2004 Jeep Cherokee LX V8 from North America

Summary:

It has great design, but poor reliability

Faults:

Brake rotors.

Installation of dealer-installed accessories.

General Comments:

The Jeep is fun to drive, has a great design, is comfortable, but is not as reliable as my previous vehicles (Japanese cars). I was disappointed with the warranty. My brake rotors needed to be repaired at 11780 miles, but were not covered by warranty as I had owned the vehicle for over one year. Customer service informed me that the life of rotors is variable depending on driving conditions. I operated the vehicle only on well-paved roads with varying short and long-term drives. The rotors should last longer than 12000 based on my driving patterns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

25th Jul 2007, 22:44

This isn't meaning to sound rude or anything, but:

The Jeep Cherokee was discontinued after the 2001 model year. There's no possible way you could have bought or acquired a 2004, unless you meant a Grand Cherokee.

31st Oct 2007, 13:44

The "new" Jeep Cherokee was renamed as the Liberty for the US home market only.

In Europe (and Australia I believe) the "Liberty" continues to be sold under the Cherokee name. So it is perfectly feasible to buy a 2007 Jeep Cherokee!

29th Mar 2012, 01:17

Absolutely correct, the US Liberty is also sold throughout Europe and Middle East as the Cherokee (post 2001 I think) with a 3.7l V6 petrol engine. In our experience, not exactly the most reliable car ever made. Nothing like as competent or reliable as the much older Land Rover Discovery that we replaced with our Jeep.

2004 Jeep Cherokee 4l from North America

Faults:

Front brake disks replaced at 7,000km!

Big noise in the transmission under the car when shift from Park to Reverse.

Dealer service said that there is a chronic transmission problem on all Jeeps and can't find what it is. Went to an independent garage to see if they maybe find something else and told me the oil transmission is black: not normal. I'll return to the dealer service another time.

To much trips to the dealer service for a such low mileage, elevate car price and still not fix the problem.

General Comments:

I bought this Jeep for the look, but mechanic doesn't seem to be good. I'll sadly have to return to Japanese cars for reliability ...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2004

7th Aug 2004, 19:11

This review is seriously a fake. Couple of things.

A) The Cherokee was stopped in 2001. After that the Liberty was introduced.

B) Even if you ment Liberty, the 4.0L Engine has been discontinued now in everything, but the Wrangler.

C) The transmission made a "not normal" noise. It's barely even been broken in and you're bitching.

Get your facts straight and write reviews only on REAL cars and ones you've driven,

27th Oct 2004, 07:25

Previous comment understandable, but factually incorrect. The Jeep Cherokee is still in production - I have just test driven the new 2.8 CRD. In addition, the reference to the 4 litre engine is pretty accurate - the engine is a 3.7 litre, and although not the same as the one in the Wrangler, the sizes are very close, so one can forgive the reviewer for not being exactly accurate. Unfortunately the poor standard of English and/or haste in which the review was written does lend some credence to the previous comment that indicates that the reviewer might be faking it.

12th Feb 2006, 03:33

Sounds like my old 1979 Chevy truck. This is unacceptable for a 2003 model.