same transmission can you believe it?

New radiator at 220k.

At 245k, has an oil leak, not sure of the problem yet, but may just "wait and see".

Very good maintenance record.

General Comments:

Excellent car!

I do not off-road much, but for a reliable and strong car, this Jeep has been great. The previous owner took immaculate care of the car, so his hard work paid off for me.

This car's interior is practically factory-new, not a rip or tear, no wear except for the driver side floormat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th May, 2003

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L In-line 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L In-line 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 miles
Most recent distance442000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

A great truck for the serious off-roader

Faults:

Most recently I had to replace the starter motor.

The distributor required a seal to keep from getting water inside while off-road.

The bearing housing in the DANA 35 axle cracked and had to be replaced. The fix was not that difficult and only required new bearings and seals.

General Comments:

This truck has been very reliable. It is very easy to make off-road modifications to the truck and performs quite well on the trails.

While the truck is not the fast, it is still very comfortable even with a 5 inch lifted suspension and aftermarket shocks.

Overall, this truck is the best all-purpose vehicle I have ever owned. It performs excellently on-road or off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

1987 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 L 6-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 L 6-cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Great 4 wheel drive and a good value

Faults:

We replaced the clutch twice.

We had to replace the transmission. When the dealer replaced the clutch they did not refill the transmission with oil which caused the problem.

We replaced the water pump.

We replaced the alternator.

We replaced the radiator.

Water leaks around windshield.

General Comments:

What can we say, we love our jeep. It is the best vehicle we have ever owned. It's utility and reliability have served us very well. It's not fancy or fast, but it does a great job of getting us where we need to go.

We live on a mountain dirt road and have to deal with muddy and icy conditions. Our Jeep is amazing in its ability to get us in and out in the winter.

The inline 6 cylinder motor has run great for 200,000 miles and we have never touched it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

19th Dec 2004, 20:59

The straight 6 is the most mechanically sound motor ever built.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews