2001 Kia Optima Reviews

2001 Kia Optima from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

This car looks and drives nice, but is not mechanically dependable

Faults:

I haven't seen my car in over two months. It is now at its third mechanic, and they still can't figure out why it won't start. They have run all the tests.

The timing belt, crank sensor, coils, plugs have all been replaced. Fuel pump has been checked.

Mechanic said the car is possessed because the antenna goes up and the radio comes on by itself, with no one around it.

General Comments:

This car looks nice and rides very well (when it runs).

It is very comfortable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th May, 2010

5th May 2010, 14:01

I see you put that the car has 200,000 miles on it. What do you expect on a car with 200,000 miles? I doubt any car with that many miles is going to be trouble-free.

7th May 2010, 14:15

How on earth do you expect a 200K plus mileage vehicle to be reliable for any length of ownership without you being the original owner and knowing of its service history? Did you purchase it for $1000.00 or something, this 8 year old vehicle?

2001 Kia Optima LX V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

Don't ruin your life with a KIA

Faults:

* Three months after I drove off the lot the transmission failed -- been replaced.

* Replaced modules in the transmission.

* Three window motors/regulators have been replaced.

* Engine builds up an ample amount of sludge -- enough to blow a cam plug.

* Does not shift correctly (even after repairs).

* Door locks do not work correctly.

* Leather interior is turning black.

* Paint is chipping away.

* Check engine light is always on (until it went to the dealership and the returned home with the same problems... funny..)

* Leaks oil because of sludge (which I am told is my fault from not changing oil -- after I produced oil change receipts)

General Comments:

The car is a beautiful car and fun to drive... when it wants to RUN!

Kia dealership will not be honest with you or honor their warranty. I am in a warranty fight because of engine problems. I was told to produce oil change receipts; when I asked "How many?" I was told "as many as I could", so I produced two years worth. When I arrived the next time I was told by the District Manager that I needed to provide oil change receipts for the life of the car! Seven years! I asked why, and how long the sludge had been building in the engine? The DISTRICT MANAGER told me he didn't know. What a great answer.

At another local KIA dealership, I simply asked for receipts from past work. The manager there told me the receipts were down the street in a basement in a box in a file in a folder, and it would take days to get them. Later in the week, I was told that I would not be able to have a copy of them at all.

Another time I was told that I needed new rear tire struts. I had them tested and they were 100% okay. It was a lie to obtain money.

Kia has made my life miserable and car-less. I would never buy a Kia again or even recommend one to anyone else. Buy a bike.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2008

18th Dec 2008, 16:04

Someone I worked with bought a KIA when they first came to the US. It's engine seized 2 days after leaving the lot. The dealer said it was due to the air-conditioning (an add-on kit installed at the dealership). He too was plagued for years.

18th Dec 2008, 19:51

Now you know why KIA = Killed In Action.

2001 Kia Optima LX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChrysler Centura

Faults:

At 59,000 miles, the timing belt went out on the car. Luckily, that was covered by the warranty which would have expired on the timing belt at 60K. I have had both windows, drivers and passenger's replaced due to a malfunctioning window motor. Ball bearing went out at 60K, and yesterday, driving along, the car just stopped. Suspect the fuel pump. No, I wouldn't buy another KIA.

General Comments:

Opinion is very low on this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2005

3rd Aug 2005, 02:56

I own a 2001 kia optima. I bought it used in 2002 and have had and am still having so many problems with it. My timing belt also went, but warranty was over so that was around $500.00 out of my pocket. Next my catalytic converter (sp?) sensors went bad. I was told it was not necessary to fix and could be driven without fixing, but the cost $700.00. I have problems with my gas gage not going all the way to the full mark. Paint is all chipped off on every door handle (which seem or look like plastic to me). My newest and scariest problem is major transmission problems. Not sure how many hundreds of dollars that will be. As far as that wonderful check engine light... I think it will be on forever... The car is only 4 yrs old and I've owned it only 3 yrs... what a waste of $12000.00 + dollars.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews