16th Nov 2004, 07:45

I am on my second jeep, the one I drive now I have had for twelve years and yes it has broken axles, gears, and several other parts. But, I am proud to say I broke them. All of the jeeps in our family- my two, moms, two, brothers one, three wranglers and two Cherokees have been great. Sorry you had such a bad experience with your purchase I felt the sane about my 4runner as you do of your jeep. But I do not advertise my disappointments I just have never bought another one.

15th Nov 2005, 12:21

I agree they are garbage. Two complete drivetrain overhauls within 10K miles and before it hit 60,000 miles.

Anything Chrysler is crap. Crappy company with crappy vehicles. Crappy service, crappy customer service. All around CRAP. Save yourself the aggravation and steer clear of Chrysler.

17th Nov 2005, 16:46

I have an 05 unlimited Jeep Wrangler that I take off road. Have not had to take it back to the dealer for any work. It now has 14,000 miles on it and I love it. We will soon be buying another one for my wife. I also belong to a Jeep club with around 180 Jeep membership and all love their Jeeps. Sorry you had so much trouble with yours.

18th Nov 2005, 16:22

If only Chrysler really still WERE making the Ramcharger! Check out the Ramcharger comments page here. You'll see that everybody who writes in loves them, and there are no complaints about stuff breaking. Nor are there any complaints about off-road capability.

25th Aug 2008, 11:58

I own a 1995 Jeep Wrangler with 140,000 miles on it and it has been excellent.

It is extremely reliable, durable and very fun to drive.

Based on my experience with Jeeps (I've owned 4 of them), I find the review questionable at best.

4th Sep 2008, 21:51

I have a 98 TJ Sport 2.5 modified of course with a 2"lift chrome wheels and chunky tyres with Bushwhacker Flares. I have added lot's of 'bling' I love it and if it were male I would consider marrying it. I only wish I could meet a male that pleases me as much as my Wrangler. I live with hope here.

Unfortunately due to the 'naff' English weather I seldom get to take the top off, But hey-ho that's life.


21st Sep 2008, 02:17

The 4.0 inline 6 in the TJ's are the closest things to bulletproof you're ever going to get in a vehicle. My favorite motor of all time.

23rd May 2009, 22:44

I have an '87 Jeep Cherokee Chief with over 160,000 miles. I can't kill this thing. I've sunk it in a lake twice, got it stuck in mud more times than I can remember, and I've had it on trails that vehicles 1/4th its age and worth 10x as much wouldn't dream of driving on.

By the way the 4.0l in-line 6... B.u.l.l.e.t..p.r.o.o.f. Besides if you haven't broken your Jeep yet, you're not driving it right.

15th Oct 2009, 12:36

I am an RV service technician and have heard both ends of the spectrum and everything in between.

" you think buying a brand new trailer it would work perfectly"

" this trailer is the worst trailer I've ever owned "

" the slideout just stopped working after me and my buddies pushed it back in with my truck when we had no power"

" my neighbour said that if you just connect both these wires together that it would be fine"

The world has no shortage of people that buy 1 of something, do a little research and become the authority on whatever it is they purchased. The reality is that with 1 bad experience most people pick the rest of it apart, making an otherwise not bad vehicle into a lemon. Not only that, usually when I see something with multiple problems it is a result of 1 or 2 things. #1 the person operating the unit is not doing so correctly or #2 the person operating the unit is abusive.

" the shocks just blew out with my wife driving to work and back 10k's"

I don't think so! Unless you're driving through mountainous terrain at or near the land speed record, or she runs over the same gaping pot holes day after day that's BS. Shock absorbers are meant for velocity damping, and the only way to blow them out is to hit something really hard, bottoming them out so hard that they are bent or otherwise damaged. I've seen plenty of leaky shocks after all different types of driving, but have yet to see the suspension of any vehicle allow more than the full range of motion for the shocks unless the components are broken.

The fact is you're not happy with your purchase and probably never will be, which is the biggest problem with your Jeep.

You also said that you would never buy another Chrysler product unless Honda or Toyota was in on the design, which is another one of our flaws. Instead of figuring something out for ourselves, we contract the work to Japan or some other foreign entity with mixed results. Take for instance the GMC Duramax, made by Mitsubishi/Isuzu, it has been refined some 17 times since its introduction 10 years ago. Wait a minute, 17 remodellings in 10 years and it's a quality piece of machinery. Not only that, the company that built it has the ultimate say in what parts they will allow the parent company to use with it. Can you spell ridiculous.

P.S. Yes I own a Jeep, and it works just fine for me. Maybe you should just get rid of your Jeep and buy another 4 runner. You will pay nearly double than what a Jeep costs, and when the parts break on it, you can pay 3 times as much for replacements. If that's your cup of tea.

26th Oct 2010, 04:56

I have a Jeep 98 Sahara edition. Absolutely love it. Has 38,000 original miles. Great Jeep; love all Jeeps. Only bad thing I would say is that I had lost a lot of power after putting in a lift kit, but I still like my Jeep. Does great on the trails and rocks. Would advise anyone to get one of these bad boys.