2000 Jeep Cherokee sport 4.0L from North America


In bad shape


I have a 2000 jeep cherokee sport, thought it was my dream car. after my warranty everything seemed to go wrong. after reading all the comments I don't feel like I am making it up. I too have the same death wobble. it all started a year ago, with just a bump. I would hit a bump the right way and my steering wheel would shake uncontrollably. I took to dealership they said it was a steering wheel damper. As of this year the wobble has become consistent. thankfully I have a mechanic for a husband, not with jeep, he put new stabilizer, drag link, and track bar. Still not fixed, so next guess new tires. We will see and I will inform.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2006

15th Feb 2007, 12:50

I had the same problem twice, new tires or a rotation fixed it both times, can't beat this SUV.

2000 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 liter from North America


Great for the price


I have replaced the exhaust twice.

I had to replace the radiator, under warranty.

Minor rust here and there on the door panels.

My front bumper has rusted completely.

General Comments:

This car has been terrific. I also put a 3 inch lift on it and have 31 inch tires on it. I love the look and it handles as a lifted vehicle would. The only problem for me is gas mileage due to the lift. That is why I am looking at selling it. At first I didn't like how it rode stock, but than I really gave it a try and it grew on me. The seats are comfortable and for the price I paid I definitely got my moneys worth. Probably the best engine made. These straight six engines are very reliable. I had to replace the fan belt after 149,000. Overall I think this car is great for what you pay. Its cheap, but reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2006

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 6 cylinder, 4L from North America


This car has serious front end problems and will cost you a fortune in maintenance


Death wobble in both my 1989 and 2000 Cherokee.

Both triggered at speeds over 40 mph.

The 89 could be triggered at speeds alone and the 2000 is typically triggered by hitting bumps.

Problem not solved, but based on entries, very prevalent.

General Comments:

This car has been a nightmare.

Unable to fix the problem in the 1989 Cherokee limited, it was sold for parts.

Thinking it was a fluke problem, like idiots, we got a 2000 Cherokee sport and the same terrible vibration exists today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2006

3rd Jul 2007, 16:00

I had the same problem with my Jeep, I got new tires and the vibration quit completetly until about 50,000 miles later when the tires wore down again (I always had them rotated regularly) but once again --new tires (BF GODDRICH AT"S), and it's straight as an arrow - I've rock crawled it, sand dunes in Moab, UT, countless Jeep roads and abused it unmercifully, still runs/drives as they day I bought it. SOLID TRUCK, I wish they still mnade them in the US- I'd have an 07.

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport from North America


If there was a recall on the front end wheel balance, I would love this vehicle


Violent front end shaking and vibration b/w 48 and 55mph. Nothing works to fix it. It must be the actual wheel balance coming out of the manufacturers. Don't brake hard at this speed or it's all over!

Front Hood latch freezing up. (You must WD-40 every couple weeks to avoid this problem. Grease up all latches and center of under the hood! Trust Me!)

Serpentine belt wears out unusually fast.

General Comments:

I love the vehicle except for the front end vibration. I've given up on fixing it. U-joint appears to be going and will need to fix that. A/C doesn't work and front left speaker blown. Went through one serpentine belt already. No other major issues that needed fixing. Bought it used from a dealer and have had it for 2 years. The vibration scares me. Won't let my wife drive it because of this. Probably will not purchase another Jeep becasue of it.

Jeep drives like a car when I want it to and an SUV when I need it to, which is nice. I haven't had the ignition problem yet. I use the factory keys which appears to be the solution. Copies appear to stick.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

14th Sep 2006, 19:18

Hi - I have a 2001 Cherokee that I bought in 2004 w/43k on it and I'm having many of the same problems you've listed... The front end shake is VERY annoying and disappointing! I sometimes avoid driving on the highway because of it. I've had it aligned several times and it always comes right back. I think my hood latch is slowly freezing up... serpentine belt is due for replacement AGAIN... front left speaker comes and goes. Also, the little rubber bumpers on the underside of the lid to my center console storage bin have broken off, so unless I'm resting my elbow on it it rattles. I knew that Jeeps tended to have some problems, but bought it anyway because I do really like it overall, but I'm becoming more and more frustrated with each new problem that arises.