2008 Jeep Wrangler Reviews

2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

If you're lucky and get a good one, you'll be happy with it

Faults:

Up until January 2013, I have loved my 4 door 2008 Wrangler. In fact, I've bought 8 Jeeps since 2004 (most for business use). However, a problem has developed with the heater core and water pump. Researching this on the Internet reveals that casting sand has been left in the engine during the manufacturing process. This eventually wrecks the heater core & other parts in the cooling system. There are reports of this particular problem all over the Internet, and yet Jeep refuses to recognize the problem and issue a recall.

Unfortunately, because I live in a small Alaskan town with no dealership, I have little recourse for repairs. We've asked Jeep to provide parts to repair; they insist we visit a dealership. Since this would require a drive of 600+ miles, or a 7-hour ferry ride (each way, and not inexpensive!), we thought them providing parts was a happy medium. Now I'm stuck with a vehicle with no heat in the dead of Alaska winter. Others online have reported taking their Jeeps to dealers, only to end up having to pay for flushing the system, repairs and parts... and still not having the problem fixed.

I no longer have any confidence in Jeep standing behind their product.

General Comments:

I have loved all my Jeeps, except as noted. Living in rugged Alaska means off-roading is a way of life. Add in severe winters, and the Jeep would seem to be a perfect vehicle, which it is... until you have a problem. The interior is fairly nice, noisier than most. It could use more cubby holes for storage, something I really admire in foreign cars such as Toyota. Leg room is merely acceptable.

The rear seat I find a little too shallow in depth on long trips, but fine on the short runs and around town.

The versatility and room are good, as you can fold down the rear seats to expand the cargo area.

Being this is only the second new car I've ever owned, and was ordered to my specs, I was very happy with it until the heater core/casting sand in the motor problem reared its ugly head.

I also have some concern with the fact that the NHTSA is investigating Jeeps catching on fire. You can find this at their website.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2013

9th Mar 2013, 08:30

Only 2012 models are having the clogged heater core problems. No other years with this exact issue. I am in all Jeep forums daily; I keep up. If you have a 2008 year Wrangler, you have a lifetime powertrain warranty as I do on one of my Jeeps.

So with one issue, and that heater core went with no problems for 5 years, that would make you upset? How many miles do you have?

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited X 3.8 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 kilometres
Most recent distance31256 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Windshield bracket is rusting at the bolt holes (will be replaced under warranty).

General Comments:

This is my first Jeep, and I have to say, I love it.

Yes, it's a bumpy ride.

No, it's not that fast.

I did not buy it for these reasons, I wanted a JEEP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2010

2008 Jeep Wrangler from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intreped

Summary:

Good resale value

Faults:

The main electrical module failed.

The hood bracket worked loose, causing paint chaffing on the inside of the fender wall.

The drivers side window makes noise.

Door does not close properly on drivers side.

Water channels into the seating area when you open any of the front doors.

General Comments:

This is a good daily driver.

Gets good fuel mileage.

Needs more power, lacks get up and go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2009

7th Oct 2009, 06:31

It sounds like Chrysler is still having electrical issues in the Wrangler, which also plagued some TJ Wranglers.

I also believe that by replacing the great 4.0 liter in-line six with the 3.8 liter V6, Chrysler made a huge mistake.

Although the JK Wrangler is a more comfortable ride, I am one who believes that Chrysler should not have strayed so far from the Wrangler's AMC roots. After having owned a new Chrysler designed TJ Wrangler - I went back to a trusty AMC designed YJ model.

29th Oct 2009, 16:52

Because everyone that knows anything knows that YJ's are so much better than TJ's... wait...

29th Oct 2009, 18:14

"Because everyone that knows anything knows that YJ's are so much better than TJ's... wait..."

I just happen to prefer the AMC designed YJ Wrangler.

I've owned both, and in my opinion Chrysler did not "improve" the Wrangler, they made it more palatable for the masses, but less reliable and less, well ... "Jeep-like".

7th Jan 2010, 11:44

Yeah... As a former owner of a 93 YJ, I like them a lot more than the TJ or the newest design. They seem to have far more character and... well... very well put... be more "Jeep Like"

The fact is though, the model was in severe need of an up date by 95. A YJ is (for the most part) a CJ with some body/interior tweaks. I actually had a hard top on my 93 that was off an 80 CJ-7, fits the same (except for the lift gate).

Don't think the "masses" really want a Jeep with straight axles & leaf springs, short lived soft tops, and crazy road noise, even if it is more "Jeep Like". And the "masses" pay the bills.

7th Jan 2010, 12:57

You know, not everyone wants a "new & improved" Wrangler. Yes, the YJ was closer to the CJ than to the TJ, but I ask - What's wrong with that?

If you want a quiet and smooth highway cruiser, buy an ES350.

I've owned a brand new TJ Wrangler Sahara, and went back to a YJ because the new & improved version wasn't my idea of a Jeep.

Just my opinion and my personal preference, but that's my prerogative isn't it?

If I wanted a Wrangler that looked more like an H3 than a Jeep, I would have purchased a JK 4 door.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews