1991 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Jeep Wrangler S 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good enough for war, good enough for me

Faults:

The seats have a few cracks, and tears, but that doesn't really matter. I had to replace the front calipers, and there has been some work done before I bought it from a guy.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep. I only suggest that you to try one out. I drove it for a summer, and was sold on the thing. What other car can you take the top, and the doors off and just drive down the highway at 80 miles an hour, or off-road with a moments notice? If you are a nancy boy you shouldn't buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

20th Jul 2004, 10:35

Is a nancy boy same as a momma's boy or are we referring to a delicate male?

10th Oct 2004, 05:36

Yours goes to 80mph? Mine only does that on top of a tow truck.

5th Sep 2005, 20:48

I got it up to 106mph in the inline 6, 5 speed. 82k miles.

4th Nov 2006, 17:06

The 4cyl won't do 80 down hill. It's a crummy engine.. power wise (125 hp doesn't push a brick through the air well). But the S.. which only comes in a 4cyl... which this review is about... gets better transfer case and gear ratios to compensate. A 4cyl that gets less mileage than a semi is pretty sad.. but

It's a jeep thing.. you wouldn't understand.

The I6.. well it's a pile of crap engine.. but.. if you can afford to put gas in that hog and keep your head gaskets intact.. its powerful enough.

5th Nov 2006, 13:13

What is the last commenter talking about??? The in-line six is a great engine. Keep the oil changed and it will run 200-300k miles!

12th Dec 2006, 18:40

Yeah, I don't know where you got your info from about an inline6 being junk those are proven to be bulletproof and run forever.. I have one with a 175000 miles and it runs like new. as a matter of fact I change the oil every 3000 miles and when I change it, it is still the same brown color as when I put it in!!! maybe your are just ignorant to the fact on vehicle maintenance!!!

29th Mar 2012, 14:41

I had the six in my Jeep Wrangler automatic, and used it on the highway with very little dirt road use. Did all the regular maintenance, and still at about 45,000 miles, I had to have the top end of motor done ($3800); not good.

Other than that, it was a great vehicle...

1991 Jeep Wrangler yj 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17900 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

Front passenger brake locked up

It has to turn over a lot before it will start, but it is made from Dodge.

General Comments:

Fun to drive

Not aerodynamic so it is hard on gas on highway, but good in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2003

1991 Jeep Wrangler YJ 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

My go anywhere machine

Faults:

Only the usual fuel pump at 108,000.

Alternator at 90,000.

Some other very small repairs.

But Jeeps are easy to work on.

General Comments:

Jeep Wranglers are reliable on and off road, they are fun, useful in all weather conditions, and they are completely unique.

Be careful, they are addicting because there is no end to how much you can add on to them.

It is truly the most fun vehicle available today.

Tread softly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2001

1991 Jeep Wrangler 2.5 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance103800 miles

Summary:

The best 4-wheel drive ever

Faults:

Only little things have gone wrong with it. The only problem is, it's hard to get horsepower out of the 4-cylinder engine.

General Comments:

Jeep's are the funnest vehicles I've ever owned! You can upgrade them very easily without having to have a high knowledge of what you're doing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

7th Jan 2001, 21:02

For me, the Jeep Wrangler YJ is just the best 4x4 in the world.

Thanks.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews