2008 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2008 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 3.8 gas from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carEagle Vision

Summary:

Just what I need as a daily driver

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

After it rains, the water channels directly into the seating area on both sides.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2009

2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 3.8L from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

A great, fun, well-built car; I look forward every morning to getting in it

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This car is great: solidly built, rides very well and quiet for a large 4x4 SUV with high off-road capability, very fun car with removable roof and doors, high clearance, great electronics (GPS, Sirius radio, 20gb hard-drive, USB, etc.), lots of interior room, and an excellent value (less than $30,000).

I've had it only two months, but been on a long trip and offroad, and there have been absolutely no problems.

Everyone wants to drive it or at least ride in it.

Gas mileage is so-so, but it was what I expected and no worse than my previous sedan, but less expensive because it uses regular gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2009

17th Jan 2009, 15:23

What mileage are you getting? My Unlimited Rubicon gets 15-17 average depending on season and for longer trips gets 20-22mpg on 55mph highways. If you want to go faster than 60 mph, mileage drops precipitously. I drove across North Dakota 75 mph with a 40mph headwind and got 12mpg (I also had on the soft top which doesn't help either). But that was worst-case. I love my Rubi. It's an 07 in Rescue Green. What color is yours? I've lifted it 2.5" but am still wearing out the original rubber. My next tires will be at least 33". Painful, though, because the stock tires can be had online from various sources for as little as $92.00. Most others will run close to twice that. Are you planning any mods? By the way, be sure to rotate your tires often (like every 4000-6000 miles). Mud tires like these are notorious for becoming brutally crooked.

Off road, the Rubicon is a beast. Its stability is impressive and its additional length helps it going both up and down hills. I've had it on some mild trails but am looking forward to some more technical stuff in Colorado.

Also remember to wave. It's a Jeep thing. :)

2008 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

It's a Jeep - and I love it!

Faults:

I had a strange sound at low RPMs on this car (it's a manual). After three trips to prove the sound existed, the dealer finally heard it and believed me. From there, it took four more trips before they finally figured out the problem and had to rebuild the transmission.

Other than that, I'm very happy with the vehicle.

General Comments:

I love it - just what I expected.

When buying, I was concerned about the Freedom top. After having the vehicle 11 months, I have had no leaks and a very happy with how the Freedom top quiets road noise.

The only thing I'd do different is that I wouldn't buy the dual top group - and just get the hard top. It takes two minutes to pull the driver/passenger Freedom tops off and store them in the back. Much easier/quieter than dealing with the soft top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2009

8th Jan 2009, 09:18

Hey, just interested what the low RPM sound was like; was it a griding sound or more of a bearing rattle? I've just bought a new Wrangler myself, and while there's no noise yet, I've heard the transmission can play up in the early mileage days, particularly if 4WD was used before the 1st 1000km (600ml) running in period.

30th Jun 2009, 13:30

LOL! Needed a transmission rebuild in less than 10,000 miles!? Yep sounds like typical Chrysler quality at it's best!

2008 Jeep Wrangler Sport 3.8L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance300 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

For a true off-roader with enough refinement to be a daily driver on-road, there's no better!

Faults:

Nothing so far, but only had it a week.

General Comments:

On-road handling & ride are far better than I expected for a true off-roader, though with the short wheelbase it does pitch a little on bumpy roads.

Performance is better than many people have been saying, considering it's weight and large tires and I haven't even come close to redlining it as I'm still running it in. You just have to work out the optimum shift points, and the six speed gearbox has plenty of ratios to play around with.

Interior is fantastic for a true off-roader. Comfy seats and driving position, and the sat-nav system with the hard drive for storing music and videos is great; had to pay extra as an option though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2008

27th Dec 2008, 18:31

I wanted to add an addition to this review I left yesterday.

This morning as I was driving to work I ran a red light at 60km/h, while distracted by a car coming up fast on the inside lane next to me, leaving himself nowhere to go as there were parked cars ahead.

At the last minute I realised the lights were red and saw there was a taxi approaching the intersection at speed, so I hit the brakes and swerved to the inside lane, fully expecting to collide with the taxi.

All I can say is my Jeep performed fantastically. The ABS allowed me to steer without brake lock-up and the stability control kept it flat and in control; I pulled up about a foot short of the taxi's front fender.

The jeep performed far better than my previous ABS equipped sedan did in similar situations, so for an off-roader this vehicle has just proven itself to me for on-road safety as well. I was worried after reading some of these comments about the Jeep's on-road safety, but it's proved itself to me now!

28th Dec 2008, 19:55

ABS, all speed traction control, roll control, ESP, and better suspension technology make the current model much more stable than past Jeeps on the pavement. But cooler yet is that they were able to do this while maintaining its off-road prowess. I sure like my Rubicon. One question... you said that this is a "sport" model. Here in the States the Sport was replaced by the "X" model designation. So is the Sport analogous to our X, Sahara, or the Rubicon? Also is yours a 2 door or 4 door? Cheers!

31st Dec 2008, 02:13

I should have added that even the entry level Sport soft-tops come standard with air-con, power windows/doors, cruise control, leather steering wheel, cloth seats, etc, so they'd be nearer to the Sahara in the US market. They don't sell the bare bones ones here as far as I know.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 10 reviews