2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.7L V6 from North America

Summary:

Lovely looking repair-pig

Faults:

1st week of ownership, "check engine" light came on, dealer diagnosed "transmission malfunction" (unable to figure out what problem is).

Tires constantly blowing out side-walls, still have good tread wear left.

Drove vehicle about 5 miles, would not start 5 minutes later, flickered "service elec. brake sys." on info center, needed new battery.

Pulsing, surging, odd shifts, vibration from transmission, may be torque converter failing, $1200 to fix...

Had to re-place brake pads & rotors 2 times in 30k miles.

General Comments:

I love the design of this year of Grand Cherokee, plenty of power for a v-6, always get compliments on it, I have taken it through almost a foot of snow, dragging bumpers, under-carriage & never spun out, or got stuck!

I love the Boston sound system, ultra crisp sound.

Quiet, smooth ride.

Over-all I like this vehicle, except she does like expensive parts, wish it were like my 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo, over 245,000 miles & still going, only needed regular oil changes, brakes & tires...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2009

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi 5.7 from North America

Summary:

Love it, and would not trade it for the world

Faults:

Idle control sensor went bad, but was still drivable, but not on the highway.

General Comments:

Very powerful engine, takes off on the drop of a dime with stock parts. Could be better on gas, but it's a give and take thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2009

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.7 V6 from North America

Summary:

Don't buy the '05 or up Cherokee

Faults:

Had to replace the water pump and alternator.

Had a short in starter wiring.

General Comments:

The car is nice, but I hate the new WK design. First off; the WK is a lot smaller than the WJ design from before. The door jams are shorter. I'm 5'6" which isn't really tall, and I have to duck drastically to get into the vehicle, or I hit my head. My wife has too also and she's only 5'3".

The 3.7 v-6 in the Laredo (which I have) is too small and sluggish for the Cherokee. I have to floor it and slightly release the accelerator for it to pick up speed. It also gets very bad gas mileage.

I used to think that it road like cow dung. Since I bought it used; it had the original tires (Terrible Goodyears) and the side-walls were all rounded over, and were starting to thunk. I also had an alignment done on it. Now it rides smooth and straight.

There is also a lot of blind spots in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2008

1st Apr 2011, 18:03

Are you talking about a Cherokee or a Grand Cherokee? You are 5'-6" and the car is not big enough for you? Performance 3/10. Are you here just to make Jeep look bad?

21st Feb 2012, 21:58

He's talking about the Grand Cherokee... Are you getting all upset because he states his own experience with a Jeep that constantly receives negative and poor reliability reviews? C'mon dude, Jeep failed with all their designs and cheap interiors between 05-10.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.7L from North America

Summary:

Poor quality and manufacturing

Faults:

Within 600 km, water leaks inside at driver side front and rear. Puddles on floor carpet after rain. Vehicle was parked.

Trim moulding of model coming apart at 1500 km.

Repeated trips to dealer have not fixed the water leaks inside vehicle.

Very annoying that Daimler Chrysler takes your money, and in return you get a vehicle which leaks and spends a lot of time in the shop with no satisfaction.

General Comments:

Jeep and Daimler Chrysler need to learn their basics of manufacturing, so that their product can be used by those who shell out their dollars to the company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2006

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 3.7L V6 from North America

Summary:

Needs to get all the kinks worked out

Faults:

At 18,000 Miles the shifter assembly broke and locked up the transmission.

Surges when cruising at low RPM's and when I took it to the dealer they couldn't find the problem (4 Different Times)

Shifts extremely hard when parked on a small slope such as a driveway.

Check Engine light constantly comes on for stupid things like the gas cap not being tight enough.

General Comments:

3.7L V6 has more power than the previous years 4.0L Inline 6.

Better gas mileage than the previous year.

Plenty of leg room in the front for the tall people like myself.

Cargo space is smaller, but the tray in the floor is a nice touch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

19th Feb 2006, 14:19

I just rented a 2006 Laredo for last week, and was extremely impressed by it. This was out in Nevada, with lots of very long, rough, dirt roads, also with a good deal of mountain road driving in the California Sierras. It was quiet and smooth on the highway, and effortlessly did 75-80 mph at 2200 rpms. Gas mileage averaged 17.2 mpg at those highway speeds. I loved the "automatic stick shift", which of course is the 5-speed automatic transmission, but to manually downshift or upshift, you flick the gear shift lever left or right, although there is no actual selector position for 1, 2, 3, or 4; only D with a "-" and "+" sign. It does make it easier to manually downshift coming around steep hills in the mountains, it's just that much more effortless than manually shifting the regular kind of automatic. I was most impressed with the way it rode on the washboarded, rocky, rutted, pot-holed, gullied roads. Super smooth, no rattles, no jarring bumps even doing 50 mph (although 35 was more prudent in places), and these were the kind of washboards that would have had my old truck shaking sideways into the ditch at 20 mph probably with stuff rattling apart. I also thought the 4-wheel anti-lock disc brakes were great, especially when having to stop fast for the nastier washouts that were suddenly encountered. I drove that road for 96 miles and it was like driving down a city street, but I know it would have been absolutely miserable and taken twice as long in my old truck. If I were actually going to drop $30-35,000 on a new vehicle, the 2006 Grand Cherokee Laredo would be at the top of the list.

14th Dec 2006, 23:44

I just bought a 2005 Laredo and though it was a previously rental and my first SUV, I have to say I am very impressed with it's handling, the quietness of the cab and the car-like feel of driving down the road. It doesn't sit too high over the road to make you seem as if you're towering over other vehicles. The cargo space is OK for me, there's plenty of room for my bicycle and other things when I fold down the 60/40 split rear seats. Being 6 foot tall, I find plenty of leg room up front and substantial leg room for rear passengers. Even the factory stereo sounds fine for me. The single overhead cam 3.7 liter V6 has plenty of power. I just bought my '05 Laredo last week and am still learning about it, but so far so good. I believe Jeep has done well with this one. I wish I could afford to get a '07 but I'll just enjoy my '05 for now.

15th Dec 2006, 11:02

You bought a Chrysler product that was a former rental? Hope you got a long long extended warranty.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Rocky Mountain Edition 3.7L from North America

Summary:

Lemon!!!

Faults:

At 2767 KM water pump needed replacing. Had to bring it back to the dealership 5 TIMES before they figured out what the problem was.

Brakes squeak.

Engine warning light stays on when it's cold outside. Dealership still can't fix it after 3 visits.

Service electric brake system light stays on now when cold outside. Dealership clueless on this as well!

General Comments:

For buying a new car, I am amazed at how many problems I am having so soon. Dealership got their sale out of me, and now I am stuck with this lemon, and they don't care. I will NEVER buy another vehicle from my dealer and I will be sure to spread the word.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2005

19th Dec 2005, 09:13

It's not the dealership, though if they are selling junk like this they will have to deal with your problems. The bottom line is, these things are junk, they can keep changing the design and looks, but they still haven't done anything about quality since these started coming out in 93. I've owned two generations of these and rest assured Daimler/Chrysler will not be getting anymore of my money.