2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee 65th Anniversary 3.7 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance1410 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

One fantastic vehicle!

Faults:

When I took delivery of this vehicle and drove just over a hundred miles the vehicle felt as if the tires were going flat. Brought the vehicle back to the dealer. Thompson Chrysler/ Jeep. They apologized for the inconvenience and replaced the tires that day. The vehicle drives as smooth as silk.

General Comments:

This "Jet Black" 65th Anniversary Edition looks like the more expensive SRT8. Handles as if is on a rail. Stereo is out of this world. Fuel economy is not bad. Receive a lot of compliments on the style and how this vehicle handles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L Hemi from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7L Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

The 2006 Grand Cherokee is in a class by itself

Faults:

The vehicle was out of alignment when I purchased it. My dealer agreed and aligned it, but it still pulls to the left on all roads.

The radio will not download all Sirius Satellite Radio stations.

General Comments:

This is by far the best Grand Cherokee ever! It drives and rides as nice as my 2004 Seville. It doesn't even compare to the 2004 model and previous. Daimler has definitely had their influence in the making of this product.

The seats are hard and not all that comfortable for longer trips.

I've noticed some vibration in the dash at higher speeds.

The 5.7 L Hemi is incredible. Awesome power and you can't beat the sound!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2006

16th Nov 2006, 13:42

I have taken my 2006 5.7 Grand Cherokee Limited on some of the toughest roads in the Colorado Rockies winter and summer and it is an amazing vehicle-sure footed, safe, comfortable with extra power. If I had wanted a rock crawler, I'd have bought one. Maybe those who drive it poorly are only feeling their limitations.

27th Nov 2006, 14:19

Ya, I heard that they have a few Grand Cherokees in Europe and they have like a 3.0L Diesel (not sure if it's turbocharged?) But it looks the same as ours, just with the different engine. Hope you like the car!

10th Jan 2007, 23:41

I have a 2006 Grand Cherokee Limited and absolutely love it. It's a right-hand drive (WH) model made in Austria and driven in Japan. The 4.7 liter engine has so much power I can't imagine what the hemi is like. It drives equally well on the highway, in town, on dirt roads, on trails, even in the surf! I love my Jeep so much that my wife actually apologizes to me when she needs to use it and I have to drive her Benz. The new suspension is perfect on the road--it handles like a much smaller luxury touring sedan. (It's not a rock-crawler, but that's not what I want to use it for.) All of the amenities (heated seats, navigation/sound system, etc.) are top-notch. I highly recommend it.

24th Jan 2007, 17:15

To the commenter addressing the 3.0L V6 diesel engine.

Here in North America we are expected to see this engine (which is a 3.0L V6 Turbo Common Rail Diesel engine) late this season.

Mercedes-Benz just released diesel engines in their Suv's (except for the G class) and I say, its about time we started getting diesel Suv's here in North America!

I will own a diesel engine over gasoline any day of the year!

More torque, better fuel mileage. What else can you ask for?

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Summary:

Nice truck!

Faults:

Air conditioning "sweat" leaking into the passenger side floor soaking the carpet.

Fabric of interior will stain if you get WATER on the seats. Raining, water bottle mishaps, etc. leave the fabric looking really messy and YEARS older than it is. I hate to see what something other than water will do to it!

General Comments:

I love this truck and wouldn't trade it for the world.

Adore the new headlight shape - back to the original round shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2006

11th Sep 2006, 15:55

There is a chemical if you go to a typical auto shop that you put onto your seat, its just a coating that wasn't put on for some reason... I hope I helped!

24th Sep 2006, 23:31

I rented a vehicle for a week-long trip and was given a Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo (2006, 4.7L V-8) and was not impressed.

I understand that the ride in a 4x4 is compromised due to the nature of the vehicle, but this was beyond reasonable; stiff, rigid, and overall an unpleasant ride in normal driving conditions. Fit and finish was also very poor and was so blatant that I noticed the poor alignment of body panels without even actively inspecting or searching for this. The auto power window feature on this new vehicle also malfunctioned when it rained -- when attempting to close the window automatically, it would close and then open on its own again, to the half-open position. For a vehicle this size, cargo space was surprisingly poor.

On the positive side, I found this vehicle to be aesthetically pleasing, the 4.7L engine is capable (I used the vehicle in the mountains of Colorado) and gas mileage was reasonable for the size and type of vehicle.

I would caution prospective buyers to carefully inspect the fit and finish and to ensure that the ride of this vehicle is acceptable. Prior to growth in our family size, we owned a 2001 Honda CR-V; proof that owning an SUV can still give a great ride and impeccable fit and finish (the latter a common problem among American vehicles). In primarily off-road use, which very few can claim to do in their daily routine, the ride of the Cherokee Laredo may be a moot point.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7 Hemi from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 Hemi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Jeep builds a great one!

Faults:

Perfect so far.

General Comments:

The 2006 5.7 Grand Cherokee 4WD handles ice/snow, high altitude, towing and off-road driving with ease. It handles great at low and high speeds, very comfortable and reasonable gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2006

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee standard V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired7989 miles
Most recent distance8765 miles
Previous carBMW X5

Summary:

If you want a 4x4 truck make sure you get a lift kit and quadratec 2

Faults:

The tire went flat when we tested it in Joshua tree national park.

Also it has low ground clearance.

General Comments:

We do trail rate it we put it to the off road coarse from heck.

It has every thing you need to change a flat and it come with a full size spare tire.

All model come with 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

28th Apr 2006, 16:50

My 2006 Jeep Cherokee 4WD 5.7 Limited is the best car I've owned since I began driving in 1963. On interstate highways or in snow at 11,000 in the Rockies it is solid as a rock. It is unique.

3rd Jun 2006, 02:16

Congrats to the both of you. I love the looks of the new model. Just waiting for prices to drop closer to my budget.

How is the crosswind buffeting with the windows partially opened in the new model?

In the previous model (2004), it made this horrible shutter-clanging sound, enough to nearly drive off the roadway.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews