1997 Jeep Wrangler SE 2.5 liter from North America


Fun if you like sitting in the repair shop


The main thing that has gone wrong is an unidentifiable intermittent miss that started at 12,000 miles. I finally, after trying for 30,000 miles to get it fixed, have taken Daimler/Chrysler to arbitration because I cannot even sell this piece of "work". Wish me luck... I also know another 1997 driver with the same problem.

General Comments:

Beware... I think the 97 has bad problems that Chrysler knows about and cannot resolve.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 2000

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 from North America


Rugged, sporty, convertible... the biggest bang for the buck!


Headlight switch, door handle.

General Comments:

This is my second Wrangler. My previous one was a 1993 Sport. What can I say... I love them. The new suspension is a great improvement. It handles, rides and 4x4's much better than my 1993. The interior is much more modern.

The 4.0 is a very torquey engine that will whip any old CJ V-8 any day (I know because I had a 1978 CJ-7 with a V-8... the mpg was awful).

The Wrangler blends in a rugged 4x4 with sporty performance all wrapped up in a tough looking convertible... what else could you ask for. I will always own a Wrangler. The resale value of these things are amazing! Probally the best next to the 4Runner. I purchased my 1993 for $15,500 and sold it 3 years later for $13,500 with 70,000 miles.... that is resale!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 6 cylinder from North America





General Comments:

I love it, has plenty of power, looks great, and takes me everywhere I want to go. Very fun to drive!.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2000

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0L V6 from North America


Only had 30k miles on it & broke down 2x on highway, electronic circuits had to be replaced. Tired of all the recalls.

Under-powered for towing a trailer. Look under one, sissy axles & gears. Afraid to go 4-wheeling. Noisy. Going to trade it in on a new Ford 4x4. Price new was $22,900 & it was a waste (could have had a real truck for that price).

General Comments:


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 1999

26th Dec 2000, 20:28

The engine is an inline 6, not a V6. I look forward to pulling out your 4500lb curb weight Ford on the trail. You can get the biggest V8 they can stuff in a Ford and they will all perform the same when they are buried up to the axles.

16th Jun 2001, 15:42

Considering that 99% of off-road magazines I've read say that out of the box, the Wrangler is the best off-road vehicle ever made, your opinion sounds more like a flame than real experience.

29th Oct 2001, 10:00

I do not think you really own a Jeep. If you did you would know that it is one tough truck & is a joy to off road. As far as the axles go, they are 100x better than those of Fords. When & if you do buy a Ford, let me know, I would love to go off roading with you.

10th Dec 2003, 19:15

This is by far an excellent review!!! It is 100% true. Some of the ignorant people out there do not understand how cheap the jeep is (and I don't mean price)! It has cheap little axles and a severely underpowered engine, especially when paired with the ridiculously high 3.07 gears. Where did jeep even dig those up from? The viper has them, but then again, if I had a V10 with 525 pounds of torque then I might not mind them either. I own a 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport and it is the worst purchase I have ever made. It cost me $24,000 and with the cheap materials, parts, and fit-up of this jeep, Chrysler must be making at least $20,000 on that for profit. My advice: never buy a jeep unless it's an old CJ or a YJ and you're going to build it up with aftermarket parts.

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport V6 from North America


Fuel injection unit, fuel pump, computer, alternator & transmission have been replaced so far (before 8k miles).

General Comments:

Bought brand new. Never take it 4-wheeling because I'm afraid it will breakdown & leave me stranded. Rides rough & very loud. Don't waste your time. Going to trade it in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 1999

25th Dec 2000, 18:42

I cannot comment on this gentleman's Jeep, only mine. I bought it new in 1992, and have put 160,000 miles on it. I am a high school band director, and run 70-80 gigs a year for small ensembles out of this Jeep. It always has a half-dozen kids, amps, trap sets, keyboards, tubas, etc. crammed so tight in the back a cockroach could not get in.

I live in St. Croix, United States Virgin Islands, on my sailboat, and park the Jeep right at the shoreline every night and have since it was new. On the weekends, when not out sailing, I am banging the hell out of the Jeep 4-wheeling all through the mountains. Through all the work, all the salt, and all of the abuse, it has been awesome.

I replaced the starter, alternator, water pump, clutch, and radiator each once (fair, for the mileage, yes?).

Weak points: the clutch slave cylinder has been replaced three times, and three times I have had to replace a universal joint. I did all the work myself, so no big deal, right?

Best of all, it still handles like a sports car on the highway, which I enjoy hugely better than the way the old CJ's leaned around the corners!

26th Dec 2000, 20:45

I could not agree more with the above post. The little things are going to break and wear out. I was born into a "Jeep" family. I am presently looking at the 2001 Wranglers. My last Wrangler of 10 years was recently stolen. Yes, it was loud, rode like a camel across the desert, drank gas like an oil tanker, and I would not have traded that Jeep in for any other vehicle in the world.

If you are thinking about a Jeep for fuel economy, smooth ride, quiet tranquil drives in the country, then please do not go buy one. You will be sorely disappointed. However, if proper maintenance is observed that Jeep will outlast you three times over. Our family has a saying, "once a Jeep always a Jeep."

22nd Mar 2001, 13:16

If Chrysler would actually install quality parts for your jeeps, these minor things wouldn't happen and all of you would save a lot of money. I agree that jeeps are great when used for what they are designed for, but I think that they should care a little more and not expect buyers to accept anything as long as it is backed up by the jeep name. Personally I have never owned one, but the general idea I get by reading everyones reviews is that a potential buyer should expect problems from the beginning of his or her purchase no matter how new. Maybe more should be expected.

9th Sep 2001, 17:11

I know what's wrong with your Jeep. You. You don't know the difference between an I-6 and a V6. Your Jeep has an inline-6, not a V6.