1992 Jeep Comanche Reviews

1992 Jeep Comanche Eliminator 4.0L high output I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L high output I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired104000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

Great Truck, should be made again!

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong yet.

I had to replace the tires.

General Comments:

This truck has good power and plenty of comfort.

I love the four wheel drive.

This truck can haul anything.

I have a question, Does anyone know the towing rating for this pickup?

I might be getting a camper and want to know how much I can tow.

Tell me through a comment.

My truck is a long bed with a 4 liter six, and an automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2004

11th Jun 2004, 14:16

How can this be a 1992 when the last Jeep trucks were made in 1990? I know, I've got a 1990 Eliminator.

Jcrufus@voyager.net.

5th Jan 2005, 14:56

I also have a 1992 Jeep Comanche 4wd Longbed (standard), and have 145k on it.

As far as towing goes, the weakest link is the bumper. I had to replace mine with a Chevy Stepside bumper (it really blended nice), and I have no problems, as long as the tongue load isn't over 3000lbs.

It is a solid truck, and the maintenance has been minimal.

15th May 2005, 02:44

I have a 91 long bed with a 4.0 lt HO and a 4 speed automatic.. It is only a 2 wheel drive.. I haul a 21ft. Prowler with it which weighs about 5500 pounds.. I had installed a class 4 hitch which was mandatory.. Also a 3 core rad and a transmission cooler.. I live in Northern Ontario which is very mountainous and have had no problems going up hill at all.. Have gone from here to Montreal several times..

The truck is simply fabulous with lots of power.. The only problem is trying to keep the body up.. Rust seems to be popping up all over..

15th May 2006, 14:46

I have a '92 Eliminator purchased new. Tongue load 300# capacity 2000#. Truck is very light and I would not pull anything heavier than an aluminum boat. Torguey long stoke engine makes it feel more powerful than it is.

15th May 2006, 22:29

Yea the towing rating (with the proper hitch (aftermarket) ) is around 5,000 miles.

17th Jun 2011, 15:11

The last Comanche was made in 1992 ... that truck was produced from 1985 to 1992.

1992 Jeep Comanche Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance193000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Practical little truck

Faults:

Transmission-rebuilt twice 25000 miles, 30000 miles then finally replaced by Chrysler at 68000 miles. In all fairness the service department at the dealership was lousy. When I went to pick it up the first time the clutch had not been readjusted and the starter was loose.

General Comments:

Good overall little truck once the transmission was taken care of-driven for 130000 miles with no problems.

Small cab room for 2.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

9th Jan 2004, 13:01

I would like to know how much it cost you to have your transmission rebuilt. I have a Peugeot 5 speed that needs work. dnakroll@comcast.net.

2nd Dec 2004, 12:32

I want to give some advice for anyone who has a Puegot 5 speed. They are Junk I had one in my 87 Wrangler and it died on me. When I looked around at rebuilding it was over $2,000. If you are looking for a tranny that can withstand the abuse of off roading I would avoid this trans it is weak and expensive.

1992 Jeep Comanche Eliminator 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carSubaru Subaru XT Turbo

Summary:

Chrysler should make them again

Faults:

Electronic Control Unit bad just after delivery, replaced under warranty (at no cost).

General Comments:

Unbelievable vehicle. Have only done routine maintenance. Had air conditioning added at 70,000 miles. With 33 lbs. psi. in tires, will get over 30 mpg. Headliner fell at 95,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2002

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 3 reviews