2000 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 22 of 31

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

Suits me perfectly!!

Faults:

Both front hub/wheel bearing assemblies.

A resistor that controls the speeds on the heater controls.

One U-Joint.

Replaced an oxygen sensor.

Had my air conditioner recharged.

General Comments:

I have recently had to make some repairs, but I think most vehicles that turn the 100km mark will generally need some repairs.

This is a noisy vehicle and not too refined. (Sort of like me!)

I still love my Jeep. It goes anywhere with ease.

The seats are comfortable and I like the type of ride you get with the Jeep.

Gas mileage is typical. With the new Oxygen sensor I hope it will improve a bit.

Overall I love my Jeep. Great for my Canadian winters. Great heater in it. Always starts well in the cold. Overall a very reliable automobile.

The only complaint I have with it is the noise level. This is a noisy vehicle and this does get on my nerves sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2005

14th Jan 2006, 20:14

I agree with the noise, but getting the tunes cranked helps! Still the best vehicle I've owned.

2000 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0 Liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carChrysler 300M

Summary:

A comfortable and reliable vehicle for the individual seeking some off road experience

Faults:

Brake Lights.. Housing assembly printed circuit board in tail light assembly combined with lamp holders defective.

Rear axle seal just discovered leaking.

General Comments:

Very practical. A serious off road contender. High noise factor (road noise) is due to drive train configuration and can lead to some discomfort on long trips. This is the trade off on the four wheel drive versions. Although noisy, mechanically sound and reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2005

2000 Jeep Cherokee Grand from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Faults:

I have experienced the dreaded noise on the lock, luckily it was my front passenger side. Yes, I spent the 200.00 to get it fixed. It also caused shorts and drained my battery to the tune of buying two in nine months till we decided to get the door fixed.

I am experiencing the brake light problem, the lights look fine, but after reading the posts here will have to take a better look at the housing. Good Luck Jeepers!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2005

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance83300 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

I love my Jeep Cherokee Sport more than any other car I've ever owned

Faults:

The control for the passenger window goes out occasionally, although it can always been put down from the driver's side control.

Door pins slowly loosen and if not periodically tightened I am afraid the door would pop off the hinge.

General Comments:

As a driver you sit up high and can see very well from all sides.

Drives smoothly both on the freeway and through gravel and pot holes.

Back seat is not very comfortable for passengers, but when it is laid down there is lots of storage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles
Previous carNA NA

Summary:

Lots of FUN!

Faults:

At over 100,000 Miles in five years, here is what went wrong; Off the lot the steering wheel was not aligned. The passenger side power window does not always work. The low level sensor inside the washer reservoir does not work. The AC compressor and lines have been replaced. The crank shaft position sensor has been replaced. It has recently started to stall while idling. The driver's seat is starting to rip. And someone put the fuel filter INSIDE the gas tank!

General Comments:

I have installed a 4" suspension lift, mud flaps, tow hitch, and auxiliary back up lights. I replaced the factory radio with a CD player and a 12 disk changer. I have a CB hard wired between the sun visors. BF Goodrich AT give me plenty of traction to actually play with my toy off road!

It does have poor gas mileage. (15 MPG)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

21st May 2005, 15:39

Sounds like you drove it into the ground... or you just purchased a lemon.

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 I6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

I find the Jeep Cherokee a well built, reliable vehicle that's fun to drive.

Faults:

Air conditioner evaporator leaked and had to be replaced. A+ to Lenihan Jeep in NJ for their exceptional service (covered the repair without question).

General Comments:

The Cherokee is a great "local" run-around car. It has great power and is fun to drive. I am disappointed with the excessive noise at speeds above 60mph. At 85+ it's almost deafening (OK, so you shouldn't drive 90 anyway). It just does not seem like a vehicle for the highway. I'm guessing that the noise comes from the front drive shaft vibration. Otherwise it's the perfect size vehicle, built like a tank (in a good way). Accelerates and handles great. A larger than 20 gallon fuel tank would have been nice since MPG is not great (17 mpg).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2005

12th Mar 2005, 23:59

I agree with you, the Cherokee does look better with a lift. I installed a 4" suspension lift and BF Goodrich AT Tires. I get about 15 MPG. I think the noise also has to do with the box shape of the vehicle. I love my Jeep.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 106 reviews