1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 17 of 19

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance118593 miles

Summary:

I need a more reliable vehicle

Faults:

The gasoline tank sensor went bad.

The power steering pump pulley disintegrated taking the serpentine belt with it.

The carriage and pinion bearings had to be replaced 45 days ago.

Today, I am having the rear axle replaced.

General Comments:

I like the look of and the comfort of driving the Laredo.

I don't like the unreliability of the mechanical portions (ie the rear axle et all..) it seems lately that it is one thing after another.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Freelander

Summary:

Over priced, expensive to maintain and run

Faults:

Heavy black smoke from exhaust.

Loosing coolant, all upper heads replaced.

Loosing freon, suspect evaporator module.

Intermittent electrical startup fault.

Hand brake shoe failure.

General Comments:

Seating and cabin space very good, but general ride quite bumpy and rolling. Being an old design diesel engine it was very noisy.

Vehicle was originally bought to tow a trailered sailboat and general was quite effective in this mode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carChrysler Camry

Summary:

Very unreliable

Faults:

Brake rotors continually warp. Have had 6 sets of front and back rotors replaced.

Radio problems - have had radio replaced five times.

Problem with front axle.

Problem with engine mounts.

Problem with side view mirrors.

Problem with both front and back windshield wipers.

This jeep has been a maintenance nightmare. If I had not purchased it, I would not be driving it now. Would never buy another jeep.

General Comments:

Do like the radio controls on the steering column.

If the jeep had been more reliable I would have purchased another one because I do like the way the jeep drives.

Unfortunately, I've experienced one problem after another so I do not recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2002

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.0 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It's an enormous, expensive piece of crap

Faults:

The car has developed a problem with cutting out and refusing to accelerate.

I have serviced the fuel injection system, including the throttle body. Car still had same problem.

I then replaced the oxygen sensors. Car has run for approximately 1 month since. Same problem recurred. Now being told I need to replace fuel pump due to "faulty sending unit" codes in computer.

Rear transaxle leaking.

Water pump leaking.

Power steering just went out.

Eats brakes.

Highly erratic and dangerous braking in emergency braking scenarios.

Steering is sloppy. It is also has excessive lean, rocking, and steering on curves.

Fuel gauge is erratic. Will swing wildly between empty and full regardless of fuel level.

General Comments:

It is a very comfortable car to be stranded in. Seats have warmers and are extremely adjustable so you can sleep in it while waiting for the tow truck.

All the bells and whistles (compass, thermometer, nice stereo system) are fun to play with while waiting for your ride home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2002

30th Dec 2002, 15:18

I have a 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited also and I too feel that this car has been nothing more than a hole to throw my money into. After driving on the I-95 today and for the umpteenth time ending up on the side of the road stranded, I am now awaiting the dreaded call to tell me what I won. Gee, what will it be this time? A $250, a $1200, a $565 price tag? Well if Jeep ever did anything right, it was that they really have helped the local mechanic economy. I love to feed other people's children when I can't even afford to feed my own! Hey, at least we have comfy seats to sit in right?

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6 cylinder 4.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder 4.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Very comfortable, but expensive to maintain

Faults:

CD Player stopped working at 37000 miles.

At 58,000 miles the rear end went, costing over $1500.00. You think in a $30,000 vehicle, they would build a better rear end. The dealer told me rear ends on Jeeps are a popular fix.

At 60,000 miles, in snowy conditions, found out the the ABS doesn't work. It makes the ABS noise, but the wheels still lock up.

At 61,000 the front axle was making cracking noises. Another trip to the dealer to replace both front U-Joints, costing $250.00. Drove about 5 miles and crack, U-Joints broke again. Now the dealer tells me that the whole front end needs replacing, estimated at $1500.00.

General Comments:

Is a very comfortable, powerful vehicle. The seats are like your favorite chair.

Having to have both front and rear ends rebuilt, definitely outweighs anything good about this Jeep. The dealer tells me that they do a lot of axle repairs on Jeeps because they use aluminum bearings and they wear out quickly.

Also, this Jeep is loaded with tons of options, but they failed to include a remote release for the gas tank.

The gas mileage is horrible, around 18 for highway, thankfully is has a big gas tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2002

27th Aug 2003, 01:10

Keep in mind that the dealer and auto repair shops make money by fixing your car, and not by giving sound advice. You said you replaced the rear end. Is it because of the rubbing/moaning/groaning noise of the rear axles? If that was the reason why you had it replaced then you waisted some good cash. The default in the rear axles has only to do with noise. Your mechanic should have used an additive for the type of axle that is installed in your vehicle and the sound would have went away. The additive doesn't smooth out anything, it just traps noise better than the stock oil used.

13th Jul 2004, 21:06

I have had to have the fuel sending unit replaced four times and it is going out again. I now have 135,000 miles on the jeep. The first 2 times the manufacturer replaced it and from then on it is up to me. It costs me around 350.00 every time I have to pay for the replacement. I like my jeep however I can't stand the not knowing if I have fuel in the tank.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 64 reviews