1993 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1993 Jeep Wrangler 4.0L High Output I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L High Output I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I will keep this YJ until the DMV pulls my license due to old age

Faults:

Exhaust manifold cracked at 60,000 miles. Dealer notified, but dealer elected to put off service until I could leave vehicle for at least four to five days. When I left the vehicle at 80,500 miles for injector cleaning, dealer insisted that I had not reported manifold problem until after 80,000 mile emissions warranty had expired.

Automatic transmission pulled and serviced at 120,000 after foaming up en route to Las Vegas from L.A. (112 degree F weather, of course).

Radiator replaced at 125,000 miles, 70% restricted.

General Comments:

This truck performs extremely well as daily driver and fully capable off-road vehicle, handling obstacles and trails that would make anyone pucker up.

Suspension is not stiff, and other than slight "speedboating over whitecaps" on wavy stretches of freeway at certain speed range (about 25mph), the ride is as good as many cars on the road, at normal driving speeds up to 80mph.

4.0L engine is powerful and runs like new, even after 130,000 with regular oil changes and recommended service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

1993 Jeep Wrangler YJ 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Jeep drivers rock!

Faults:

Catalytic converter has developed a fault.

I will be replacing it with a straight pipe.

Cowl Seal leak.

The original cowl seal leaked. Replace it for $15 from online supplier.

Soft-top and spreader bars.

Rear side windows would constantly flap. Soft-top was also frayed in places. Replaced for $250.00. Spreader bar were replaced with after-market spreader bars for $40.

Clutch master-cylinder.

Replaced for $100.00.

Windshield washer pump.

Replaced for $15.00.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable car I have ever owned. Even when I have experienced a failor of a component I have been able to drive it home with no problems. This car is rock solid.

Jeeps are not the most pleasant vehicles for driving long distance, but they rock in the mountains.

Fuel consumption is not great (13 miles per gallon) and storage is tiny. If you are looking for an SUV get something else. However if you want pure enjoyment and rock solid reliability then a Wrangler is the way to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2003

1993 Jeep Wrangler Sport Utility 2D 4.0L I-6 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L I-6 HO Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance99333 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

A sturdy, sporty, fun ride

Faults:

Exhaust Manifold went at 90000, was moderately costly to repair.

U-joints went at 94000, not a costly repair.

Clutch went once at 60000, and again at 97000. Very costly to repair.

General Comments:

Not a good car for fuel economy.

Virtually no cargo room. But hey, it's a Jeep.

Hard-Top is definitely better than soft.

Has a lot of torque and acceleration.

Handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

1993 Jeep Wrangler from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carBuick Sunbird

Summary:

A good vehicle for running around.

Faults:

The engine had to be rebuilt at 126,000 miles.

The alternator failed at 135,000.

Bouncy ride and no cruise control makes long distance travel tiring.

No leg room in the back seat for bigger kids.

General Comments:

The interior is simple, even with higher mileage there was not a lot of little things to break down.

The seats are comfortable and vision is good.

Taking the top off on a summer day makes you feel like a kid again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

1993 Jeep Wrangler 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Worst nightmare

Faults:

Where do I begin?

Fuel pump was replaced within a year of purchase.

Clutch was replaced a year later.

Synchro-mechanism went out in the transmission - had to replace the entire transmission and have since learned that this is a common problem with Jeep Wranglers.

Top ripped and had to be replaced.

The starter went out which totally cut all power to my car.

General Comments:

The ride is terribly uncomfortable, it is light weight so it isn't good in the snow despite being four wheel drive and I get approximately 12 miles to the gallon. All of this is topped off by the annoying "Jeep wave cult" in which Wrangler drivers become default members.

This was the worst car purchase I have ever made. I strongly encourage all readers to look elsewhere when considering a car; if you don't want to believe me, check Consumer Reports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

25th Jul 2004, 11:01

Jeep Wrangler is not the vehicle for someone who really wanted a Honda Civic or some other simple reliable street transportation. If you bought it used, there's always the likelihood that some kid took it offroad and drove the heck out of and traded it off rather than repair damage. Had my '93 Wrangler since new and it's been all over Colorado. Yes, the hydraulic clutch went out while still in warranty, but the repair has held for about 9 or 10 years. I shelled out the transfer case somewhere, but I've thrashed it hard in places you'd never get to in a street vehicle. If you can't handle a wrench, you probably shouldn't get a Wrangler, but mine has been very reliable since new despite occasional bouts of serious abuse I subject it to. I'll probably keep it until it wears an antique tag. I'll just add that were I to buy another, I wouldn't buy a used one unless I planned to turn it into a trail machine and rebuild or modify some of the weaker components.

11th Aug 2005, 21:08

For auto ratings, Consumer Reports is a biased rag of a magazine, not worth the paper it is written on. Their auto "tests" are nothing, but opinionated commentary.

Some of their reports on items other than cars are good, but beyond quantitative ratings of equipment functionality, I take the magazine, and its agenda, with a grain of salt.

16th Dec 2007, 17:06

I bought a Jeep Wrangler about 6 months ago and may I say, one of the best purchases I've made in some time. As far as these particular comments, not only have you probably never owned a Jeep, it sounds as if you've never purchased a used vehicle. Used vehicles are just that- used. And if you know anything about Jeeps, yes they are used and abused, that's the fun. Learn how to turn a wrench or drive a Japanese car like everyone else.

17th Dec 2007, 12:43

My 1995 Wrangler has over 137,000 miles on it and continues to be a reliable vehicle.

The Jeep Wrangler is not a Toyota Camry, Honda Civic, or Mazda Miata, nor is it meant to be.

It is a rugged vehicle designed for on & off-road use. Of course there are compromises in highway ride & handling, but try to take a Camry, Civic, or Miata up a snow-covered logging road, or just across town on unplowed roads in a snowstorm. Here the

Wrangler excells.

It's not a vehicle for everybody, but it looks to me like the reviewer made a poor choice of vehicles for his/her transportation needs.

You can't fault the Wrangler for that.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews